Jump to content


Photo

Legends


  • Please log in to reply
75 replies to this topic

#61 Radspakr Wolfbane

Radspakr Wolfbane

    The John Farnham of modding

  • Members
  • 7,722 posts
  • Location:less than 5 meters from my bed
  • Projects:Comeback tour
  •  The Retired Beard

Posted 27 January 2010 - 09:23 AM

I finally got around to playing this.
I played single player.

1 thing I thought would be good,fewer enemies at the start like when you land the one guy on the beach.
Just a little breathing space for the first 2 minutes or so would be good.
More enemies a little later so you can grind a little.
I find as soon as you walk a little way you get swamped with Goblins and Half Orcs who do quite a lot of damage that early on.

Edited by Radspakr, 27 January 2010 - 09:25 AM.

Break dancing into the hearts of millions


#62 Crusard

Crusard

    Local n00b

  • Project Team
  • 483 posts
  • Location:Buenos Aires, Argentina
  • Projects:Crusard's Tower Defense
  •  Poor feedback kills mapper.

Posted 29 January 2010 - 06:20 AM

I kinda enjoyed seeing players that were used to killing masses of enemies with their ridiculously fast-leveled elven archers' tornado die right at start.
That's why just one needs to get to the statue.

If you don't run like crazy and take one fight at a time it shouldn't take more than a simple attack-move order to win them at start :p

And I think there's enough enemies later. It doesn't get any easier, or does it? :)

Posted Image


#63 Crusard

Crusard

    Local n00b

  • Project Team
  • 483 posts
  • Location:Buenos Aires, Argentina
  • Projects:Crusard's Tower Defense
  •  Poor feedback kills mapper.

Posted 30 January 2010 - 11:08 PM

The final part of the map is ready for download, along with the complete version.
Beware though, the full version is NOT recommendable for online play, as it has about 2.5 hours of gameplay! However, it includes a bonus battle in credits and extra cinematic in the end if you beat it!

Posted Image

Posted Image



Enjoy, and please comment! :p

Edited by Crusard, 31 January 2010 - 03:39 AM.

Posted Image


#64 Dúnedain76

Dúnedain76

    Misty Mountain Hop

  • Division Admins
  • 426 posts
  • Location:Rhudaur
  •  Mapper, Artist, Coder
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:The3rdAge Admin

Posted 30 January 2010 - 11:33 PM

Well Crusard,
It was great testing for you. Now If only Ring o Fates BFME2 would work..... :p

99dxc486ltde132zg.jpg


#65 Ring o' Fate

Ring o' Fate

    The Ghost.

  • Project Team
  • 1,627 posts
  • Location:PA
  • Projects:Trying to find meaning...
  •  The guy that is just a ghost.

Posted 31 January 2010 - 02:03 AM

Well Crusard,
It was great testing for you. Now If only Ring o' Fates BFMEs would work..... :p

Fixed. And I agree with Kyle over here. It was great testing for ya Crusard.
A changed man is only the same man with a different outlook of life.

#66 Crusard

Crusard

    Local n00b

  • Project Team
  • 483 posts
  • Location:Buenos Aires, Argentina
  • Projects:Crusard's Tower Defense
  •  Poor feedback kills mapper.

Posted 31 January 2010 - 06:53 PM

Thanks a lot for your time and feedback guys, I really appreciate it :p

--

Now I've received a PM that mentions a game crash when starting the map. It still seems to work fine on my computer, has anyone else experienced this problem?

Posted Image


#67 Ridder Geel

Ridder Geel

    Master Yelloh

  • T3A Staff
  • 10,791 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands (AKA: Holland)
  • Projects:RC Mod + SEE + RTS Engine
  •  The Dangerous T3A Team Chamber Member
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A Staff

Posted 31 January 2010 - 09:47 PM

Not me no...
But RB found a problem/glitch that i see he has not reported here... :p
You can use blink to teleport through the entire map... which kinda ruins the fun...
Also he can blink to some "black" areas ;) (supposed to be areas of nothing...) Make it impassible.. or remove blink ;) :mellow:
At least thats what i would suggest ;)

Are they playing it via BFME 2 or via some mod? the mod could cause the problems...
are they using the correct version of bfme 2? ...not rotwk... ;)

Edited by Ridder Geel, 31 January 2010 - 09:48 PM.

Ridder Geel

#68 Crusard

Crusard

    Local n00b

  • Project Team
  • 483 posts
  • Location:Buenos Aires, Argentina
  • Projects:Crusard's Tower Defense
  •  Poor feedback kills mapper.

Posted 01 February 2010 - 12:08 AM

They say it's vanilla bfme with latest patch, strange :S
And I *really* thought I had removed blink via scripting! It's a very evil ability on a map like this, will look into it now and make a hotfix if needed ^^

Posted Image


#69 M.Ruud

M.Ruud
  • Members
  • 111 posts

Posted 01 February 2010 - 03:07 PM

Just AWESOME!
Good work :p

Posted Image


#70 Bart

Bart

  • Network Leaders
  • 8,524 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Network Leader

Posted 13 February 2010 - 05:34 PM

I'm playing it now, but the beginning is faaar too hard.
bartvh | Join me, make your signature small!
Einstein: "We can’t solve problems by using the same kind of thinking we used when we created them."

#71 Masterbadeend

Masterbadeend

    Yellow_Pete

  • Project Team
  • 797 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Projects:RCMOD
  •  Mapper @ the RCMOD

Posted 13 February 2010 - 06:01 PM

It isn't, I got out of there alive with my first attempt.
Maybe try another CAH :p.

Posted Image
Posted Image
Thanks to MirkwoordArcher for this great signature and the lovely duck.
Posted Image


#72 Bart

Bart

  • Network Leaders
  • 8,524 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Network Leader

Posted 13 February 2010 - 06:24 PM

Let me correct myself, not only the beginning is hard, the whole map is. Respawns should be much less expensive or even better, free. I'm afraid though I can't play it like this. Such a waste of an otherwise good adventure, because other than that it's great, very very well done. Nice attention to detail, too bad you're so limited by what BFME can do (even though you're stretching it a lot). I'm curious to see what you'd make if you had total freedom.

As a side note, the instructions aren't very clear on what level to set AI players to and what faction to give them. Probably doesn't matter, but it would help if they said that then.

(Also my Worldbuilder crashes if I open the map, trying to make it easier myself)
bartvh | Join me, make your signature small!
Einstein: "We can’t solve problems by using the same kind of thinking we used when we created them."

#73 Masterbadeend

Masterbadeend

    Yellow_Pete

  • Project Team
  • 797 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Projects:RCMOD
  •  Mapper @ the RCMOD

Posted 13 February 2010 - 10:49 PM

What do you mean with crashing, what message does it give (I think you forgot to rename the map.str)?
I have no idea what your modding skills are, but you have to visit the map.ini if you want to make it easier ^_^.

Posted Image
Posted Image
Thanks to MirkwoordArcher for this great signature and the lovely duck.
Posted Image


#74 Crusard

Crusard

    Local n00b

  • Project Team
  • 483 posts
  • Location:Buenos Aires, Argentina
  • Projects:Crusard's Tower Defense
  •  Poor feedback kills mapper.

Posted 13 February 2010 - 11:05 PM

I have no idea what your modding skills are, but you have to visit the map.ini if you want to make it easier ^_^.


Exactly! Most enemy weapon damages have been increased through map.ini
The reason I wanted to make the map hard as it is, is because there are already many impossible-to-lose create-a-hero maps (As if CaHs weren't overpowered enough :p) and I wanted players to try hard and play smart to win this one, rather than level in two seconds and kill everything with their tornadoes.

I know that most players will find it annoying (and are not used to hardcore tournament matches) so that's why I split the map in three parts. You should play them separately just in case you get wiped out and don't want to restart all the map from start ^^

Posted Image


#75 Bart

Bart

  • Network Leaders
  • 8,524 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Network Leader

Posted 13 February 2010 - 11:59 PM

Exactly! Most enemy weapon damages have been increased through map.ini

Actually I was trying to change only the cost of respawning which is not in the map.ini (at least not when I searched for "1500").

The reason I wanted to make the map hard as it is, is because there are already many impossible-to-lose create-a-hero maps (As if CaHs weren't overpowered enough tongue.gif) and I wanted players to try hard and play smart to win this one, rather than level in two seconds and kill everything with their tornadoes.

If you get overwhelmed by groups of goblins all the time you can't win no matter how smart you play. There's also such a thing as a middle ground ^_^
bartvh | Join me, make your signature small!
Einstein: "We can’t solve problems by using the same kind of thinking we used when we created them."

#76 Danthemanb

Danthemanb
  • New Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 20 April 2010 - 08:05 PM

I added it but I don't know how to play it! (see post HELP!)




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users