Jump to content


Photo

[3.2] Imperial Guard Unit Leaders Detaching


13 replies to this topic

#1 karix

karix
  • New Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 21 December 2009 - 06:35 AM

Hi,

I tried to search for this but I couldn't find anything.

First up I love this mod, its make DoW so much fun.

When I play with with dawn of skirmish on my IG leaders detach themselves from group. It doesn't happen in vanilla Soulstorm 1.20

It only seems to happen when fighting is thick and the unit it suffering losses. Sometimes they blink in and out, they'll detach and reattach a second later. Other times they just detach and start fighting on their own. This is extremely challenging in the thick of things when my guard or worse yet my karks lose their commissar/priest. This is happening to my units, not to the AI's units.

Any idea what might be doing it?

Just as I am writing this I remember I play with hero mode on, could that be causing this kind of issue?

Any help is appreciated.

karix

Edit: Turned hero mode off and the problem went away.

Edited by karix, 21 December 2009 - 10:37 AM.


#2 RobertW7928

RobertW7928
  • Members
  • 48 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted 02 April 2010 - 08:41 AM

I had this happen the other day while playing 2 v 2, I attached commissioners to my Guardsmen and I bind it to a group then check finding out they detached, like what? I recall having problems with SoB one time, but hat was awhile ago.

Update - While I was playing as Chaos and had my Chaos Lord attached to a Cultist Squad and while I was watching them I noticed for a brief moment he Detaches and reattaches when a unit is Killed, not sure about reinforced but it happen.

Edited by RobertW7928, 02 April 2010 - 09:08 AM.


#3 RobertW7928

RobertW7928
  • Members
  • 48 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted 26 August 2014 - 08:53 AM

After coming back to this game after years of other activities I wanted to find a fix for Squad detachment and when I was here last something did offer a fixed script or whatever and now I cannot find it again, should I just wait for v3.3?



#4 thudo

thudo

    Wacko AI Guy!

  • Division Leaders
  • 12,146 posts
  • Location:Lemonville North, Canada
  • Projects:DoW AI Scripting Project
  • Division:DoW
  • Job:Division Leader

Posted 01 September 2014 - 05:54 PM

There is an issue here?


Advanced Skirmish AI Team Lead for the coolest Warhammer40k PC RTS out there:

Dawn of War Advanced AI Headquarters

Latest DoW Advanced AI Download!

#5 jONES1979

jONES1979

    eL-jONESON

  • Members
  • 1,720 posts
  • Location:Еду в Саратов стрелять в пиратов!

Posted 04 September 2014 - 04:46 AM

After coming back to this game after years of other activities I wanted to find a fix for Squad detachment and when I was here last something did offer a fixed script or whatever and now I cannot find it again, should I just wait for v3.3?

Just don't use "heroes" wincondition :)



#6 RobertW7928

RobertW7928
  • Members
  • 48 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted 06 September 2014 - 03:25 AM

Oh sorry bout that, seems like it's fixed, played the IG during the Campaign with lil problems, tho I believe I've asked this before but how do you enable Heros/Massive battles for the Take and Hold/Stronghold maps in the campaign?


Edited by RobertW7928, 06 September 2014 - 04:56 AM.


#7 jONES1979

jONES1979

    eL-jONESON

  • Members
  • 1,720 posts
  • Location:Еду в Саратов стрелять в пиратов!

Posted 06 September 2014 - 09:17 PM

For strongholds maps you need to edit SCAR code (scripts) for each map. For others (regular "take and hold" and "annihilation") you need to edit global campaign map settings.

 

But it will be much easier for you just download the Titanium WARs Mod http://www.moddb.com...od-ss/downloads, where  Heroes script is already embedded within campaign, but not the only. All map scripts was heavily modified, added lots of units, AI strategies, etc.

 

Also don't forget to read TWM FAQ to take some measures to prevent crashes during campaign plays.


Edited by jONES1979, 06 September 2014 - 09:19 PM.


#8 RobertW7928

RobertW7928
  • Members
  • 48 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted 07 September 2014 - 12:02 PM

For strongholds maps you need to edit SCAR code (scripts) for each map. For others (regular "take and hold" and "annihilation") you need to edit global campaign map settings.

 

But it will be much easier for you just download the Titanium WARs Mod http://www.moddb.com...od-ss/downloads, where  Heroes script is already embedded within campaign, but not the only. All map scripts was heavily modified, added lots of units, AI strategies, etc.

 

Also don't forget to read TWM FAQ to take some measures to prevent crashes during campaign plays.

 

Ah, Sure, I could take a look but I'm trying the Bugfix Mod now and I like what it mentioned about what it has done and uses this mod along with it but found it doesn't use Hero's in the campaign, how can I change that? cause I have very lil clue on what and where to add the code required, if you'd help please.


Edited by RobertW7928, 07 September 2014 - 12:03 PM.


#9 jONES1979

jONES1979

    eL-jONESON

  • Members
  • 1,720 posts
  • Location:Еду в Саратов стрелять в пиратов!

Posted 08 September 2014 - 03:04 PM

Yet before you start your game [campaign] modification, you must know that "heroes" wincondition not-flawlessly supports ingame save-loading,

 

The game saves all modifiers applied to your/enemy troops, but ranks are not saved. So after each load, troops started to gain levels from 1, but script applies new modifiers along (or stacked )  with already applied once. And because their nature is "multiplying", stats of troops increased in geometry progression with each new save(and load).

 

Example: Lord with 1000HP gain 2 level 1000*1.2 = 1200,  3 level 1200*1.2 = 1440 , 4 level 1440 * 1.2 = 1728

 

After save - load it starts from 1728

 

gain 2 level 1728 *1.2 = 2074 and so on.

 

People reported about Necron lord with more than 1 or 2 hundreds HP. Really un-killable

 

And this will be with any modified parameter: HP, Damage, etc

 

Sorry for my bad English.


Edited by jONES1979, 08 September 2014 - 03:06 PM.


#10 RobertW7928

RobertW7928
  • Members
  • 48 posts
  • Location:Australia

Posted 11 September 2014 - 02:07 PM

Yet before you start your game [campaign] modification, you must know that "heroes" wincondition not-flawlessly supports ingame save-loading,

 

The game saves all modifiers applied to your/enemy troops, but ranks are not saved. So after each load, troops started to gain levels from 1, but script applies new modifiers along (or stacked )  with already applied once. And because their nature is "multiplying", stats of troops increased in geometry progression with each new save(and load).

 

Example: Lord with 1000HP gain 2 level 1000*1.2 = 1200,  3 level 1200*1.2 = 1440 , 4 level 1440 * 1.2 = 1728

 

After save - load it starts from 1728

 

gain 2 level 1728 *1.2 = 2074 and so on.

 

People reported about Necron lord with more than 1 or 2 hundreds HP. Really un-killable

 

And this will be with any modified parameter: HP, Damage, etc

 

Sorry for my bad English.

 

How does this help enabling it? also Titanium Wars don't seem to have a working Hero's, their doesn't seem to be any change when I have it on in Skirmish. :/



#11 jONES1979

jONES1979

    eL-jONESON

  • Members
  • 1,720 posts
  • Location:Еду в Саратов стрелять в пиратов!

Posted 11 September 2014 - 08:38 PM

 

Yet before you start your game [campaign] modification, you must know that "heroes" wincondition not-flawlessly supports ingame save-loading,
 
The game saves all modifiers applied to your/enemy troops, but ranks are not saved. So after each load, troops started to gain levels from 1, but script applies new modifiers along (or stacked )  with already applied once. And because their nature is "multiplying", stats of troops increased in geometry progression with each new save(and load).
 
Example: Lord with 1000HP gain 2 level 1000*1.2 = 1200,  3 level 1200*1.2 = 1440 , 4 level 1440 * 1.2 = 1728
 
After save - load it starts from 1728
 
gain 2 level 1728 *1.2 = 2074 and so on.
 
People reported about Necron lord with more than 1 or 2 hundreds HP. Really un-killable
 
And this will be with any modified parameter: HP, Damage, etc
 
Sorry for my bad English.

 
How does this help enabling it? also Titanium Wars don't seem to have a working Hero's, their doesn't seem to be any change when I have it on in Skirmish. :/

 

ok, never mind, I probably wasted rend the air, describing why Heroes script is not very suitable for the campaign
 
---
 
so to use Heroes wincondition in SS metamap campaign,
 
at 1st 
 
Open Data\scenarios\sp\kaurava.map
Search for  DefaultSkirmishWinConditions, add Heroes there

DefaultSkirmishWinConditions =
{
"Annihilate",
"GameTimer",

"Heroes", -- ADD HERE
}

at 2nd
 
check inside all *.TER files in Data\scenarios\sp\ for structures named SkirmishWinConditions , if they are exists, add "Heroes" here as well


SkirmishWinConditions =
{
"Annihilate",
"StrategicObjective",

"Heroes", -- ADD HERE
}

at 3rd

Inside Data\scenarios\sp\ edit all files named stronghold_XXXXXXX.scar

Put additional line with ref to Heroes, like one in example:
 

import("ScarUtil.scar")
import("WXPScarUtil.scar")

import("Heroes/Core/heroes_manager.scar") -- ADD SUCH A LINE

 


Edited by jONES1979, 11 September 2014 - 08:43 PM.


#12 Kasrkin84

Kasrkin84

    title available

  • Members
  • 328 posts
  • Location:Birmingham, UK
  • Projects:Strongholds, Unification

Posted 17 September 2014 - 09:55 PM

To add it to the Ancient Gate maps, you will also need to edit the relevant TER files. Open "data/scenarios/sp/<<MAPNAME>>.ter" for each of the Ancient Gate maps, and add the relevant win conditions into the section called "SkirmishWinConditions".



#13 jONES1979

jONES1979

    eL-jONESON

  • Members
  • 1,720 posts
  • Location:Еду в Саратов стрелять в пиратов!

Posted 24 September 2014 - 07:05 AM

Just found it on StrategyInformer http://www.strategyi.../mod/49527.html "Single Player Campaign with Heroes"  from Corncobman



#14 Guest_anubis_*

Guest_anubis_*
  • Guests

Posted 01 March 2021 - 09:30 AM

Sorry for the necro, but confirming that this still happens in 2021.



Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users