Jump to content


Photo

Installation Issues for Version 1.1


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
42 replies to this topic

Poll: Installation process (13 member(s) have cast votes)

Did you find the installation document included in the zip download file helpful?

You cannot see the results of the poll until you have voted. Please login and cast your vote to see the results of this poll.
Vote

#1 Rob38

Rob38

    Believer of Hope

  • Hosted
  • 3,567 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Projects:Helm's Deep Last Hope
  •  One who is not afraid of new challenges

Posted 21 December 2009 - 08:24 AM

Post any questions or problems you have in installing or running Version 1.1. Also, please answer the poll question so that I can get feedback on how helpful the installation document was to everyone. :p

signature_group1.gif

 

16821.png


#2 Guest_CaMuR_*

Guest_CaMuR_*
  • Guests

Posted 25 December 2009 - 11:25 AM

Post any questions or problems you have in installing or running Version 1.1. Also, please answer the poll question so that I can get feedback on how helpful the installation document was to everyone. :good:


hi i used to play elvenstar mod...but if u know that mod you need to use another shortcut to play that mod...i mean you have 2 choices you can play with elvenstar mod or classic mod either....
i installed vs 1.1...and when i tried to open it, gave me game crash error...what should i do...

#3 Elvenlord

Elvenlord

    Polis Ranger

  • Advisors
  • 3,829 posts
  •  T3A Chamber Member

Posted 25 December 2009 - 02:55 PM

You have to re-install. Elvenstar messes with the core game files, and thus you can't play any other mod.

elvenlordbanner.jpg
 


#4 Guest_CaMuR_*

Guest_CaMuR_*
  • Guests

Posted 26 December 2009 - 12:20 AM

You have to re-install. Elvenstar messes with the core game files, and thus you can't play any other mod.


is there any suggestion? or which files should i delete in app data...???

#5 Elvenlord

Elvenlord

    Polis Ranger

  • Advisors
  • 3,829 posts
  •  T3A Chamber Member

Posted 26 December 2009 - 12:29 AM

You have to reinstall the game, Elvenstar overwrite the main game files so mods that use the -mod command, like TEA, can't properly read the orginal files.
Note that using the -mod command does not change the orginal game files.

elvenlordbanner.jpg
 


#6 Guest_CaMuR_*

Guest_CaMuR_*
  • Guests

Posted 26 December 2009 - 12:32 AM

You have to reinstall the game, Elvenstar overwrite the main game files so mods that use the -mod command, like TEA, can't properly read the orginal files.
Note that using the -mod command does not change the orginal game files.


thank you....i fixed the problem....i just deleted elvenstar mod....thanks anyway

#7 drogoth232

drogoth232

    What a shame

  • Members
  • 1,268 posts
  • Location:United States

Posted 26 December 2009 - 02:45 AM

Instructions were good. But not needed for me atleast. But good job anyway! :p
Wait... what?

#8 Rob38

Rob38

    Believer of Hope

  • Hosted
  • 3,567 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Projects:Helm's Deep Last Hope
  •  One who is not afraid of new challenges

Posted 27 December 2009 - 08:28 AM

Yeah, the Elvenstar mod should really fix that. Not user friendly for other mods at all. Glad that you can play other mods now. :p

signature_group1.gif

 

16821.png


#9 Bereneth Túrien

Bereneth Túrien

    Ni degilbor

  • Members
  • 414 posts
  • Location:Michigan, USA
  • Projects:Working on my own mod.
  •  Former advisor.

Posted 31 December 2009 - 07:33 PM

I still think you should just use NSIS or something and use %appdata%\My Battle for Middle-earth Files for the target path...

I used to be {AE}Manveru, if that rings a bell.


#10 Rob38

Rob38

    Believer of Hope

  • Hosted
  • 3,567 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Projects:Helm's Deep Last Hope
  •  One who is not afraid of new challenges

Posted 01 January 2010 - 11:09 AM

I still think you should just use NSIS or something and use %appdata%\My Battle for Middle-earth Files for the target path...

Yeah, I will get an installer running and working for 1.2. :D Just didn't have the time to mess with one at the time. :D

signature_group1.gif

 

16821.png


#11 Guest_drider9_*

Guest_drider9_*
  • Guests

Posted 03 January 2010 - 08:09 PM

my game keeps saying im deeated after playing for 2 min

#12 Bereneth Túrien

Bereneth Túrien

    Ni degilbor

  • Members
  • 414 posts
  • Location:Michigan, USA
  • Projects:Working on my own mod.
  •  Former advisor.

Posted 03 January 2010 - 08:55 PM

That isn't a problem with TEA. It happens when the game thinks it's a cracked version. Are you using a legal copy of BFME?

I used to be {AE}Manveru, if that rings a bell.


#13 Guest_drider9_*

Guest_drider9_*
  • Guests

Posted 04 January 2010 - 02:07 AM

yes i am using a legal copy

#14 Elvenlord

Elvenlord

    Polis Ranger

  • Advisors
  • 3,829 posts
  •  T3A Chamber Member

Posted 04 January 2010 - 02:22 AM

Try reinstalling the game again. Don't forget to patch up.

elvenlordbanner.jpg
 


#15 Guest_Guest_*

Guest_Guest_*
  • Guests

Posted 17 January 2010 - 10:26 PM

Post any questions or problems you have in installing or running Version 1.1. Also, please answer the poll question so that I can get feedback on how helpful the installation document was to everyone. :)

All my units and structures for the elven faction are all invisible, and the new units for all the other factions are invisible too, as well as their icons showing up as a pinkish purple circle. I followed the directions on the troubleshooting page that came with the mod but it hasn't helped.

#16 Rob38

Rob38

    Believer of Hope

  • Hosted
  • 3,567 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Projects:Helm's Deep Last Hope
  •  One who is not afraid of new challenges

Posted 18 January 2010 - 09:14 PM

Where did you install the .big file (actual mod file)? Do not put it in the program file folder. Instead, put it in "My Battle for Middle-earth Files" folder.

signature_group1.gif

 

16821.png


#17 Guest_Guest_*

Guest_Guest_*
  • Guests

Posted 19 January 2010 - 12:03 AM

That'll do it! I put it in the wrong folder. Thanks alot for the help.

#18 Guest_Guest_*

Guest_Guest_*
  • Guests

Posted 19 January 2010 - 01:08 AM

I tried typing my bfme files in the address bar but it doesn't come up with anything. What am I doing wrong???

#19 Rob38

Rob38

    Believer of Hope

  • Hosted
  • 3,567 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Projects:Helm's Deep Last Hope
  •  One who is not afraid of new challenges

Posted 19 January 2010 - 07:29 AM

Did you type in the following:

%appdata%\My Battle for Middle-earth Files

signature_group1.gif

 

16821.png


#20 Guest_Guest_*

Guest_Guest_*
  • Guests

Posted 19 January 2010 - 07:27 PM

Yes, word for word.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users