Jump to content


Photo

Hoard Controling


  • Please log in to reply
30 replies to this topic

#21 Vithar-133

Vithar-133

    Violent Gandhi

  • Project Team
  • 1,975 posts
  • Location:The Universe
  • Projects:Existing
  •  It's not your skill, boys. It's your will. Ooh-rah!

Posted 18 November 2008 - 12:19 AM

This is one of those things that is somewhat realistic, but not quite something the game needs. Fro what I unders stand, it's also rather burdensome to code every possible combinations of units wwith the combo hordes system as it were.

Posted ImagePosted Image
Posted ImagePosted Image


#22 Devon

Devon

    Dark Nerd of the Sith

  • Global Moderators
  • 5,886 posts
  • Location:Colbert Nation
  • Projects:RJ RotWK, Twilight of the Republic, HDLH
  •  T3A Chamber Member
  • Division:Community
  • Job:Global Moderator
  • Donated

Posted 18 November 2008 - 12:51 AM

Press z if you want tactical stuff. I just select my control groups and a move as someone said, and it works :p

Edited by Yoda_, 18 November 2008 - 01:07 AM.

yodasig2.png
My political compass
There's a story that the grass is so green...what did I see? Where have I been?


#23 {IRS}Athos

{IRS}Athos

    Non Sequitur

  • Members
  • 4,008 posts
  • Location:Classified.
  • Projects:Ex-Advisor
  •  Resident Shakespearean.

Posted 18 November 2008 - 12:56 AM

But I like the Q attack move strategy... :p
BulletsfromaGunbanner_zps974f3ea8.png

Careful. This link is DANGEROUS. Do NOT click it. This one, however, is fine.

I had the meaning of life in my signature, but it exceeded the character limit.

#24 Devon

Devon

    Dark Nerd of the Sith

  • Global Moderators
  • 5,886 posts
  • Location:Colbert Nation
  • Projects:RJ RotWK, Twilight of the Republic, HDLH
  •  T3A Chamber Member
  • Division:Community
  • Job:Global Moderator
  • Donated

Posted 18 November 2008 - 01:07 AM

That's what pressing a and moving does :p

yodasig2.png
My political compass
There's a story that the grass is so green...what did I see? Where have I been?


#25 Rafv Nin IV

Rafv Nin IV

    Vermin of Revora

  • Members
  • 1,224 posts
  • Projects:RPG Frontier

Posted 18 November 2008 - 01:40 AM

Q+a doesn't work too well when you're fighting against multiple enemies, which I prefer to fighting a brutal.

What's z do?

Posted Image


#26 Vithar-133

Vithar-133

    Violent Gandhi

  • Project Team
  • 1,975 posts
  • Location:The Universe
  • Projects:Existing
  •  It's not your skill, boys. It's your will. Ooh-rah!

Posted 18 November 2008 - 01:53 AM

Brings up a tactical interface where you can set up a series of waypoints or even patrols without your units actually moving. Then you can execute the move orders.

Basically, works like this:

If I hit 'z' while playing as Gondor, I can set up a group of Gondorian Knights to patrol the area around my base, tell my ranger battlions to move to viable abush positions, and then send some heroes to do a scout and then retunr to base, all the while the units won't move until I hit "execute".

Posted ImagePosted Image
Posted ImagePosted Image


#27 Rob38

Rob38

    Believer of Hope

  • Hosted
  • 3,567 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Projects:Helm's Deep Last Hope
  •  One who is not afraid of new challenges

Posted 18 November 2008 - 08:14 AM

Having extremely large hordes will cause major problems with the pathfinder and game mechanics. The units would get squashed into a small area and probably would be hard to manage. Remember, horde coding in BFME isn't the best so having very large hordes will just increase the problem. :p

signature_group1.gif

 

16821.png


#28 Pasidon

Pasidon

    Splitting Hares

  • Network Admins
  • 8,866 posts
  • Location:Da Moon
  • Projects:YouTube
  •  Actual Celebrity
  • Division:Community
  • Job:Community Admin

Posted 18 November 2008 - 04:38 PM

Well we need something that at least makes all your army stick together though. I've been tinken' of like a command chain, like you can order multiple hoards to follow one alpha hoard/hero or something like that at least. There's a waypoint system that lets you do something like that, but it's incredibly flawed if anyone has ever used it.

YT_Sig.jpgoutput_Fkd6it.gifFB_Sig.jpg


#29 Vithar-133

Vithar-133

    Violent Gandhi

  • Project Team
  • 1,975 posts
  • Location:The Universe
  • Projects:Existing
  •  It's not your skill, boys. It's your will. Ooh-rah!

Posted 18 November 2008 - 08:17 PM

Yeah, it isn't great at all. But it does work. And for the 'alpha' hordes/ heroes, I'd just use the command groups. Usually I set it up by weapon tyep (ie melee in one group, range in another, etc.)

Posted ImagePosted Image
Posted ImagePosted Image


#30 Hasfusel

Hasfusel

    title available

  • Members
  • 425 posts
  • Location:England

Posted 17 December 2008 - 11:55 AM

I tend to make groups of units with the relevant hero. For instance, I'd group three batallions of Mirkwood Archers along with Thranduil, to serve as my scouts and ambushers, or I'd group Faramir with Rangers or Knights, or Sharku leading Warg Riders. This keeps them together in purpose and as a group, and allows heroes to reach their maximum potential. It's also nice to have each group lead by an appropriate hero.

#31 Pasidon

Pasidon

    Splitting Hares

  • Network Admins
  • 8,866 posts
  • Location:Da Moon
  • Projects:YouTube
  •  Actual Celebrity
  • Division:Community
  • Job:Community Admin

Posted 17 December 2008 - 06:46 PM

That usualy works out since thouse heros give specific bonuses to specific units, most likely one ones that corespond with. But when ya' go a hoard full of a single unit, usualy the opponent likes to take advantage of that.

YT_Sig.jpgoutput_Fkd6it.gifFB_Sig.jpg





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users