Jump to content


Photo

Leaders of Revora, look here


  • Please log in to reply
36 replies to this topic

#21 Digz

Digz

    title available

  • Division Leaders
  • 1,070 posts
  • Location:London, England
  • Projects:Petrolution
  • Division:Petrolution
  • Job:Division Leader

Posted 25 July 2009 - 02:43 PM

Well firstly thank you for offering, and secondly, godaddy is meant to be good and so is gotyou. All you need is to register the domain, then if you want to pay us for our hosting services you can through this link:

http://www.revora.net/#donate

We would greatly appreciate your donation, and many thanks for sticking with us for all these years, it's been a pleasure to have you, and we look forward to many more years :p

#22 Jorg40

Jorg40

    <3 REVORA <3

  • Hosted
  • 2,284 posts
  • Location:Norway
  •  Zero Poster

Posted 28 July 2009 - 02:02 PM

Many more years indeed!

http://www.sourcegad.com/

Thats the domain, and the DNS option site looks like this:

Posted Image

No clue what to do :umad:

By the way, I can add NS but not remove them.
EDIT:
Added:
ns1.icetex-hosting.net
ns2.icetex-hosting.net

Edited by Jorg40, 28 July 2009 - 03:05 PM.


#23 Bart

Bart

  • Network Admins
  • 8,524 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Network Leader

Posted 28 July 2009 - 05:32 PM

If you can't point the domain to our nameserver properly (which I think you can), you could also remove all the A-records (the lines with type = A) and add a CNAME-record for *.sourcegad.com to revora.net
bartvh | Join me, make your signature small!
Einstein: "We can’t solve problems by using the same kind of thinking we used when we created them."

#24 Jorg40

Jorg40

    <3 REVORA <3

  • Hosted
  • 2,284 posts
  • Location:Norway
  •  Zero Poster

Posted 28 July 2009 - 06:32 PM

Thanks, gonna try it out :umad: Takes a while before it updates.

#25 Jorg40

Jorg40

    <3 REVORA <3

  • Hosted
  • 2,284 posts
  • Location:Norway
  •  Zero Poster

Posted 28 July 2009 - 09:35 PM

www.sourcegad.com. | CNAME | IN | 10800 | unknown.gamemod.net

Details:
ns2.icetex-hosting.net. (an authoritative nameserver for gamemod.net.) says that there are no CNAME records for unknown.gamemod.net.
The E-mail address in charge of the gamemod.net. zone is:


Did you guys do the authorizing of the sourcegad.com domain? :umad:
I guess it's just all this DNS magic thats taking a while to update, I am just a very impatient guy. :p

I should probably wait a few hours more to see if this changes, I dont know how often the DNS registry updates.

#26 Bart

Bart

  • Network Admins
  • 8,524 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Network Leader

Posted 28 July 2009 - 09:50 PM

Try changing unknown.gamemod.net to revora.net or nagini.icetex-hosting.net
bartvh | Join me, make your signature small!
Einstein: "We can’t solve problems by using the same kind of thinking we used when we created them."

#27 Jorg40

Jorg40

    <3 REVORA <3

  • Hosted
  • 2,284 posts
  • Location:Norway
  •  Zero Poster

Posted 28 July 2009 - 10:32 PM

Okay sir!

When it was U.GM.N it redirected to the Icetext cPanel :umad:

Now we wait for the next result :p

#28 Clement

Clement

    title available

  • Network Staff
  • 1,442 posts
  • Location:France
  • Projects:Various
  •  T3A Team Chamber Member
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Developer

Posted 28 July 2009 - 11:54 PM

Maybe someone should write a little tutorial about how to set up our own domain name when we are hosted on revora, don't you think?
Posted Image

#29 Jorg40

Jorg40

    <3 REVORA <3

  • Hosted
  • 2,284 posts
  • Location:Norway
  •  Zero Poster

Posted 29 July 2009 - 12:07 AM

Indeed it is, I believe that is a VERY clever idea.

#30 Bart

Bart

  • Network Admins
  • 8,524 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Network Leader

Posted 29 July 2009 - 09:37 AM

Yeah that'd be good, but we can obviously not do it for every registrar out there.
bartvh | Join me, make your signature small!
Einstein: "We can’t solve problems by using the same kind of thinking we used when we created them."

#31 Jorg40

Jorg40

    <3 REVORA <3

  • Hosted
  • 2,284 posts
  • Location:Norway
  •  Zero Poster

Posted 29 July 2009 - 10:06 AM

Good morning! :rolleyes:

It seems that whatever I put as a CNAME that goes to revora, somehow only return Icetex cPanel page saying:
Great Success ! 
Apache is working on your cPanel® and WHM™ Server

If you can see this page, then the people who manage this server have installed cPanel and WebHost Manager (WHM)

Edited by Jorg40, 29 July 2009 - 10:26 AM.


#32 Bart

Bart

  • Network Admins
  • 8,524 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Network Leader

Posted 29 July 2009 - 10:32 AM

Yeah, now we have to do some stuff on our side to make it go to your site. I personally don't know what to do exactly though.
bartvh | Join me, make your signature small!
Einstein: "We can’t solve problems by using the same kind of thinking we used when we created them."

#33 Jorg40

Jorg40

    <3 REVORA <3

  • Hosted
  • 2,284 posts
  • Location:Norway
  •  Zero Poster

Posted 29 July 2009 - 10:48 AM

http://help.godaddy.com/article/1171

From that I think you can edit my current user in cPanel to use another domain instead, now it uses unknown.gamemod.net. So if you change that to sourcegad.com it might work :rolleyes:







(I have absolutely no clue... so dont listen to me... crazy ideas flying through cyberspace...) :rolleyes:

EDIT:
CNAME is currently set to nagini.icetex-hosting.net

Edited by Jorg40, 29 July 2009 - 10:50 AM.


#34 Clement

Clement

    title available

  • Network Staff
  • 1,442 posts
  • Location:France
  • Projects:Various
  •  T3A Team Chamber Member
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Developer

Posted 29 July 2009 - 11:20 AM

Yeah that'd be good, but we can obviously not do it for every registrar out there.


That's sure, but everybody seem to use gkg.net around here, so... And the theory is the same, buy it, configure the DNS and all...

This tutorial will be there to show that it is possible, and would open a door for support.

I'm certainly going to buy a domain for GaW soon, if so I'll convert my buying into a tutorial :rolleyes:

Edited by TDP, 29 July 2009 - 11:20 AM.

Posted Image

#35 Phil

Phil

    Force Majeure

  • Network Leaders
  • 7,971 posts
  • Location:Switzerland
  • Projects:Revora, C&C:Online
  •  Thought Police
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Network Leader
  • Donated
  • Association

Posted 30 July 2009 - 07:00 PM

EDIT:
CNAME is currently set to nagini.icetex-hosting.net


I've set everything up server-side and PMed you the new login details. However, setting the CNAME to nagini.icetex-hosting.net is wrong (that means it should send the same request to nagini.icetex-hosting.net, which only returns a cPanel message).

This is the DNS zone file generated by Nagini for sourcegad.com. If you cannot just change DNS servers, you should set up the entries as close to this one as possible (ignoring the top part).
$TTL 14400
@	  86400	IN	  SOA	 ns1.icetex-hosting.net. xxxxxxxxx.gmail.com. (
				2009073002	 ; serial, todays date+todays
				86400		  ; refresh, seconds
				7200		   ; retry, seconds
				3600000		; expire, seconds
				86400 )		; minimum, seconds

sourcegad.com. 86400 IN NS ns1.icetex-hosting.net.
sourcegad.com. 86400 IN NS ns2.icetex-hosting.net.


sourcegad.com. 	IN 	A 	74.86.133.128

localhost.sourcegad.com. IN A 	127.0.0.1

sourcegad.com. 	IN 	MX 	0 sourcegad.com.

mail		IN 	CNAME 	sourcegad.com.
www 		IN 	CNAME 	sourcegad.com.
ftp 		IN 	A 	74.86.133.128
cpanel 		IN 	A 	74.86.133.128
whm 		IN 	A 	74.86.133.128
webmail 	IN 	A 	74.86.133.128
webdisk 	IN 	A 	74.86.133.128


I've also set up a complete redirect of unknown.gamemod.net to www.sourcegad.com and moved all of your files. Once your DNS settings are correct, everything should be working.

revorapresident.jpg
My Political Compass

Sieben Elefanten hatte Herr Dschin
Und da war dann noch der achte.
Sieben waren wild und der achte war zahm
Und der achte war's, der sie bewachte.


#36 Bart

Bart

  • Network Admins
  • 8,524 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Network Leader

Posted 30 July 2009 - 09:02 PM

. However, setting the CNAME to nagini.icetex-hosting.net is wrong (that means it should send the same request to nagini.icetex-hosting.net, which only returns a cPanel message).

It's not :p You could fill in any Revora domain name there, as long as they all point to the correct IP. The browser will still send Host: sourcegad.com, not whatever is in the CNAME, so it should be picked up correctly server-side.
bartvh | Join me, make your signature small!
Einstein: "We can’t solve problems by using the same kind of thinking we used when we created them."

#37 Jorg40

Jorg40

    <3 REVORA <3

  • Hosted
  • 2,284 posts
  • Location:Norway
  •  Zero Poster

Posted 31 July 2009 - 01:17 AM

Very nice!

The www doesnt work yet though, only if I write in the browser without the www.

But hang on, I'll try to fix it.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users