Jump to content


Photo

AI Clone Structures [Vanilla]


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Allied General

Allied General

    C&C Guild

  • Hosted
  • 6,922 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Projects:AGSA
  •  Modder

Posted 27 June 2010 - 09:58 AM

1. What is AI cloning?

AI cloning is when the AI has more than one factory and when it constructs a unit its gets another unit for free like the cloning vats but for any unit

2. Why should I let AI have cloning?

a. Makes AI harder to defeat by ofsetting the weaknesses of triggers
b. AI can produce more units in less time


3. Sample Code

[GAWEAP2] ;This must be listed under [BuildingTypes]
UIName=Name:GAWEAP
Name=Allied War Factory
Image=GAWEAP ;This is the image of the war factory clone
BuildCat=Tech
WeaponsFactory=yes
Prerequisite=PROC,GAPILE,GACNST
Factory=UnitType
DeployTime=.044
Strength=1000
Armor=wood
TechLevel=2
Sight=4
Adjacent=2
Owner=British,French,Germans,Americans,Alliance,Russians,Confederation,Africans,
Arabs,YuriCountry
AIBasePlanningSide=0
Cost=2000
Points=80
Power=-25
Capturable=false ;If is true you just get a factory and no new build options
Crewed=yes
Bib=yes
Explosion=TWLT070,S_BANG48,S_BRNL58,S_CLSN58,S_TUMU60
DebrisAnims=DBRIS1LG,DBRIS1SM,DBRIS2LG,DBRIS4LG,DBRIS4SM,DBRIS5LG,DBRIS5SM,DBRIS
6SM,DBRIS7LG,DBRIS7SM
MaxDebris=15
MinDebris=5
ThreatPosed=0
DamageParticleSystems=SparkSys,SmallGreySSys,BigGreySmokeSys
DamageSmokeOffset=408,880,435
AIBuildThis=yes ;obvious why?
ExitCoord=512,256,0
Spyable=yes
ImmuneToPsionics=no
NumberImpassableRows=1
BuildLimit=0 ;Stops it appearing in players build tab

4. Can human players clone [VehicleTypes]?

No

5. Why use BuildLimit=0 instead of TechLevel=-1?

1. Useful to control AI building if your modification has a Tech Slider.

6. Any side effects?

1. If you have clone factories and triggers for units with BuildLimit= i.e. two barracks and a hero, the AI can make multiple heroes but again this is a way to make the AI harder
Posted Image

#2 SMxReaver

SMxReaver

    Pro Gamer in Training

  • C&C Guild Staff
  • 399 posts
  • Location:United States, South Carolina
  • Projects:None ATM
  •  StarCraft 2
  • Division:C&C Guild
  • Job:Division Staff

Posted 27 June 2010 - 02:57 PM

I've never seen use of the BuildLimit=0 system for cloned structures. I've always gone with TechLevel=-1 as the AI still builds the structure.

#3 Allied General

Allied General

    C&C Guild

  • Hosted
  • 6,922 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Projects:AGSA
  •  Modder

Posted 27 June 2010 - 06:10 PM

I've never seen use of the BuildLimit=0 system for cloned structures. I've always gone with TechLevel=-1 as the AI still builds the structure.


Useful if your mod uses tech slider e.g. TS/FS or NPatch/Ares feature
Posted Image

#4 Mig Eater

Mig Eater

    5700 vxl files & counting...

  • Undead
  • 5,833 posts
  • Location:Eindhoven
  • Projects:D-Day
  •  Teh workaholic

Posted 28 June 2010 - 06:04 AM

Second... I just use tech -1 too, I'll change it to this way later :p


Posted Image
Posted Image


#5 Apollo

Apollo

    The bringer of doom

  • Hosted
  • 3,467 posts
  • Location:Core of Nexus
  • Projects:Robot Storm, Project Phantom
  •  1337 Modder

Posted 28 June 2010 - 06:23 AM

Yeah we all used to...BuildLimit=0 is just tad more convenient coding wise but maybe its trivial in the end as long as main goal is same :p
Posted Image

EAApoc wrote:
The only written law in a C&C game I ever saw is please Mr.Developer make it fun and give me a lot of **** to explode, o and don't you ever get another soul to play Kane but Joe Kucan. Aside from those two rules, all bets are off =) hehe
-APOC

#6 DCoder

DCoder

    One of the Few

  • Members
  • 331 posts
  • Location:Lithuania, Central Europe
  •  Old Grumpy Bastard

Posted 28 June 2010 - 01:23 PM

BuildLimit=0 kinda flies in the face of Ares's ability to enforce AI Build Limits. Can you come up with a different idea? We could add [BUILDING]AIBuildThisAmount=1,1,2 ;e,m,h on the normal structures and discard this dicking around. Or reuse the old WarfacLimit/WarfacRatio logic from the past (I'm not wild about this)?

Edited by DCoder, 28 June 2010 - 01:25 PM.

Ares - How do you want to improve YR today?
What's stopping you from migrating to Ares? We can't implement it unless you tell us!

ModEnc - C&C Modding Encyclopedia | Modders' Quote Database | Yet Another C&C Modding Forum

#7 Allied General

Allied General

    C&C Guild

  • Hosted
  • 6,922 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Projects:AGSA
  •  Modder

Posted 28 June 2010 - 01:26 PM

Thinking about it a General tag like AIExtraWarFactories= like AIExtraRefineries= could work as well or structure specific as mention.

Of course this tutorial does not take into account DLL enhancement apps otherwise I would have stated [Ares] etc before posting.

Also as with anyone using hacks or DLL enhancements the user should check documentation to see if this feature is part of Ares or whatever.
Posted Image

#8 Apollo

Apollo

    The bringer of doom

  • Hosted
  • 3,467 posts
  • Location:Core of Nexus
  • Projects:Robot Storm, Project Phantom
  •  1337 Modder

Posted 29 June 2010 - 08:50 AM

Structure specific would be nicest for ultimate control but admittedly dicking around with base construction is generally full of pits...
Posted Image

EAApoc wrote:
The only written law in a C&C game I ever saw is please Mr.Developer make it fun and give me a lot of **** to explode, o and don't you ever get another soul to play Kane but Joe Kucan. Aside from those two rules, all bets are off =) hehe
-APOC




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users