Jump to content


Photo

Living World Map


  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 Mouth of Sauron

Mouth of Sauron

    title available

  • Members
  • 252 posts
  • Location:Barad-Dûr

Posted 26 January 2010 - 03:22 PM

Greetings,

anybody tried to implement the New RotWK Living Map by robnkarla ?

For those who like to play the WotR, this seems to be something like a dream...

I have opened the w3d files in w3d viewer to get a general idea about how this should work, and it does not seem to be generally too complicated. The living world map gets here new division into regions and these regions have to be properly coded in livingworldregions.inc and used in the scenario file... nothing more I guess :p

Region Amon_Sul
DisplayName = LW:DisplayNameAmonSul
ConqueredNotice = APT:LivingWorldRegionTakenNotice

MapName = "MAP WOR ANG Amon Sul"
SkirmishStillImage = WOR_Amon_Sul_Loadscreen
SkirmishMusicTrack = Shell2MusicForLoadScreen

SubObject = Amon_Sul
RegionPortrait = LWPAmonSul

;ResourceBonus = 0
LegendaryBonus = 10
;AttackBonus = 0
;DefenseBonus = 5
;ExperienceBonus = 0
;FertileTerritoryBonus = FERTILE_TERRITORY_BONUS


ConnectsTo =
Connection
Region = Rhudaur
End
Connection
Region = Lostriand
End
Connection
Region = Buckland ; North Downs
End
Connection
Region = Barrow_Downs
End


CustomCenterPoint = Yes
CenterPoint = X:-260 Y:1400


HeroArmySpot = X:-400 Y:1480
HeroArmySpot = X:-260 Y:1515
HeroArmySpot = X:-210 Y:1310
HeroArmySpot = X:-340 Y:1460
GarrisonArmySpot = X:-340 Y:1310
BuildingSpot = X:-160 Y:1400
BuildingSpot = X:-400 Y:1400


CPLimit = 480
AllyCPLimit = 360


FortressPortrait = BPCAmonSul
FortressDisplayName = LW:DisplayNameAmonSulCastle
FortressDisplayDescription = CONTROLBAR:LW_ToolTip_GenericStronghold

RestrictBuildings
Buildings = Fortress
NumberAllowed = 0
End

RestrictBuildings
Buildings = Barracks
NumberAllowed = 2
End
End


The MapName gives the map that will be used for tactical battle, SubObject refers to the w3d lmr_border (and others) file subobject that contains the region, the main problem I would see is the coordinates... I guess I can choose the ones I would like to use by simply opening the w3d file in RenX... ? my problem is that when I try to import rj1_border.w3d RenX says 'RunTime error: Out of scripter memory - use options to increase...' I don't see 'options' and I don't see scripter memory in 'preferences'

MoS

#2 Mouth of Sauron

Mouth of Sauron

    title available

  • Members
  • 252 posts
  • Location:Barad-Dûr

Posted 26 January 2010 - 04:09 PM

Ok... I will google first next time :)

the solution was to load the Listener window and increasing the memory by typing "heapsize += 10000000"

Now I will see what I can do with the code of the regions. My intention is to use the existing RotWK WOR maps for those regions that need a new or BFME1 map, and to add these later, I suppose there is no problem to have, for example, 5 regions with the same skirmish map, right ?

MoS

#3 Mouth of Sauron

Mouth of Sauron

    title available

  • Members
  • 252 posts
  • Location:Barad-Dûr

Posted 09 February 2010 - 02:27 PM

Tired by the nasty house colours that make the map soon look like a circus chessboard ?

Welcome back to the Middle-Earth... green forests, blue rivers, grey mountains, brown plains are back, no borders, no territory colour change unless you choose one :



...and it was sooo easy, a few things just commented out and some changed in the livingworldregioneffects.ini, livingworldbuildploticons.ini, livingworldbuildingicons.ini and in the army icons... yes, the orientation is now a little but more difficult... I do not care :p

I have also rescaled teh LW buildings... will try to make them even smaller :xcahik_:

MoS

Edited by Mouth of Sauron, 09 February 2010 - 02:41 PM.


#4 Mouth of Sauron

Mouth of Sauron

    title available

  • Members
  • 252 posts
  • Location:Barad-Dûr

Posted 10 February 2010 - 01:07 PM

Is there a way to hide subobjects of the livingmap.w3d ? the IMPASSABLE.. things ? ...or do I have to edit the model and find the appropriate settings for the clouds, water, shores, etc., to re-export it... :rolleyes:

MoS

Edited by Mouth of Sauron, 10 February 2010 - 01:07 PM.


#5 Devon

Devon

    Dark Nerd of the Sith

  • Global Moderators
  • 5,886 posts
  • Location:Colbert Nation
  • Projects:RJ RotWK, Twilight of the Republic, HDLH
  •  T3A Chamber Member
  • Division:Community
  • Job:Global Moderator
  • Donated

Posted 10 February 2010 - 07:30 PM

Ah, I've wanted to see house colors removed in LWM for a long time. Nice job! :rolleyes:

yodasig2.png
My political compass
There's a story that the grass is so green...what did I see? Where have I been?


#6 Mouth of Sauron

Mouth of Sauron

    title available

  • Members
  • 252 posts
  • Location:Barad-Dûr

Posted 11 February 2010 - 08:23 AM

Yes, and it really is easy to do that. The IMPASSABLE subobjects however are extremely difficult to remove, I am afraid, only by editing the livingmap.w3d, and this one seems to me to be very complex... clouds, lava, coast, I will try later, with Nertea's tutorial, a challenging project for me...

On the contrary it is easy to add things to the map, so I have the BFME1 Golden Hall of Edoras back... if I am doing a new living map without the impassable shade, I might also try to do something about Minas Morgul, and make Cirith Ungol much smaller - but this already needs re-export...

Anybody would join me to form a little team to do this ? I have RenX, I am not sure if it will be able to re-export the map with exactly the same visual effects the original map has. ...and maybe it is rather simple for an experienced modeller?

MoS

Edited by Mouth of Sauron, 11 February 2010 - 08:24 AM.


#7 Nertea

Nertea

    ...lo sa raptor!

  • Hosted
  • 3,349 posts
  • Location:Vancouver, Canada
  • Projects:Star Villains and Space heroes, The Dwarf Holds
  •  T3A Chamber Member
  • Division:BFME/Unity

Posted 11 February 2010 - 04:24 PM

and maybe it is rather simple for an experienced modeller?


Nope! :rolleyes:

If I knew more about the structure of the BFME2 map I might be able to help. As it is, I'd hazard a guess that if you can find the texture file for the impassable regions, you might be able to modify it (via colour or alpha channel) to show as transparent. It depends on the export settings used.

sig.png
I really don't do requests and my Arnor Soldier is not fit for BFME. Don't ask me for either.


#8 Mouth of Sauron

Mouth of Sauron

    title available

  • Members
  • 252 posts
  • Location:Barad-Dûr

Posted 11 February 2010 - 05:23 PM

That was the first thing I was looking for when I realized they cannot be hidden by coding (at least I do not know how). The problem is that these subobjects do not have any texture (asset.dat confirms this information)... they just add a sort of shade to the inaccessible regions.

I have tried to work a bit on the LW Minas Morgul... it is not perfect, as I was unable to use the models of the real Minas Morgul except for the mbmmtowercin.w3d model that actually does not show any effect and has uv map for the basic texture... at my level of understanding of these things there is nothing more I can do, but I learn...



Resize the Cirith Ungol, add a better Minas Morgul and remove the IMPASSABLE subobjects, that's what would be nice to do...

MoS

#9 Nertea

Nertea

    ...lo sa raptor!

  • Hosted
  • 3,349 posts
  • Location:Vancouver, Canada
  • Projects:Star Villains and Space heroes, The Dwarf Holds
  •  T3A Chamber Member
  • Division:BFME/Unity

Posted 11 February 2010 - 07:49 PM

Idea: Define the subjects as regions in livingworldregions.ini, then disable them in the campaign scenario definitions? Only works if they're part of the regioons w3d though.

sig.png
I really don't do requests and my Arnor Soldier is not fit for BFME. Don't ask me for either.


#10 Mouth of Sauron

Mouth of Sauron

    title available

  • Members
  • 252 posts
  • Location:Barad-Dûr

Posted 11 February 2010 - 08:14 PM

They are not... :rolleyes:

I think really that the only way to remove this is to edit and fully re-export the entire map...

MoS

#11 Mouth of Sauron

Mouth of Sauron

    title available

  • Members
  • 252 posts
  • Location:Barad-Dûr

Posted 12 February 2010 - 08:58 AM

This lw fellbeast offset make the original Minas Tirith Fellbeast1 scout above the Dead Marshes and the Black Gate :

x:1750 Y:600 Z:150

:p

#12 Mouth of Sauron

Mouth of Sauron

    title available

  • Members
  • 252 posts
  • Location:Barad-Dûr

Posted 12 February 2010 - 02:07 PM

Hmmm, tell me if I am wrong, but it is not possible to fully edit and re-export the BFME 2 ROTWK living world map because we encounter here the problem of the new w3d files that the importer does not handle correctly ?

The Asset Builder says, when I view the original livingmap.w3d, that the subobjects AMONSUL_FORTRESS or LM_EREBOR or LM_CARNDUM or WATER do not have any textures, but the fortresses positively do have textures... in RenX these look different than the others - with no texture applied they are colored. These fortress subobjects actually show the same problem I had with editing the Minas Morgul parts when I was trying to use them in lw...

Please, tell me that I am wrong... :p

MoS

Edited by Mouth of Sauron, 12 February 2010 - 02:29 PM.


#13 Ouranos

Ouranos
  • Members
  • 61 posts
  • Projects:The Battle for Alagaësia

Posted 13 February 2010 - 07:50 AM

There is a way to fix this but it is a bit complicated. Try this:
Retain textures when importing for BFME2 models

#14 Mouth of Sauron

Mouth of Sauron

    title available

  • Members
  • 252 posts
  • Location:Barad-Dûr

Posted 13 February 2010 - 11:20 AM

Interesting... I was trying something by hex editing the livingmap.w3d also, but it was nothing more than trial and error... because what I actually want is not to reskin or re-export the w3d, I would be happy with removing some subobjects from it, with no change for the others. But obviously, being totally ignorant in hex editing, I either ended up with an unreadable w3d or the entire map was disarranged.

MoS

#15 vonfrank

vonfrank
  • Members
  • 16 posts

Posted 18 February 2010 - 09:15 PM

I am trying to edit the living world map too, but i dont know what w3d files i need to modify to add a new area

do i hvae to change:
lmr_border, lmr_fill, lmr_seledge, lmr_edge, lmr_highlight, ????

which ones, or all of them?

#16 Mouth of Sauron

Mouth of Sauron

    title available

  • Members
  • 252 posts
  • Location:Barad-Dûr

Posted 18 February 2010 - 09:22 PM

All of them, yes, if you mean you want to add a new territory; at least you need to modify those you want to use in livingworldregioneffects.ini

MoS

#17 vonfrank

vonfrank
  • Members
  • 16 posts

Posted 18 February 2010 - 09:31 PM

yes add a new territory

i was going to start off by taking a chunk of Gondor and making Lebennin and Anfalas out of it

i figured out how to divide the Gondor region into 3 sections in the lmr_fill.w3d file (as you can see in the attachment), but what else do i have to do

Attached Files

  • Attached File  map.bmp   3.75MB   216 downloads

Edited by vonfrank, 18 February 2010 - 09:34 PM.


#18 Mouth of Sauron

Mouth of Sauron

    title available

  • Members
  • 252 posts
  • Location:Barad-Dûr

Posted 18 February 2010 - 10:20 PM

I don't know, I didn't try to change these files as I am rather 0 in modelling... did you download the RJ map ?

J.

#19 vonfrank

vonfrank
  • Members
  • 16 posts

Posted 18 February 2010 - 10:27 PM

yeah, but when i try to add them to the w3d file and then save it, it says "OUT OF MEMORY"

#20 Mouth of Sauron

Mouth of Sauron

    title available

  • Members
  • 252 posts
  • Location:Barad-Dûr

Posted 18 February 2010 - 11:23 PM

I don't mean to use it to modify the files... it is ready to be imported to the game, by coding it in livingworldregions.inc (under the campaigns/common folder)

MoS




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users