Jump to content


Photo

Kings of the West Support


  • Please log in to reply
158 replies to this topic

#1 GothmogtheOrc

GothmogtheOrc

    Ruler of the Morgul Vale

  • Hosted
  • 2,263 posts
  • Location:Great Lakes area, USA
  • Projects:Kings of the West Mod
  •  T3A Chamber Member - Retired

Posted 12 August 2009 - 03:30 PM

Please post here ONLY if you are experiencing problems with the mod or if you have found a bug or flaw in the mod.

If you are posting asking for help with something we will do our best to give you timely and good advice.

-GothmogtheOrc

Nine%20rings.jpg
Click on my Sig to go to my BFME Modding site where you can download my mods.
KotW%20Morgul%20In-game.jpg
Kings of the West Mod Leader
*Retired. PM me if you need to get a hold of me as I'll get an email notification and should reply within a day or so*


#2 yams in a can

yams in a can

    Friend of the Right Side

  • Members
  • 391 posts
  • Location:Henrico,Virginia

Posted 12 August 2009 - 04:14 PM

I can't download the mod. It says the file is unavailable. Help, anyone.

Posted Image
To the professor, John Ronald Reuel Tolkien.


Posted Image
Posted Image

-yams in a can


#3 GothmogtheOrc

GothmogtheOrc

    Ruler of the Morgul Vale

  • Hosted
  • 2,263 posts
  • Location:Great Lakes area, USA
  • Projects:Kings of the West Mod
  •  T3A Chamber Member - Retired

Posted 12 August 2009 - 04:24 PM

Just give it a few minutes, apparently they are still setting it up on their server despite the page being active :p

-Gto

Nine%20rings.jpg
Click on my Sig to go to my BFME Modding site where you can download my mods.
KotW%20Morgul%20In-game.jpg
Kings of the West Mod Leader
*Retired. PM me if you need to get a hold of me as I'll get an email notification and should reply within a day or so*


#4 Guest_GUEST_*

Guest_GUEST_*
  • Guests

Posted 12 August 2009 - 05:54 PM

What about the GOndor Citadel Guards ?? I've played it only a while and i've tried attacking only wargs, goblins and trolls ( neutral ones) and they just don't attack , i've read the manual and there's nothing about it. Sooo... they can only be used in defending/patrolling mode , can they ?? Or it's a bug ??

#5 GothmogtheOrc

GothmogtheOrc

    Ruler of the Morgul Vale

  • Hosted
  • 2,263 posts
  • Location:Great Lakes area, USA
  • Projects:Kings of the West Mod
  •  T3A Chamber Member - Retired

Posted 12 August 2009 - 06:09 PM

No, that's definitely a bug. Somehow we missed it. I've found the typo in the game and am trying to see if there is a way to easily fix it in your copies that you've downloaded (without reuploading the mod).

Edit: hmm, doesn't look like it. I think what I will do is wait a few hours just to make sure no one else finds any bugs and then I'll upload a new version with that fixed.

-Gto

Edited by GothmogtheOrc, 12 August 2009 - 06:15 PM.

Nine%20rings.jpg
Click on my Sig to go to my BFME Modding site where you can download my mods.
KotW%20Morgul%20In-game.jpg
Kings of the West Mod Leader
*Retired. PM me if you need to get a hold of me as I'll get an email notification and should reply within a day or so*


#6 charlie

charlie
  • Members
  • 16 posts

Posted 12 August 2009 - 06:33 PM

i can't play skirmish. it loads fine until i click skirmish and it gives a game.dat error can you please help me Gto.
Posted Image

#7 Florisz

Florisz

    The Young Reindeer

  • Project Team
  • 2,322 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted 12 August 2009 - 06:37 PM

If I may answer, I think you have played a mod that adds a new faction, like The Elven Alliance, and have played an added faction. Too get it working, either reinstall your game, or delete your skirmish profile in the application data.
Posted Image

#8 charlie

charlie
  • Members
  • 16 posts

Posted 12 August 2009 - 06:38 PM

Thanks ill try it and yes how did you guess i had that lol
Posted Image

#9 Florisz

Florisz

    The Young Reindeer

  • Project Team
  • 2,322 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted 12 August 2009 - 06:39 PM

I've had the same. I was in total panic :p
Posted Image

#10 Yarrum

Yarrum

    Kahuna

  • Project Team
  • 461 posts
  • Location:New York City

Posted 12 August 2009 - 06:53 PM

Erkenbrand's horn doesn't work. He blows it and the FX plays but it has no effect on the enemies, even those with no EXP.

KotW%20Left%20Morgul%20Banner.jpg
KotW Beta Tester
frodo_sam.jpg


#11 Ring o' Fate

Ring o' Fate

    The Ghost.

  • Project Team
  • 1,627 posts
  • Location:PA
  • Projects:Trying to find meaning...
  •  The guy that is just a ghost.

Posted 12 August 2009 - 07:37 PM

...Gothmog, you didn't fix that? Jesus, it's been said!
A changed man is only the same man with a different outlook of life.

#12 Guest_GUEST_*

Guest_GUEST_*
  • Guests

Posted 12 August 2009 - 07:44 PM

There are some things messed up with Frodo and Sam... there are incorrect strings ( or something , i don't know how do you call them , ya know , that weird text) . there is no image for Sam's first power... If I'll discover something I will tell ya

#13 GothmogtheOrc

GothmogtheOrc

    Ruler of the Morgul Vale

  • Hosted
  • 2,263 posts
  • Location:Great Lakes area, USA
  • Projects:Kings of the West Mod
  •  T3A Chamber Member - Retired

Posted 12 August 2009 - 08:44 PM

Frodo and Sam are not in the mod. Are you using the campaign? Because the campaign is not supported by the mod either. Which isn't to say it may not work, rather that I have not tested any of the new stuff on the campaign and I will not offer any support if it doesn't work.

Erkenbrand's horn doesn't work. He blows it and the FX plays but it has no effect on the enemies, even those with no EXP.

...Gothmog, you didn't fix that? Jesus, it's been said!

Relax Ring. I did look at it and I did fix it. It works fine on my desktop. I just bought Erkenbrand and sent him over towards some Orcs and when I used the horn they started quivering in fear. Not sure what to tell you about why it didn't work when you tried it. What troops did you use it against?

-Gto

Nine%20rings.jpg
Click on my Sig to go to my BFME Modding site where you can download my mods.
KotW%20Morgul%20In-game.jpg
Kings of the West Mod Leader
*Retired. PM me if you need to get a hold of me as I'll get an email notification and should reply within a day or so*


#14 Bereneth Túrien

Bereneth Túrien

    Ni degilbor

  • Members
  • 414 posts
  • Location:Michigan, USA
  • Projects:Working on my own mod.
  •  Former advisor.

Posted 12 August 2009 - 09:02 PM

Now that it's been released, I found some more bugs...
-If you hold the mouse over a horde of Royal Guard (not the single unit) the text says "Horde" and not "Royal Guard Horde" or something accurate.
-When Pallando uses Water Blast the Word of Power "buildup" FX shows.
-At one point when I destroyed one of my enemy's castles the townspeople didn't disappear, and thus they were able to rebuild it despite not having any units there.

I used to be {AE}Manveru, if that rings a bell.


#15 GothmogtheOrc

GothmogtheOrc

    Ruler of the Morgul Vale

  • Hosted
  • 2,263 posts
  • Location:Great Lakes area, USA
  • Projects:Kings of the West Mod
  •  T3A Chamber Member - Retired

Posted 12 August 2009 - 09:58 PM

-Fixed the Royal Guard string.
-The FX is supposed to do that.
-I assume you mean the AI was able to rebuild the castle. I'm not entirely sure how they could do that since the units code explicitly says "NO_BASE_CAPTURE" ( cheating AI! :p ) but I'd recommend that you just station your army next to the townspeople and kill them off next time just to make sure it doesn't happen again :) your troops will automatically attack them if close enough. Code wise I'm not sure what else I can do to ensure that it doesn't happen again. I can't auto kill them when the castle is destroyed due to the way they work. Oh, and I know that a human player cannot exploit that bug (I tried) so it only affects the AI. For that matter, are you sure there weren't any other units nearby that they could have used? You're sure it was townspeople?

-Gto

Nine%20rings.jpg
Click on my Sig to go to my BFME Modding site where you can download my mods.
KotW%20Morgul%20In-game.jpg
Kings of the West Mod Leader
*Retired. PM me if you need to get a hold of me as I'll get an email notification and should reply within a day or so*


#16 Florisz

Florisz

    The Young Reindeer

  • Project Team
  • 2,322 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted 13 August 2009 - 12:12 AM

What would be nice too, would be that the townspeople would be targetable, so now they just run run run and you gotta be lucky to kill them :p
Posted Image

#17 The Lord Of The Bats

The Lord Of The Bats
  • Members
  • 73 posts

Posted 13 August 2009 - 12:26 AM

I don't know if this is a bug or not but all the units that are able to mount has Eomer's voice.

Edited by The Lord Of The Bats, 13 August 2009 - 12:32 AM.


#18 Bereneth Túrien

Bereneth Túrien

    Ni degilbor

  • Members
  • 414 posts
  • Location:Michigan, USA
  • Projects:Working on my own mod.
  •  Former advisor.

Posted 13 August 2009 - 01:17 AM

GtO, it was a human opponent. And I should have been more clear. They didn't rebuild it, but the capture flag was the player color. Of course, they could have had stealthed units nearby that I couldn't see, so it's possible this is nothing, but I'm not sure. I'll ask if they have a replay to check in on that, though.

I used to be {AE}Manveru, if that rings a bell.


#19 Guest_GUEST_*

Guest_GUEST_*
  • Guests

Posted 13 August 2009 - 08:30 AM

There's no "glow" for Dol Amroth Knights on foot after buying weapon upgrade, there are only some pinky rectangles like something's missing

#20 GothmogtheOrc

GothmogtheOrc

    Ruler of the Morgul Vale

  • Hosted
  • 2,263 posts
  • Location:Great Lakes area, USA
  • Projects:Kings of the West Mod
  •  T3A Chamber Member - Retired

Posted 13 August 2009 - 06:29 PM

-The KoDA pink thing is a bug. But I should be able to fix it easy enough.

@Arborlon Elf: if they didn't rebuild it then what is the problem? It makes sense the the flag turned their color since they had troops nearby, but those troops cannot capture the base and they shouldn't count for victory, and the player cannot control them... so what am I missing that is the problem?

@The Lord Of The Bats: yep that's a bug that I just missed when I was doing the audio. Very simple fix.

@Florisz: while it may be nicer, it actually opens up another whole can of worms with a new set of problems. So I'm going to leave them the way they are.

Thanks everyone for posting these fixes, I'm going to see if I can get all the above bugs fixed and a new version out today that fixes them all.

-Gto

Nine%20rings.jpg
Click on my Sig to go to my BFME Modding site where you can download my mods.
KotW%20Morgul%20In-game.jpg
Kings of the West Mod Leader
*Retired. PM me if you need to get a hold of me as I'll get an email notification and should reply within a day or so*





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users