Jump to content


Photo

Formation


  • Please log in to reply
92 replies to this topic

#81 BelrogofMoria

BelrogofMoria
  • Members
  • 50 posts
  • Location:Helm's Deep
  • Projects:Modding RTWBI into LOTRTW

Posted 02 January 2009 - 09:34 PM

You need to edit this file:
\data\ini\object\goodfaction\hordes\men\menhordes.ini

This is the code for the entire horde ;)

GondorTowerShieldGuardHordeWallFormation GondorTowerShieldGuardHorde



; Note - for alternate formations, all info outside of the Contain Behavior module is ignored.

; Any modifications need to be done via the Attribute Modifiers in the contain module. 

Behavior = HordeContain ModuleTag_HordeContain

ObjectStatusOfContained = 

InitialPayload = GondorTowerShieldGuard 15

Slots = 15

PassengerFilter = NONE +INFANTRY

ShowPips = No

ThisFormationIsTheMainFormation = No;Used to determine which armorset to use (and anything else we want!)

RandomOffset = X:2 Y:1

RanksToReleaseWhenAttacking = 1

;RanksToJustFreeWhenAttacking = 1

AttributeModifiers = GondorTowerShieldGuardWall



; Banner Carrier info 

		BannerCarriersAllowed = GondorInfantryBanner; types of units that are allowed as banner carriers

		BannerCarrierPosition = UnitType:GondorTowerShieldGuard Pos:X:-15.0 Y:0.0; (DEFAULT) position of banner carrier



		AlternateFormation = GondorTowerShieldGuardHorde


; Banner Carrier info 

		BannerCarriersAllowed = GondorBanner; types of units that are allowed as banner carriers
		BannerCarrierPosition = UnitType:GondorTowerShieldGuard Pos:X:20.0 Y:0.0; (DEFAULT) position of banner carrier

		RankInfo = RankNumber:1 UnitType:GondorTowerShieldGuard Position:X:0 Y:0 Position:X:0 Y:15 Position:X:0 Y:-15 Position:X:0 Y:30 Position:X:0 Y:-30 
		RankInfo = RankNumber:2 UnitType:GondorTowerShieldGuard Position:X:10 Y:0 Position:X:10 Y:15 Position:X:10 Y:-15 Position:X:10 Y:30 Position:X:10 Y:-30 
		RankInfo = RankNumber:3 UnitType:GondorTowerShieldGuard Position:X:20 Y:0 Position:X:20 Y:15 Position:X:20 Y:-15 Position:X:20 Y:30 Position:X:20 Y:-30
	End
End


I copied the text you gave me and the formation works great, but I was wondering why when I want to make the unit go into "Wallformation" It doesn't show a cool looking button like it would if I wanted to form Porcupine?

Also when I create the unit, the Formation it goes in when its not in any stance or anything is really okward, how do I change the stance it goes in when Its not in formation?

But other than that it rocks!

:thumbsupsmiley: ;) :D


EDIT: I had to change the file called "awardsystem" Is that sopose to happen? The reason you might ask why is because It said that it couldn't find "Towershieldguardhorde" and "Towershieldguardhorde_Summoned".
Just wondering if I might have screwed somthing up in the transfer.

Edited by BelrogofMoria, 02 January 2009 - 09:37 PM.

Death is only the begining!

#82 Ridder Geel

Ridder Geel

    Master Yelloh

  • T3A Staff
  • 10,852 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands (AKA: Holland)
  • Projects:RC Mod + SEE + RTS Engine
  •  The Dangerous T3A Team Chamber Member
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A Staff

Posted 02 January 2009 - 10:16 PM

Im not sure, but if it works then i guess it is ok :thumbsupsmiley:
Ridder Geel

#83 BelrogofMoria

BelrogofMoria
  • Members
  • 50 posts
  • Location:Helm's Deep
  • Projects:Modding RTWBI into LOTRTW

Posted 03 January 2009 - 02:15 AM

How do I make a units formation tighter (meaning closer to eachother) and in line formation?
Death is only the begining!

#84 Lurtzy

Lurtzy

    Forerunner

  • Project Team
  • 1,169 posts
  • Location:DeLand, Florida, USA
  • Projects:Returning to modding

Posted 03 January 2009 - 03:14 AM

I think if you reduce the numbers (all by the same amount, example: reduce one by three then reduce all by three) in the code below \/

RankInfo = RankNumber:1 UnitType:GondorTowerShieldGuard Position:X:50 Y:0		Position:X:50 Y:20		Position:X:50 Y:-20		Position:X:50 Y:40		Position:X:50 Y:-40 
		RankInfo = RankNumber:2 UnitType:GondorTowerShieldGuard Position:X:30 Y:0 Leader 1 0	Position:X:30 Y:20 Leader 1 1	Position:X:30 Y:-20 Leader 1 2	Position:X:30 Y:40 Leader 1 3	Position:X:30 Y:-40 Leader 1 4
		RankInfo = RankNumber:3 UnitType:GondorTowerShieldGuard Position:X:10 Y:0 Leader 2 0	Position:X:10 Y:20 Leader 2 1	Position:X:10 Y:-20 Leader 2 2	Position:X:10 Y:40 Leader 2 3	Position:X:10 Y:-40 Leader 2 4

Reduce the X: and Y: coordinates and I think that should do it :p

Trying to hold on...


#85 Ridder Geel

Ridder Geel

    Master Yelloh

  • T3A Staff
  • 10,852 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands (AKA: Holland)
  • Projects:RC Mod + SEE + RTS Engine
  •  The Dangerous T3A Team Chamber Member
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A Staff

Posted 03 January 2009 - 12:08 PM

yes that should do it :p
But remember if you change it like this:
RankInfo = RankNumber:1 UnitType:GondorTowerShieldGuard Position:X:50 Y:0		Position:X:50 Y:20		Position:X:50 Y:-20		Position:X:50 Y:40		Position:X:50 Y:-40
to
RankInfo = RankNumber:1 UnitType:GondorTowerShieldGuard Position:X:50 Y:0		Position:X:50 Y:10		Position:X:50 Y:-10		Position:X:50 Y:40		Position:X:50 Y:-40
then you should ALSO change
Position:X:50 Y:40		Position:X:50 Y:-40
to
Position:X:50 Y:20		Position:X:50 Y:-20
This way the Y value increases or decreases by 10 every 'position' :D
Ridder Geel

#86 BelrogofMoria

BelrogofMoria
  • Members
  • 50 posts
  • Location:Helm's Deep
  • Projects:Modding RTWBI into LOTRTW

Posted 03 January 2009 - 10:40 PM

Hey guys, is there any way to make the units so that they dont overlap eachother in the Wall formation? Secondly, could someone try to explain to me how the formation works so I cant test some stuff out?

Edited by BelrogofMoria, 03 January 2009 - 11:00 PM.

Death is only the begining!

#87 Ridder Geel

Ridder Geel

    Master Yelloh

  • T3A Staff
  • 10,852 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands (AKA: Holland)
  • Projects:RC Mod + SEE + RTS Engine
  •  The Dangerous T3A Team Chamber Member
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A Staff

Posted 03 January 2009 - 11:01 PM

...So you mean they run all over the place and they do not get into position?
All you need to do is make them walk in a line... but im not sure what you want because your question is not entirely clear to me ;)
Ridder Geel

#88 BelrogofMoria

BelrogofMoria
  • Members
  • 50 posts
  • Location:Helm's Deep
  • Projects:Modding RTWBI into LOTRTW

Posted 03 January 2009 - 11:11 PM

Here Ill up load pictures for you.


One of the pictures shows what The units should be doing, and the other shows what they do instead.

Yes, I want them to walk into an exact perfect line! That is when they are not in formation, also when they are in shield wall formation I was wondering can you make it so that there not not exactly standing right behind the other. Because it looks like the spear is going throught the team mate. ;)

Attached Thumbnails

  • sshot0656.jpg
  • sshot0657.jpg

Edited by BelrogofMoria, 03 January 2009 - 11:17 PM.

Death is only the begining!

#89 Ridder Geel

Ridder Geel

    Master Yelloh

  • T3A Staff
  • 10,852 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands (AKA: Holland)
  • Projects:RC Mod + SEE + RTS Engine
  •  The Dangerous T3A Team Chamber Member
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A Staff

Posted 03 January 2009 - 11:27 PM

Ah that, change the RandomOffset = X:2 Y:1 (or whatever) to RandomOffset = X:0 Y:0
Ridder Geel

#90 BelrogofMoria

BelrogofMoria
  • Members
  • 50 posts
  • Location:Helm's Deep
  • Projects:Modding RTWBI into LOTRTW

Posted 03 January 2009 - 11:31 PM

THANK YOU THANK YOU!

NVM I get how the formation codes work, thanks for your help guys! Ill be back with more rookie questions later!

Edited by BelrogofMoria, 03 January 2009 - 11:37 PM.

Death is only the begining!

#91 BelrogofMoria

BelrogofMoria
  • Members
  • 50 posts
  • Location:Helm's Deep
  • Projects:Modding RTWBI into LOTRTW

Posted 04 January 2009 - 09:52 PM

Hey guys after I add a unit and give it a formation I try to load the game and I get a game crash with a message

"Uknown command 'Command_ConstructElvenWarriorHorde' found in command set. File: Data/INI/CommandSet.ini Line:1694

Error parsing field '4' in block 'CommandSet' in file 'Data/INI/Commandset.ini', line 1693

Error parsing INI block ' 4' in file 'Data/INI/CommandSet.ini'
5 addresses:
(uknown)(0): game.dat+241950 Debug::PostStaticInit+3390
(uknown)(0): game.dat+2293599 UnicodeString::UnicodeString+55606
(uknown)(0): game.dat+2324389 GameClientRandomVariable::getValue+15977
(uknown)(0): game.dat+6447835 Xfer::~Xfer+118290
(uknown)(0): kernel32.dll+94167 RegisterWaitForInputIdle+73

Because of the severity of this error the game will now exit.

;)

Can Anyone tell me whats wrong?

Edited by BelrogofMoria, 04 January 2009 - 09:59 PM.

Death is only the begining!

#92 Ridder Geel

Ridder Geel

    Master Yelloh

  • T3A Staff
  • 10,852 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands (AKA: Holland)
  • Projects:RC Mod + SEE + RTS Engine
  •  The Dangerous T3A Team Chamber Member
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A Staff

Posted 04 January 2009 - 10:32 PM

No we can not tell you what is wrong without the code that is around "line 1693" (the entire commandset)
But MAYBE 'Command_ConstructElvenWarriorHorde' does not exist?
--------------------------------------------------------
Ah indeed it does not exist, its 'commented':
;CommandButton Command_ConstructElvenWarriorHorde
;	Command				= UNIT_BUILD
;	Object				= RohanElvenWarriorHorde
;	Options				= CANCELABLE
;	TextLabel			= CONTROLBAR:ConstructElvenWarriorHorde
;	ButtonImage			= BEElvenBarracks_LorienWarrior
;	ButtonBorderType	= BUILD 
;	DescriptLabel		= CONTROLBAR:ToolTipBuildElvenWarriorHordeWithNoPrerequisites
;	Radial				= Yes
;	InPalantir	   		= Yes
;	ShowProductionCount	= Yes
;	UnitSpecificSound   = GondorArcherVoiceBuy  
;	Options				= NEED_UPGRADE			
;	Upgrade				= Upgrade_StructureLevel2
;End
Find that and take the ;'s away :p

Edited by Ridder Geel, 04 January 2009 - 10:32 PM.

Ridder Geel

#93 drogoth232

drogoth232

    What a shame

  • Members
  • 1,268 posts
  • Location:United States

Posted 17 March 2009 - 08:18 PM

Never mind I got it.

Edited by drogoth232, 17 March 2009 - 09:01 PM.

Wait... what?




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users