Jump to content


Photo

12 faction multiplayer limit...


  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 Ridder Geel

Ridder Geel

    Master Yelloh

  • T3A Staff
  • 10,837 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands (AKA: Holland)
  • Projects:RC Mod + SEE + RTS Engine
  •  The Dangerous T3A Team Chamber Member
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A Staff

Posted 18 August 2009 - 07:30 PM

I myself have encoutered this problem a while ago when working on my mod... (RC Mod)
Only 12 factions can be Multiplayer in your mod... I heard from ROF that you are planning on adding around 22 factions...
So this would be a problem?
Ridder Geel

#2 {IRS}Athos

{IRS}Athos

    Non Sequitur

  • Members
  • 4,008 posts
  • Location:Classified.
  • Projects:Ex-Advisor
  •  Resident Shakespearean.

Posted 18 August 2009 - 08:03 PM

Hmmmm... you do raise a legitimate point. However, I was under the impression that there were going to be separate releases for each era... however, I could be wrong...
BulletsfromaGunbanner_zps974f3ea8.png

Careful. This link is DANGEROUS. Do NOT click it. This one, however, is fine.

I had the meaning of life in my signature, but it exceeded the character limit.

#3 Ridder Geel

Ridder Geel

    Master Yelloh

  • T3A Staff
  • 10,837 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands (AKA: Holland)
  • Projects:RC Mod + SEE + RTS Engine
  •  The Dangerous T3A Team Chamber Member
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A Staff

Posted 18 August 2009 - 09:13 PM

Ah if that is the case then there should be no problem :p ;)
Ridder Geel

#4 Spartan184

Spartan184

    :)

  • Project Team
  • 1,592 posts
  • Location:Moon
  • Projects:Random Modding Projects
  •  Coder, Map.ini Coder, Mapper, and Beta Tester

Posted 22 August 2009 - 12:57 AM

Hmm then why does Lone Wolf have 16 factions?


 

safsignature.png

 


#5 Radspakr Wolfbane

Radspakr Wolfbane

    The John Farnham of modding

  • Members
  • 7,722 posts
  • Location:less than 5 meters from my bed
  • Projects:Comeback tour
  •  The Retired Beard

Posted 22 August 2009 - 09:39 AM

You mean 15 :shiftee2:
I'm not sure about BFME 2 but BFME 1 can support at least 23 factions until you start to face problems.
At 24 the Worldbuilder hits the player limit when you make a skirmish map.

Edited by Radspakr, 22 August 2009 - 09:39 AM.

Break dancing into the hearts of millions


#6 Ridder Geel

Ridder Geel

    Master Yelloh

  • T3A Staff
  • 10,837 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands (AKA: Holland)
  • Projects:RC Mod + SEE + RTS Engine
  •  The Dangerous T3A Team Chamber Member
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A Staff

Posted 22 August 2009 - 03:29 PM

You do know i mean Multiplayer? :shiftee2:
24...well i can get 30 in BFME 1 Worldbuilder... (just checked)
In BFME 2 Worldbuilder the limit is 18 "players" (also checked)
Strange :p

Edited by Ridder Geel, 22 August 2009 - 03:31 PM.

Ridder Geel

#7 Florisz

Florisz

    The Young Reindeer

  • Project Team
  • 2,322 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted 23 August 2009 - 09:30 AM

That's not nice...a limit :( Anyway, the best option would indeed be to release each Era on its own. But there are like 8 Eras and 8 shortcuts... You know :p
Posted Image

#8 Dant

Dant

    Civil Protection

  • Members
  • 937 posts
  • Location:City 17

Posted 23 August 2009 - 09:32 AM

EA really messing things in BFME2 games...even the worldbuilder. :p

but there should not be problum at all if release each era on it own..like Florisz said. :ermm:

Edited by Dant, 23 August 2009 - 09:33 AM.

Posted Image

#9 Florisz

Florisz

    The Young Reindeer

  • Project Team
  • 2,322 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted 23 August 2009 - 09:39 AM

Dude...8 extra shortcut for 1 mod? :p
Posted Image

#10 Dant

Dant

    Civil Protection

  • Members
  • 937 posts
  • Location:City 17

Posted 23 August 2009 - 09:46 AM

Dude...8 extra shortcut for 1 mod? :)


Hell yeah! :ermm: i'm fine with that nothing against it..since WoA just like huge expansion for original game i think it is good idea to serapated each eras in it own shotcut.

and so we won't have problum with that EA limit problum :p

Edited by Dant, 23 August 2009 - 11:20 AM.

Posted Image

#11 Florisz

Florisz

    The Young Reindeer

  • Project Team
  • 2,322 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted 23 August 2009 - 11:10 AM

Yeah, though I don't think most people will like 8 extra shortcuts :xd:
Posted Image

#12 Dant

Dant

    Civil Protection

  • Members
  • 937 posts
  • Location:City 17

Posted 23 August 2009 - 11:18 AM

How about launcher thing then you will be able to run each eras in one shotcut..but they need more work on it..so i still prefer 8 extra shortcuts. :p

wait a second i thought it was only 7 eras :xd:

Edited by Dant, 23 August 2009 - 11:20 AM.

Posted Image

#13 Florisz

Florisz

    The Young Reindeer

  • Project Team
  • 2,322 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands

Posted 23 August 2009 - 12:29 PM

I just said something :xd: I don't know how many there are so... With the launcher thing, you mean what Edain Mod has done, I suppose?
Posted Image

#14 Dant

Dant

    Civil Protection

  • Members
  • 937 posts
  • Location:City 17

Posted 23 August 2009 - 12:44 PM

* The War of the Jewels
* The Last Alliance
* The Fall of Arnor
* The Wainriders Invasion
* The Quest of Erebor
* The War of the Ring
* The New Shadow

There can't be more i guess :xd: as for launcher thing well Edain mod has done it but i just remember from other games such as (Medieval II Totalwar with expansion)
Posted Image

#15 {IRS}Athos

{IRS}Athos

    Non Sequitur

  • Members
  • 4,008 posts
  • Location:Classified.
  • Projects:Ex-Advisor
  •  Resident Shakespearean.

Posted 23 August 2009 - 05:41 PM

Multiple shortcuts won't be any problem... of course, that means that Mordred will *finally* have to make it -mod compatible. :xd:
BulletsfromaGunbanner_zps974f3ea8.png

Careful. This link is DANGEROUS. Do NOT click it. This one, however, is fine.

I had the meaning of life in my signature, but it exceeded the character limit.

#16 Origin64

Origin64
  • Members
  • 35 posts
  • Location:The Void
  • Projects:The Wars of Arda, willing to test other mods, PM me!
  •  Member, BFME Fanatic, The Wars of Arda Betatester

Posted 26 August 2009 - 10:06 AM

Just put the shortcuts in a seperate folder and you'll be fine...
............Posted ImagePosted Image
............Posted ImagePosted Image
............Posted ImagePosted Image
............Posted ImagePosted Image
Posted Image

#17 {IRS}Athos

{IRS}Athos

    Non Sequitur

  • Members
  • 4,008 posts
  • Location:Classified.
  • Projects:Ex-Advisor
  •  Resident Shakespearean.

Posted 26 August 2009 - 01:38 PM

That wouldn't make any difference. Right now, if you have WoA, it's the only mod you can have. Even if you click on a different mod's shortcut, it'll still end up as WoA. Probably a very buggy WoA, if you're trying to run it with a different mod.
BulletsfromaGunbanner_zps974f3ea8.png

Careful. This link is DANGEROUS. Do NOT click it. This one, however, is fine.

I had the meaning of life in my signature, but it exceeded the character limit.

#18 Dant

Dant

    Civil Protection

  • Members
  • 937 posts
  • Location:City 17

Posted 26 August 2009 - 03:26 PM

So that was what the team working on it too..fixed this problum made it playable along with other mod. :crazed:
Posted Image

#19 Argolis

Argolis

    Big Crazy Modder.

  • Project Team
  • 337 posts
  • Location:London
  • Projects:The Wars of Arda
  •  The modding jack-of-all-trades

Posted 09 September 2009 - 04:56 PM

If this is all referring to the cap on AI players in skirmish/multiplayer maps this is something that was brought to my attention a while back. Its a nuisance, but not crippling i feel.

Essentially all maps will support the war of the ring era factions (gondor, rohan, lorien, erebor, isengard, mordor, harad) plus an appropriate assortment of ai factions. Multiplayer itself would be unaffected by that.

Also irritatingly the more players on a map the less ai factions you can have (not that well have a huge number of 8 player maps but theres a few).
I do not kill with my hand.
He who kills with his hand has forgotten the face of his father.
I kill with my heart.
-The Gunslingers Catechism
Posted Image
NEEDED: Modeller/skinner and 2D artist for Wars of Arda. PM me. Please.

#20 Origin64

Origin64
  • Members
  • 35 posts
  • Location:The Void
  • Projects:The Wars of Arda, willing to test other mods, PM me!
  •  Member, BFME Fanatic, The Wars of Arda Betatester

Posted 09 September 2009 - 06:38 PM

Just get my sig back, will ya?

Edited by Origin64, 09 September 2009 - 06:38 PM.

............Posted ImagePosted Image
............Posted ImagePosted Image
............Posted ImagePosted Image
............Posted ImagePosted Image
Posted Image




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users