#1 Spartan184

Spartan184

:)

• Project Team
  • 1,592 posts
  • Projects:Random Modding Projects
  •  Coder, Map.ini Coder, Mapper, and Beta Tester

Posted 18 September 2009 - 01:25 AM

Well here it is should i get it? So far I'm gonna get it since i need a new one because todays games need better graphics cards and mine is getting old. And I'm not a real genius with graphics cards since this is my first time buying one can you guys perhaps give me some tips?
Clicky

Edit: Here are my system specs

Windows Vista 32 bit
1gb of ram (soon to be 2gb)
225gb Hardrive
128mb video card NVIDIA GeForce 6150SE nForce 430
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Processor 4200+ 2.21 GHz

Edited by Spartan184, 18 September 2009 - 01:30 AM.

safsignature.png

#2 Ash

Ash

Foxtrot Oscar.

• Undead
  • 15,526 posts
  • Projects:Robot Storm
  •  Keep calm and carry on.

Posted 18 September 2009 - 10:23 AM

As long as it your motherboard has a PCI-E (that is an old graphics card you currently have), you should have no problem with that, and it will be a solid, futureproof investment. 9800s are great cards.

I would recommend you upgun your processor too at some point in the near future, along with the RAM and the GPU you're already looking to upgrade. It's by no means a bad processor, but you can pick up an X2 5200+ or probably even a 6200+ for like $35. Although not essential to your rig, you might end up with your processor being the weak link in an otherwise fairly decent chain down the line. Just make sure you buy a Socket AM2 processor (like the older X2s like I mentioned - I currently run a 5200+ and can max out pretty much every game I play, no problem. You can probably pick up better for less than I paid now tho). You can't have an Intel chip, either, as your mobo won't support it.

I apologise if I gave you a bunch of info you already knew and sounded patronising - I don't know your tech competency. :p