Jump to content


Photo

Tree Transparency


  • Please log in to reply
44 replies to this topic

#21 Ridder Geel

Ridder Geel

    Master Yelloh

  • T3A Staff
  • 10,852 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands (AKA: Holland)
  • Projects:RC Mod + SEE + RTS Engine
  •  The Dangerous T3A Team Chamber Member
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A Staff

Posted 30 March 2013 - 12:22 PM

Well my code up there should remove the module_tag1's draw fading... Can you post the code of the tree that is fading here? :)


Ridder Geel

#22 Fudge

Fudge

    title available

  • Project Team
  • 531 posts
  • Location:Devon, England
  • Projects:Luckily AotR Mapping

Posted 30 March 2013 - 01:51 PM

Hopefully this is of use



;------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 
 
ObjectReskin TreeF01 GenericHarvestOnlyOptimizedTree
 
  ; *** ART Parameters ***
  Draw               = W3DTreeDraw ModuleTag_Opt_01
    ModelName = FPTree01
    TextureName = FPTree01.tga
 
    DoTopple         = Yes
    ToppleFX         = FX_ToppleTree
    BounceFX         = FX_TreeBounce
    KillWhenFinishedToppling = No
    SinkDistance     = 9;
    SinkTime         = 20000;  20 seconds.
    TaintedTree     = Yes
    FadeDistance     = 270
    FadeTarget       = 100
  End
  Draw                  = W3DScriptedModelDraw ModuleTag_01
    DefaultModelConditionState
      Model             = FPTree01
    End
 
 
    ModelConditionState = PASSENGER CLUB
      Model = None
    End
 
    ModelConditionState = PASSENGER
      Model             = FPTree01
    End
 
    AnimationState = PASSENGER CLUB
      EnteringStateFX = FX_TreeBecomeClub
    End
 
    AnimationState = PASSENGER
      EnteringStateFX = FX_TreePickUp
    End
    
    ; These are the model conditions and animation states required for trees that can burn.  
    ModelConditionState = BURNED
      Model = FPTree01D2 ; use default nondeath model in place of this.
    End
 
    AnimationState   = AFLAME ;Currently on fire
 ParticleSysBone     = None FireTreeLarge 
 ParticleSysBone     = None TreeEmbers 
    End
 
    AnimationState   = DYING  ;Currently on fire
 ParticleSysBone     = None FireTreeLarge 
 ParticleSysBone     = None TreeEmbers 
    End
 
    AnimationState   = BURNED ;Currently on fire
 ParticleSysBone     = None FireTreeLarge 
 ParticleSysBone     = None TreeEmbers 
    End
    ; End of stuff required for burn.  
 
  End
 
; Geometry            = CYLINDER
; GeometryIsSmall     = Yes
; GeometryMajorRadius = 4.0
; GeometryHeight      = 15
  
End


#23 Ridder Geel

Ridder Geel

    Master Yelloh

  • T3A Staff
  • 10,852 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands (AKA: Holland)
  • Projects:RC Mod + SEE + RTS Engine
  •  The Dangerous T3A Team Chamber Member
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A Staff

Posted 30 March 2013 - 09:27 PM

So in your map.ini you replaced the w3d tree draw module that contains the:

    FadeDistance     = 270
    FadeTarget       = 100
with one without?

Ridder Geel

#24 Fudge

Fudge

    title available

  • Project Team
  • 531 posts
  • Location:Devon, England
  • Projects:Luckily AotR Mapping

Posted 31 March 2013 - 10:46 AM

No the code I posted before is from the games default INI which I haven't edited, my map ini looks like this 
 

;------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Object TreeF01
 ; *** ART Parameters ***
 ReplaceModule ModuleTag_01
  Draw                  = W3DScriptedModelDraw ModuleTag_01_New
 
  StaticModelLODMode = yes
 
 
    DefaultModelConditionState
      Model             = SB_Tree04
    End
 
    ModelConditionState = PASSENGER CLUB
      Model = None
    End
 
    AnimationState = PASSENGER CLUB
      EnteringStateFX = FX_TreeBecomeClub
    End
 
    AnimationState = PASSENGER
      EnteringStateFX = FX_TreePickUp
    End
    
    ; These are the model conditions and animation states required for trees that can burn.  
    ModelConditionState = BURNED
      Model = SB_Tree04 ; use default nondeath model in place of this.
    End
 
    AnimationState   = AFLAME ;Currently on fire
      ParticleSysBone     = None FireTreeSmall
      ParticleSysBone     = None TreeEmbers
    End
 
    AnimationState   = DYING BURNED ;Currently on fire
      ParticleSysBone     = None FireTreeSmall
      ParticleSysBone     = None TreeEmbers
    End
    ; End of stuff required for burn.  
 
  End
 End
End

Sorry if this is all arse backwards but I myself am confused.


#25 Ridder Geel

Ridder Geel

    Master Yelloh

  • T3A Staff
  • 10,852 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands (AKA: Holland)
  • Projects:RC Mod + SEE + RTS Engine
  •  The Dangerous T3A Team Chamber Member
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A Staff

Posted 01 April 2013 - 11:18 AM

My dear friend, you forgot to replace this module as well:

  Draw               = W3DTreeDraw ModuleTag_Opt_01
    ModelName = FPTree01
    TextureName = FPTree01.tga
 
    DoTopple         = Yes
    ToppleFX         = FX_ToppleTree
    BounceFX         = FX_TreeBounce
    KillWhenFinishedToppling = No
    SinkDistance     = 9;
    SinkTime         = 20000;  20 seconds.
    TaintedTree      = Yes
    FadeDistance     = 270
    FadeTarget       = 100
  End

As one can clearly see, it also has Fade parameters :)


Ridder Geel

#26 Fudge

Fudge

    title available

  • Project Team
  • 531 posts
  • Location:Devon, England
  • Projects:Luckily AotR Mapping

Posted 01 April 2013 - 02:08 PM

I really hate having to bother you further but I can't seem to implement this with out getting an error message saying that I'm trying to replace a w3d scripted module with a w3d tree module (Something along those lines), it's probably something blatantly obvious but I just can't get my head around it.



#27 Ridder Geel

Ridder Geel

    Master Yelloh

  • T3A Staff
  • 10,852 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands (AKA: Holland)
  • Projects:RC Mod + SEE + RTS Engine
  •  The Dangerous T3A Team Chamber Member
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A Staff

Posted 05 April 2013 - 08:34 PM

What does the map.ini (of the object) look like you have now?


Ridder Geel

#28 Fudge

Fudge

    title available

  • Project Team
  • 531 posts
  • Location:Devon, England
  • Projects:Luckily AotR Mapping

Posted 06 April 2013 - 06:28 PM

;------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Object TreeF01
 ; *** ART Parameters ***
 ReplaceModule ModuleTag_01
 Draw               = W3DTreeDraw ModuleTag_Opt_01
    ModelName = FPTree01
    TextureName = FPTree01.tga
 
    DoTopple         = Yes
    ToppleFX         = FX_ToppleTree
    BounceFX         = FX_TreeBounce
    KillWhenFinishedToppling = No
    SinkDistance     = 9;
    SinkTime         = 20000;  20 seconds.
    TaintedTree      = Yes
    FadeDistance     = 10
    FadeTarget       = 10
  End
End

Is the fade target the amount the object fades by?

Edited by Fudge, 06 April 2013 - 06:29 PM.


#29 Ridder Geel

Ridder Geel

    Master Yelloh

  • T3A Staff
  • 10,852 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands (AKA: Holland)
  • Projects:RC Mod + SEE + RTS Engine
  •  The Dangerous T3A Team Chamber Member
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A Staff

Posted 07 April 2013 - 11:30 AM

ModuleTag_01 should be ModuleTag_Opt_01

and the existing ModuleTag_Opt_01 should be ModuleTag_Opt_01_New :)

I guess its the percentage which the object fades by, but you would have to test that ;)


Ridder Geel

#30 Fudge

Fudge

    title available

  • Project Team
  • 531 posts
  • Location:Devon, England
  • Projects:Luckily AotR Mapping

Posted 07 April 2013 - 05:17 PM

Thanks for that but it's still not working as the trees aren't even appearing in game no matter what I change the fade distance and target to.

Here's what I've got in the map.ini right now
 

;------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 Object TreeF01
  ; *** ART Parameters ***
ReplaceModule ModuleTag_Opt_01
  Draw               = W3DTreeDraw ModuleTag_Opt_01_NEW
    ModelName = FPTree01
    TextureName = FPTree01.tga
 
    DoTopple         = Yes
    ToppleFX         = FX_ToppleTree
    BounceFX         = FX_TreeBounce
    KillWhenFinishedToppling = No
    SinkDistance     = 9;
    SinkTime         = 20000;  20 seconds.
    TaintedTree     = Yes
    FadeDistance     = 270
    FadeTarget       = 100
  End
End
End

This has turned out to be really quite complicated, although that's due to my total lack of .ini knowledge


#31 Ridder Geel

Ridder Geel

    Master Yelloh

  • T3A Staff
  • 10,852 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands (AKA: Holland)
  • Projects:RC Mod + SEE + RTS Engine
  •  The Dangerous T3A Team Chamber Member
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A Staff

Posted 07 April 2013 - 06:13 PM

Ok, I will see if i can make some time tonight to check this out through the use of worldbuilder and the likes... :p


Ridder Geel

#32 Ridder Geel

Ridder Geel

    Master Yelloh

  • T3A Staff
  • 10,852 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands (AKA: Holland)
  • Projects:RC Mod + SEE + RTS Engine
  •  The Dangerous T3A Team Chamber Member
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A Staff

Posted 08 April 2013 - 12:19 AM

What if you remove those parameters? I'm not getting a fading tree though, but this may be because i'm working with BFME2: ROTWK... (not sure which one ur workin with?)

(these)

    FadeDistance     = 270
    FadeTarget       = 100

Edited by Ridder Geel, 08 April 2013 - 12:20 AM.

Ridder Geel

#33 Fudge

Fudge

    title available

  • Project Team
  • 531 posts
  • Location:Devon, England
  • Projects:Luckily AotR Mapping

Posted 08 April 2013 - 07:18 AM

Tired it and the tree isn't appearing at all, I'm playing BFME 1.



#34 Fudge

Fudge

    title available

  • Project Team
  • 531 posts
  • Location:Devon, England
  • Projects:Luckily AotR Mapping

Posted 10 April 2013 - 10:02 AM

Anybody got any other ideas? Hate to be pushy but I suppose I'm eager to release my Fangorn map.



#35 Ridder Geel

Ridder Geel

    Master Yelloh

  • T3A Staff
  • 10,852 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands (AKA: Holland)
  • Projects:RC Mod + SEE + RTS Engine
  •  The Dangerous T3A Team Chamber Member
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A Staff

Posted 10 April 2013 - 04:52 PM

Do you need to be able to chop down the trees or not?


Ridder Geel

#36 Ridder Geel

Ridder Geel

    Master Yelloh

  • T3A Staff
  • 10,852 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands (AKA: Holland)
  • Projects:RC Mod + SEE + RTS Engine
  •  The Dangerous T3A Team Chamber Member
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A Staff

Posted 10 April 2013 - 05:11 PM

Oh hey, just looked in WB scripts, maybe this one (if it exists in bfme1) works for ya:

Unit -> settings -> Camera fading

Try disabling that, but you will have to do it for all the objects... do it on one to test with i'd say :)


Ridder Geel

#37 Fudge

Fudge

    title available

  • Project Team
  • 531 posts
  • Location:Devon, England
  • Projects:Luckily AotR Mapping

Posted 10 April 2013 - 06:35 PM

Tried that already but it still fades.



#38 Nertea

Nertea

    ...lo sa raptor!

  • Hosted
  • 3,349 posts
  • Location:Vancouver, Canada
  • Projects:Star Villains and Space heroes, The Dwarf Holds
  •  T3A Chamber Member
  • Division:BFME/Unity

Posted 10 April 2013 - 07:08 PM

Eh... not sure you can do this. The thing is that the fading is being done completely by the TreeDraw Module, which controls engine-drawing functions. What you might try is replacing the TreeDraw with one that draws nothing:

 

 

 

ReplaceModule ModuleTag_Opt_01
  Draw               = W3DTreeDraw ModuleTag_Opt_01_NEW
    ModelName  = NONE
    TextureName = NONE


    DoTopple         = Yes
    ToppleFX         = FX_ToppleTree
    BounceFX         = FX_TreeBounce
    KillWhenFinishedToppling = No
    SinkDistance     = 9;
    SinkTime         = 20000;  20 seconds.
    TaintedTree     = Yes
    FadeDistance     = 270
    FadeTarget       = 100
  End
End
End
 

 

Then just add a completely new W3DScriptedDraw module with the correct tree model... don't have BFME here so I can't give you the exact code (maybe RG can help). In theory this should cause the draw module to draw nothing with the tree effects, and draw the other one "normally" like you would with say, a unit model. 

 

Can't say it will work 100% though :p.

 

 


sig.png
I really don't do requests and my Arnor Soldier is not fit for BFME. Don't ask me for either.


#39 Ridder Geel

Ridder Geel

    Master Yelloh

  • T3A Staff
  • 10,852 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands (AKA: Holland)
  • Projects:RC Mod + SEE + RTS Engine
  •  The Dangerous T3A Team Chamber Member
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A Staff

Posted 10 April 2013 - 10:21 PM

That indeed was my last resort idea... (Since I'm not sure if ea used some sort of optimization for tree drawing)

Give me a few minutes and I'll put something together that might work :xd:

 

K try this, If it gives an error, remove the End, I'm not certain if it is required or not...

 

Object TreeF01

  ; *** ART Parameters ***
  RemoveModule ModuleTag_Opt_01
  End
  
End

 

This should force the object to render via the w3d draw...


Edited by Ridder Geel, 10 April 2013 - 10:40 PM.

Ridder Geel

#40 Fudge

Fudge

    title available

  • Project Team
  • 531 posts
  • Location:Devon, England
  • Projects:Luckily AotR Mapping

Posted 10 April 2013 - 10:52 PM

Unfortunately now it's not appearing at all, bloody trees!


Oh and no only one end was required.


Edited by Fudge, 10 April 2013 - 10:52 PM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users