Jump to content


Photo

Map Bugs


  • Please log in to reply
66 replies to this topic

#21 njm1983

njm1983

    title available

  • Project Team
  • 2,861 posts
  • Location:Orangevale, California USA

Posted 19 April 2010 - 11:54 PM

Im not sure if this is something that you guys just havent gotten too yet but I figured Id post:

Blue Mountains: Erebor AI in the fortress didnt do squat. the units went around and built mines on resource plots but thats it. Im guessing its the same on all fortress maps.

#22 _Haldir_

_Haldir_

    Mapper

  • Project Team
  • 1,181 posts
  • Location:Australia
  • Projects:The Dwarf Holds, The Elven Alliance: Community Edition
  •  T3A Team Chamber Member

Posted 20 April 2010 - 01:58 AM

Im guessing its the same on all fortress maps.


Indeed it is. I'm not sure that anyone has ever worked out how to make the AI to use fortress buildplots :p

Posted Image Posted Image


#23 m@tt

m@tt

    #######

  • Project Team
  • 4,056 posts
  • Location:England
  • Projects:The Dwarf Holds
  •  T3A Chamber Member

Posted 20 April 2010 - 08:42 AM

Well it is possible, but it's a pain and ends up more a set of starting scripts rather than actual intelligence. See Minas Tirith from the evil campaign.
Posted Image

#24 Spartan184

Spartan184

    :)

  • Project Team
  • 1,591 posts
  • Location:Moon
  • Projects:Random Modding Projects
  •  Coder, Map.ini Coder, Mapper, and Beta Tester

Posted 21 April 2010 - 03:42 AM

Not really a bug, but there is shadows enabled on all of _Haldir_ maps even though I have then disabled. I run on custom graphics and disable them but they still show and I personally think they are useless, cause lag and are ugly. So is their anyway to take them off?


 

safsignature.png

 


#25 MrBlack103

MrBlack103
  • Members
  • 41 posts

Posted 21 April 2010 - 06:43 AM

I've had this same problem. You can do a quick fix of this simply by re-confirming your settings after leaving the game. A bit annoying having to do this, though :p

#26 Taralom

Taralom

    Self-proclaimed A**hole

  • Project Team
  • 1,519 posts
  • Location:Not here
  • Projects:Turned to Writing
  •  I R GOOGL'd

Posted 08 May 2010 - 03:33 PM

The Minas Tirith gate is targetable by Haradrim Skirmishers.
If the above post offended you in any way,
please take note that, until further notice, I don't care, so get lost.

#27 m@tt

m@tt

    #######

  • Project Team
  • 4,056 posts
  • Location:England
  • Projects:The Dwarf Holds
  •  T3A Chamber Member

Posted 08 May 2010 - 04:29 PM

If it's just Harad Skirmishers then post it in the general bugs thread. Can they attack regular gates?
Posted Image

#28 Nertea

Nertea

    ...lo sa raptor!

  • Hosted
  • 3,349 posts
  • Location:Vancouver, Canada
  • Projects:Star Villains and Space heroes, The Dwarf Holds
  •  T3A Chamber Member
  • Division:BFME/Unity

Posted 08 May 2010 - 05:36 PM

Mmm yeah, hadn't considered that - poison arrows do Magic type damage, which will allow them to attack gates. I'll change it to slash or something.

sig.png
I really don't do requests and my Arnor Soldier is not fit for BFME. Don't ask me for either.


#29 Yarrum

Yarrum

    Kahuna

  • Project Team
  • 461 posts
  • Location:New York City

Posted 21 August 2010 - 08:02 PM

The gate in Dol Amroth can be fired through.

KotW%20Left%20Morgul%20Banner.jpg
KotW Beta Tester
frodo_sam.jpg


#30 MrBlack103

MrBlack103
  • Members
  • 41 posts

Posted 30 November 2010 - 11:16 PM

Wow, haven't been here in ages, but I was playing TDH the other day and ran across this. On the Minas Tirith map, the outpost on the far right is so far right that you can't select the far right build plot on it (hmmm need to find another term for 'far right' :p). Changing the borders of the map or simply moving the outpost a bit to the left should easily fix this issue. Right now I can only build two structures there :)

#31 zephyr23

zephyr23
  • Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 26 May 2011 - 11:01 PM

Found a few map bugs in 0.551:

Isengard: bottom right camp area is not flat; makes a Gondor camp wall walkable through

there is an impassable area between the 2 outer camps that is not defined with rocks etc

the dam and scaffolding can be targeted by an Isengard player outside or a Mordor player inside


Swanfleet: the top of the waterfall needs to be adjusted (can see sharp edges to the water boundary)

Carrock: it would look nicer if the river boundaries were disguised with stones etc

Evendim: some objects can be seen outside the map boundary

Vales of Celduin/East Osgiliath: units cannnot evacuate all ruined towers (there are pathing problems to some of the towers)

Rohan cannot build Entmoots on many of the maps (including Helms Deep); these maps need EconomyPlotFlagMultiplayer rather than EconomyPlotFlag for settlements. It might be a good idea to replace one of the plots inside Helms Deep with an EconomyPlotFlagMultiplayer.

Its a brilliant mod, though, and I have really enjoyed playing it.

Edited by zephyr23, 01 June 2011 - 01:23 PM.


#32 Guest_Diogo_*

Guest_Diogo_*
  • Guests

Posted 26 August 2011 - 12:07 AM

Had some trouble with the east osgiliath map. At least one of the uruk beserk creeps in the map is unkilleable. I saw one anihilating my army of dwarves without loosing hp :p

#33 Guest_Onodrim_*

Guest_Onodrim_*
  • Guests

Posted 14 February 2012 - 12:50 AM

In the Dol Amroth map, there are some defensive tower plots on the third level, but there aren't any stairs that lead to the third level... So they're kinda invincible :p. Also there are some spots that units can shoot through the walls. The random fighting Gondor and Mordor units in East Osgiliath should be set to a different team then just SkirmishGondor/Mordor, because if you are Mordor or Gondor, they take up your CP, and the AI wastes their time trying to kill them. They're also invincible, which is ok, unless they start attacking your units (some managed to escape and attack my camp lol). And... I think that's about it. Awesome mod altogether, hope you manage to fix these few bugs before 0.75.

#34 _Haldir_

_Haldir_

    Mapper

  • Project Team
  • 1,181 posts
  • Location:Australia
  • Projects:The Dwarf Holds, The Elven Alliance: Community Edition
  •  T3A Team Chamber Member

Posted 14 February 2012 - 01:27 AM

Already been fixed :)

As far as Dol Amroth, i'm fairly sure i removed those towers. Or if not, you should be able to attack them with archers/siege weapons from the second level. Or flying units if you have them. The shooting through walls/gates isn't really fixable, but i've moved the towers and wall pieces around a bit to make it harder to do.

Posted Image Posted Image


#35 Guest_Onodrim_*

Guest_Onodrim_*
  • Guests

Posted 14 February 2012 - 02:55 AM

Only two factions have flying units though... But if archers/siege can reach up there, then that's not a problem.

#36 Guest_Onodrim_*

Guest_Onodrim_*
  • Guests

Posted 24 March 2012 - 03:10 PM

On the dwarves fortress, the dwarven in the fortress builds buildings, but not units.

#37 njm1983

njm1983

    title available

  • Project Team
  • 2,861 posts
  • Location:Orangevale, California USA

Posted 26 March 2012 - 12:44 AM

NOT A BUG, but I have a suggestion on how to correct the plots not showing on dwarrowdelf...

Instead of using the invisible terrain where the plots are, just use actual terrain and remove the ground objects. I think you just gotta play with it.

#38 _Haldir_

_Haldir_

    Mapper

  • Project Team
  • 1,181 posts
  • Location:Australia
  • Projects:The Dwarf Holds, The Elven Alliance: Community Edition
  •  T3A Team Chamber Member

Posted 27 March 2012 - 02:47 AM

NOT A BUG, but I have a suggestion on how to correct the plots not showing on dwarrowdelf...

Instead of using the invisible terrain where the plots are, just use actual terrain and remove the ground objects. I think you just gotta play with it.


Actually the Moria objects seem to have been made in such a way that they are always visible above the terrain in game. If you have a look at the map file in WB, all the floor/wall objects are actually 1 ft below the terrain, but it just doesn't show up that way whilst playing.

Posted Image Posted Image


#39 njm1983

njm1983

    title available

  • Project Team
  • 2,861 posts
  • Location:Orangevale, California USA

Posted 27 March 2012 - 04:03 AM

Yeah I've played with them before, and had similar issues on another map for rj mod. I actually think the plots don't show because the terrain is invisible.

I was thinking you could make slightly raised plateaus where the plot locations are and just use visible terrain with a dirt texture. Then just smothered the raised areas into the Moria objects, that way it just looks like.some.dirt has fallen and created a dirt pile over the stone floor.

I guess I could edit the map and show you....

#40 m@tt

m@tt

    #######

  • Project Team
  • 4,056 posts
  • Location:England
  • Projects:The Dwarf Holds
  •  T3A Chamber Member

Posted 27 March 2012 - 06:31 PM

The annoying thing with Dwarrowdelf is that I'm sure I got the plots working correctly with a map.ini hack. No idea what I did though.
Posted Image




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users