Jump to content


Photo

Freeware Firewall


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Ash

Ash

    Foxtrot Oscar.

  • Undead
  • 15,526 posts
  • Location:England
  • Projects:Robot Storm
  •  Keep calm and carry on.

Posted 27 September 2008 - 10:34 AM

Which do you use?

I've used Sygate for the past couple of years now, but I've had to change because it seems to have a problem with my uni house internet - it blocks MSN, some aspects of webpages (mostly anything with flash etc). I switched to COMODO firewall pro. It comes with a malware detector and such. Seems pretty nifty :D

Does anyone have any opinion of it, or other recommended free firewalls?

#2 Phil

Phil

    Force Majeure

  • Network Leaders
  • 7,969 posts
  • Location:Switzerland
  • Projects:Revora, C&C:Online
  •  Thought Police
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Network Leader
  • Donated
  • Association

Posted 27 September 2008 - 11:49 AM

I've been using ZoneAlarm for some time now and I'm quite happy with it. It provides sufficient control without being a pain in the butt all the time. There might be better ones out there though.

revorapresident.jpg
My Political Compass

Sieben Elefanten hatte Herr Dschin
Und da war dann noch der achte.
Sieben waren wild und der achte war zahm
Und der achte war's, der sie bewachte.


#3 some_weirdGuy

some_weirdGuy

    title available

  • Hosted
  • 4,080 posts
  • Location:Queensland, Australia
  •  Weird Guy of the Forums

Posted 28 September 2008 - 04:47 AM

same Zone alarm, oh and a router which also acts as a firewall

"I reject your reality and substitute my own" -Adam Savage, Mythbusters
Posted Image|Posted Image
Posted Image|Posted Image
Posted Image


#4 Guest_Zhen Ji_*

Guest_Zhen Ji_*
  • Guests

Posted 28 September 2008 - 12:42 PM

Comodo Internet Security Suite It contains everything you need. Good thing about it is that it's free.

(You need to register in order to get the latest beta)

- Zhen

#5 Ash

Ash

    Foxtrot Oscar.

  • Undead
  • 15,526 posts
  • Location:England
  • Projects:Robot Storm
  •  Keep calm and carry on.

Posted 29 September 2008 - 06:59 AM

I remember trying Zone Alarm a long time ago and didn't like it. It was in my newb days, but I'm sure it had some sort of spyware bundled with it...

#6 Mastermind

Mastermind

    Server Technician

  • Undead
  • 7,014 posts
  • Location:Cambridge, MA
  • Projects:MasterNews 3
  •  The Man Behind the Curtain

Posted 29 September 2008 - 08:02 AM

You must be thinking of something else, I used ZoneAlarm for years, only reason I stopped was a recent Windows Update caused me to have no net connection with it, and I'm behind a router that has a hardware firewall on it.
Posted Image

Well, when it comes to writing an expository essay about counter-insurgent tactics, I'm of the old school. First you tell them how you're going to kill them. Then you kill them. Then you tell them how you just killed them.

Too cute! | Server Status: If you can read this, it's up |

#7 GodSun666

GodSun666

    Marching Trough The Eternal Fields Of Chaos!

  • Banned
  • 1,439 posts
  • Location:The Netherland @ Nod HQ!
  • Projects:Fast Fun And Crazy for Red Alert 3

Posted 29 September 2008 - 12:32 PM

I don't have a firewall. Since i don't have any reason to protect my information. Only thing i use my computer for is games, school, internet banking(need sms to confirm). Thats all i use a computer for so go ahead and hack me. i'll format and reinstall everything. But if you really need a "freeware" firewall instead use google and be a pirate.
для матери Россия! Советский Союз победит! Америка может облизывать мои яйца
Posted Image
Posted Image

#8 Phil

Phil

    Force Majeure

  • Network Leaders
  • 7,969 posts
  • Location:Switzerland
  • Projects:Revora, C&C:Online
  •  Thought Police
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Network Leader
  • Donated
  • Association

Posted 29 September 2008 - 01:14 PM

I guess not every honeypot needs to be set up deliberately, eh?

revorapresident.jpg
My Political Compass

Sieben Elefanten hatte Herr Dschin
Und da war dann noch der achte.
Sieben waren wild und der achte war zahm
Und der achte war's, der sie bewachte.


#9 Mathijs

Mathijs

    Post-modern Shaman

  • Network Leaders
  • 13,650 posts
  • Projects:Age of the Ring
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Leader

Posted 29 September 2008 - 02:13 PM

I don't have a firewall. Since i don't have any reason to protect my information. Only thing i use my computer for is games, school, internet banking(need sms to confirm). Thats all i use a computer for so go ahead and hack me. i'll format and reinstall everything. But if you really need a "freeware" firewall instead use google and be a pirate.

Or you could stop being badass and just install some firewall to make sure you won't have to bother installing everything again.

#10 Phil

Phil

    Force Majeure

  • Network Leaders
  • 7,969 posts
  • Location:Switzerland
  • Projects:Revora, C&C:Online
  •  Thought Police
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Network Leader
  • Donated
  • Association

Posted 29 September 2008 - 03:42 PM

I'm sure his friends must love him, knowing every time he sends them a file or gives them one of his USB memory sticks might lead to some serious problems.

revorapresident.jpg
My Political Compass

Sieben Elefanten hatte Herr Dschin
Und da war dann noch der achte.
Sieben waren wild und der achte war zahm
Und der achte war's, der sie bewachte.


#11 Bart

Bart

  • Network Leaders
  • 8,524 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Network Leader

Posted 29 September 2008 - 09:05 PM

I had ZoneAlarm for years, but then it started blocking all kinds of stuff, even when I marked them as allowed, even when I disabled ZA. Now I just use the one inside Windows. Works good enough, and doesn't impact resources as much.
bartvh | Join me, make your signature small!
Einstein: "We can’t solve problems by using the same kind of thinking we used when we created them."

#12 Beowulf

Beowulf

    Unknown Superstar

  • Advisors
  • 7,215 posts
  • Location:Equestria
  • Projects:Red Alert X, YR: TG Redux, AR

Posted 29 September 2008 - 11:14 PM

I use my hardware firewall. Never seen any reason to eat resources duplicating something I have already.

Pre-router days was ZoneAlarm but it was a bitch. That forced me Win98 box to crash on loading the desktop. Lucky for me, I could control alt delete and kill it before it started up. Removed it, got a router and never looked back. In short, fuck ZoneAlarm.

However, I do recommend Comodo Personal Firewall for those of you without routers.

NZ.org | NZ Gaming | RP
Skype: doctordestiny891
MSN: genkosygin@hotmail.com
Steam


#13 jnengland77

jnengland77

    Lurking Behind the Curtain

  • Network Admins
  • 260 posts
  • Location:Black Hills
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Server Lord

Posted 30 September 2008 - 06:21 AM

You only need iptables! And maybe a frontend for it. Best firewall out there. Some routers use it. Oh wait this isn't a Linux forum. :shiftee:

Thread came in handy though as I could use a firewall recommedation for my tablet (just have Windows bultin on), probably whenever I boot into Windows on my Desktop. Had the tablet for over a year and it hasn't really gotten infected so I'm really not too concerned about it.

~jnengland77

#14 Phil

Phil

    Force Majeure

  • Network Leaders
  • 7,969 posts
  • Location:Switzerland
  • Projects:Revora, C&C:Online
  •  Thought Police
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Network Leader
  • Donated
  • Association

Posted 30 September 2008 - 09:19 AM

Netfilter/iptables owns, that's for sure :shiftee:

revorapresident.jpg
My Political Compass

Sieben Elefanten hatte Herr Dschin
Und da war dann noch der achte.
Sieben waren wild und der achte war zahm
Und der achte war's, der sie bewachte.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users