Jump to content


Photo

Revora Advertisements


  • Please log in to reply
42 replies to this topic

#1 Bart

Bart

  • Network Admins
  • 8,524 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Network Leader

Posted 03 November 2009 - 10:57 PM

Listen up everybody, we're rolling out a new script to let y'all include our beautiful ads on your site. We're doing this because we're going to change something in the system. Don't worry though, this script was especially designed in a way that this is the last time you ever need to update it. :cool2:

This script replaces the Google AdSense code you (should) already have on your site, which you can remove.

Here's how it works.

Somewhere in your head tag, put
<script src="http://ads.revora.net/static/adscript.js" type="text/javascript"></script>


And in the place where you want the ads, put:

<script type="text/javascript">
revads_display();
</script>


This will give you standard-coloured, 728x90 pixels formatted ads. Many of you will want to change this, so see below.

Changing the look

The revads_display function can be given a parameter object with some settings, to make the ads appear the way you want them to.

Format

There are four available formats:

* 468 x 60 pixels
* 728 x 90 pixels (this is the default)
* 120 x 600 pixels
* 160 x 600 pixels

You can choose one by setting format to one of: "468x60", "728x90", "120x600" or "160x600" (Exactly like that).

Example:

<script type="text/javascript">
var options = {format: "120x600"};
revads_display(options);
</script>


Colour Palettes

Unfortunately, Google doesn't permit the use of custom colours anymore; we have to work with colour palettes, which are centrally managed. As the ad implementation progresses, we will add more palettes for you to choose from.

<script type="text/javascript">
var options = {googleAdPalette: "seaside"};
revads_display(options);
</script>


The available palettes are:
* seaside: Standard white/blue palette (default)
* t3a: T3A red/orange palette (currently only available for T3A, T3A default)

Division Name

We like to track from which divisions the most clicks come. If your site address is not a standard subdomain (not mod1.the3rdage.net or mod2.iceforget.net etc. but your own domain like myubermod.com) you must add an option which contains the name of your division:

<script type="text/javascript">
var options = {division: "cnc"};
revads_display(options);
</script>


The available codes are:

* cnc: C&C Guild
* t3a: The 3rd Age
* if: IceForge
* petro: Petrolution
* revora: Revora

Combined

Naturally, you can combine several parameters:

<script type="text/javascript">
var options = {
format: "120x600",
googleAdPalette : "seaside"
};
revads_display(options);
</script>


The real fancy people can even do it like this :crazed:

<script type="text/javascript">
revads_display({
format: "120x600",
googleAdPalette : "seaside"
});
</script>


CDATA

If you are using XHTML, it's recommend that (like any other script) you enclose the Ad script in a CDATA block. For compatibility with most browsers, use it like so:

<script type="text/javascript">
<!--//--><![CDATA[//><!--
revads_display({
format: "120x600",
googleAdPalette : "seaside"
});
//--><!]]>
</script>


Questions?
Just ask :lol:
bartvh | Join me, make your signature small!
Einstein: "We can’t solve problems by using the same kind of thinking we used when we created them."

#2 {IRS}Athos

{IRS}Athos

    Non Sequitur

  • Members
  • 4,008 posts
  • Location:Classified.
  • Projects:Ex-Advisor
  •  Resident Shakespearean.

Posted 03 November 2009 - 11:42 PM

Yeah... I have no idea how to do any of that. :crazed:
BulletsfromaGunbanner_zps974f3ea8.png

Careful. This link is DANGEROUS. Do NOT click it. This one, however, is fine.

I had the meaning of life in my signature, but it exceeded the character limit.

#3 Bart

Bart

  • Network Admins
  • 8,524 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Network Leader

Posted 03 November 2009 - 11:46 PM

That's ok, those who need to do it probably know :crazed:
bartvh | Join me, make your signature small!
Einstein: "We can’t solve problems by using the same kind of thinking we used when we created them."

#4 Banshee

Banshee

    One Vision, One Purpose!

  • Network Admins
  • 9,045 posts
  • Location:Rio De Janeiro, RJ, Brazil.
  • Projects:PPM, PPM: Final Dawn, OS SHP Builder, OS Palette Editor, OS W3D Viewer, VXLSE III, etc...
  •  Retired Network Leader
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Maintenance Admin

Posted 04 November 2009 - 12:06 AM

Hosting FAQ has been updated to cover the new ads system.
Project Perfect Mod

Command & Conquer Mods, Mods Support, Public Researchs, Map Archives, Tutorials, Tools, A Friendly Community and much more. Check it out now!

Posted Image

#5 Bart

Bart

  • Network Admins
  • 8,524 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Network Leader

Posted 04 November 2009 - 12:19 AM

Nice, but can you add a link to this topic? Most people will want to change the colours and stuff :crazed:

Edit: Oops, apparently you did already. I'd just add the link under the same question though, not a seperate question.
bartvh | Join me, make your signature small!
Einstein: "We can’t solve problems by using the same kind of thinking we used when we created them."

#6 Banshee

Banshee

    One Vision, One Purpose!

  • Network Admins
  • 9,045 posts
  • Location:Rio De Janeiro, RJ, Brazil.
  • Projects:PPM, PPM: Final Dawn, OS SHP Builder, OS Palette Editor, OS W3D Viewer, VXLSE III, etc...
  •  Retired Network Leader
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Maintenance Admin

Posted 04 November 2009 - 12:21 AM

Errrr... it has a link to this topic, unless I'm blind. Check the Ads section, the customize question.
Project Perfect Mod

Command & Conquer Mods, Mods Support, Public Researchs, Map Archives, Tutorials, Tools, A Friendly Community and much more. Check it out now!

Posted Image

#7 Bart

Bart

  • Network Admins
  • 8,524 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Network Leader

Posted 04 November 2009 - 12:21 AM

See my edit :crazed:
bartvh | Join me, make your signature small!
Einstein: "We can’t solve problems by using the same kind of thinking we used when we created them."

#8 Banshee

Banshee

    One Vision, One Purpose!

  • Network Admins
  • 9,045 posts
  • Location:Rio De Janeiro, RJ, Brazil.
  • Projects:PPM, PPM: Final Dawn, OS SHP Builder, OS Palette Editor, OS W3D Viewer, VXLSE III, etc...
  •  Retired Network Leader
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Maintenance Admin

Posted 04 November 2009 - 12:24 AM

What I did was to add this topic link in the answer to the question about customizing the bar... Man, I guess you need some rest. It's tad late for ya.
Project Perfect Mod

Command & Conquer Mods, Mods Support, Public Researchs, Map Archives, Tutorials, Tools, A Friendly Community and much more. Check it out now!

Posted Image

#9 Bart

Bart

  • Network Admins
  • 8,524 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Network Leader

Posted 04 November 2009 - 12:26 AM

I saw that, but I think the link should be in the same question, as I said :cool2: Perhaps you need the rest? :crazed:

Edit: I now see that you also put sample code in the answer (it wasn't there before!) which makes it ok now. That should have it's own question.
bartvh | Join me, make your signature small!
Einstein: "We can’t solve problems by using the same kind of thinking we used when we created them."

#10 Banshee

Banshee

    One Vision, One Purpose!

  • Network Admins
  • 9,045 posts
  • Location:Rio De Janeiro, RJ, Brazil.
  • Projects:PPM, PPM: Final Dawn, OS SHP Builder, OS Palette Editor, OS W3D Viewer, VXLSE III, etc...
  •  Retired Network Leader
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Maintenance Admin

Posted 04 November 2009 - 12:29 AM

Do you mean something like:


Q: How can I customize the Revora Ads to fit my site style?

A: Bla bla bla etc etc etc...
Project Perfect Mod

Command & Conquer Mods, Mods Support, Public Researchs, Map Archives, Tutorials, Tools, A Friendly Community and much more. Check it out now!

Posted Image

#11 OmegaBolt

OmegaBolt

    Lost In The New Real

  • Hosted
  • 6,273 posts
  • Location:London, England
  • Projects:Red-Resurrection
  •  O'Bolt

Posted 04 November 2009 - 12:29 AM

So... every site needs some adverts on it now? :crazed: What kind of ads... Google ads? IMO any advert just makes a site look tacky...

Posted Image

Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image


#12 Bart

Bart

  • Network Admins
  • 8,524 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Network Leader

Posted 04 November 2009 - 12:30 AM

No, see above, it's fine now.

You made an error though. In the second block, you left a function call after the CDATA block

(oh, once you fix that one, please delete all these posts except your first one :crazed:)
bartvh | Join me, make your signature small!
Einstein: "We can’t solve problems by using the same kind of thinking we used when we created them."

#13 Bart

Bart

  • Network Admins
  • 8,524 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Network Leader

Posted 04 November 2009 - 12:30 AM

So... every site needs some adverts on it now? who-let-rip-smiley.png What kind of ads... Google ads? IMO any advert just makes a site look tacky..

It's been like that for years
bartvh | Join me, make your signature small!
Einstein: "We can’t solve problems by using the same kind of thinking we used when we created them."

#14 Banshee

Banshee

    One Vision, One Purpose!

  • Network Admins
  • 9,045 posts
  • Location:Rio De Janeiro, RJ, Brazil.
  • Projects:PPM, PPM: Final Dawn, OS SHP Builder, OS Palette Editor, OS W3D Viewer, VXLSE III, etc...
  •  Retired Network Leader
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Maintenance Admin

Posted 04 November 2009 - 12:35 AM

I knew you were the one needing some sleep, since I didn't do any change between mine and your post.

Anyway, I've fixed some grammar after your post and fixed the mistake you pointed out.
Project Perfect Mod

Command & Conquer Mods, Mods Support, Public Researchs, Map Archives, Tutorials, Tools, A Friendly Community and much more. Check it out now!

Posted Image

#15 OmegaBolt

OmegaBolt

    Lost In The New Real

  • Hosted
  • 6,273 posts
  • Location:London, England
  • Projects:Red-Resurrection
  •  O'Bolt

Posted 04 November 2009 - 12:36 AM

Is there an example? I guess it doesnt effect C&C Guild sites, because I've never seen any adverts and never look at any other Revora sites.

Posted Image

Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image


#16 Bart

Bart

  • Network Admins
  • 8,524 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Network Leader

Posted 04 November 2009 - 12:40 AM

No guild sites show ads? Well, they're going to have to now.

Also, they're regular google ads. Check the top of this forum for an example.
bartvh | Join me, make your signature small!
Einstein: "We can’t solve problems by using the same kind of thinking we used when we created them."

#17 Nazgûl

Nazgûl

    S.E.E. Team Leader

  • Hosted
  • 10,582 posts
  • Location:Sweden
  • Projects:BFME2 - Nazgûl's Special Extended Edition
  •  Veteran

Posted 04 November 2009 - 11:08 AM

I'm gonna need help doing this... I'm an artist, not a programmer =p

// C}{riZpc_punch.gif
"Do not come between the Nazgûl and his mod!"
SEE_Banner_2008.jpg
SEE-Team_Leader.jpg
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> I S.E.E. YOU! <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


#18 Banshee

Banshee

    One Vision, One Purpose!

  • Network Admins
  • 9,045 posts
  • Location:Rio De Janeiro, RJ, Brazil.
  • Projects:PPM, PPM: Final Dawn, OS SHP Builder, OS Palette Editor, OS W3D Viewer, VXLSE III, etc...
  •  Retired Network Leader
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Maintenance Admin

Posted 04 November 2009 - 12:41 PM

Nazgul, follow this guide here:
http://hosting.revor...ex.php?file=faq
(just click in the ads and check the question about customizing the ads)


The explanation there is much more newbie friendly.
Project Perfect Mod

Command & Conquer Mods, Mods Support, Public Researchs, Map Archives, Tutorials, Tools, A Friendly Community and much more. Check it out now!

Posted Image

#19 Lauri

Lauri

    Old man Lauri

  • Hosted
  • 10,436 posts
  • Location:Norway
  • Projects:The 4th Age
  •  The very worst T3A Team Chamber Member

Posted 04 November 2009 - 03:38 PM

If anyone with access to my site wants to do this for me go ahead, since I don't have any of the software for it to happen, and certainly not the will to really do it (since my mod is dead and all that) :party:
Yeah, it's simple to add, but still... I already have google ads, but I'm not going to use the site anymore..

I also remembered that I don't have any of the files for the site, and that I'd have to download the site to first edit it, then reupload it...
What's the difference between the new and old ads?

btw; http://tia.the3rdage.net/

T4A_Logo_-_article.png

The 4th Age version 0.8 has been released: Link


#20 GothmogtheOrc

GothmogtheOrc

    Ruler of the Morgul Vale

  • Hosted
  • 2,263 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Projects:Kings of the West Mod
  •  T3A Chamber Member - Retired

Posted 05 November 2009 - 12:22 AM

Read it. Will try to update my site asap but not sure if I'll get to it till the weekend.

-Gto

Nine%20rings.jpg
Click on my Sig to go to my BFME Modding site where you can download my mods.
KotW%20Morgul%20In-game.jpg
Kings of the West Mod Leader
*Retired. PM me if you need to get a hold of me as I'll get an email notification and should reply within a day or so*





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users