map.ini Help

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 PNGmangi

PNGmangi
  • Members
  • 35 posts

Posted 15 April 2010 - 08:58 AM

Hey. I am new to this map.ini thing but from what I have read it can do stuff that I want it to like adding new powers to heroes, changing the plaintar powers and stuff like that. I read the tutorial but I am still so lost. Can someone please help? I have the program final BIG but I dont know how to use it. Even if you could point me to some tutorials would be great. Thanks

PNGmangi

#2 _Haldir_

_Haldir_

Mapper

• Project Team
  • 1,203 posts
  • Projects:The Dwarf Holds, The Elven Alliance: Community Edition
  •  T3A Team Chamber Member

Posted 15 April 2010 - 11:45 AM

Welcome to T3A :p

Map.ini's only work for a single map. Usually, for one that you've made yourself using Worldbuilder. The tutorial (i'm guessing you mean this one) should explain how to make a map.ini using a program like notepad. Once you have a map.ini file, you can add any code into the file, to change things like heroes, powers etc..

FinalBig is quite easy to use, just open it, and then open any .big file that you can find in the "The Battle for Middle-earth ™" folder. INI.big contains all the code for the game (which is probably what you want to look at for your map.ini :p). You can view any of the game's code in FinalBig, and use it to copy, paste or extract the ini files. Have another look at that map.ini tutorial for more detail on how to go about editing the code for a map.ini :p

If you want to change the game for more than just one map, you'll have to mod the game, which involves creating an entirely new .big file for your mod.

Here's a tutorial i wrote which includes a little bit on map.ini's
Have a look at the Coding Articles Section for more on code.

If you still have problems, ask in the BFME1 forums, or the Worldbuilder forums :p

Posted Image Posted Image

#3 PNGmangi

PNGmangi
  • Members
  • 35 posts