• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Sir Shockwave

Sir Shockwave
  • Members
  • 9 posts
  • Projects:RA2 Subfactions Mod - Hopefully

Posted 21 August 2011 - 05:23 PM

The RA2 Subfactions Mod is something I've been attempting to work on for years. However, my years of working in TibEd have taken their toll a little (I only started coding RA2 by hand last year, but have caught up a little on it). So anyways, the Mod replaces the Country Specials system with a Subfaction System similar to Zero Hour/Kane's Wrath. Each subfaction has unique strengths and weaknesses, and play in similair style to their original faction.

FAQ

What will this Mod be for?

This is intended as a Red Alert 2 Yuri's Revenge mod.

Will this Mod use Ares?

We've already started taking advantage of the things offered by Ares. It is very likely this mod would not be possible without Ares as it is.

What is the current progress (at time of writing)?

I'll try updating this as often as I can, but for now know I have five of the six (three Allied, three Soviet) outlined. They are as follows:

Allies

Special Operations Command
The Allied SOC units specialize in disrupting and raiding - striking at critical points and effectively shutting down the map, before using Stolen weapons against their opponents to deliver the deathblow. They make up for their lack of a Vehicle Pool with a decent helping of Elite Infantry. Recommended for Players who value Skill, Guile and Cunning.

Airborne Battalion
These Battalions specialize in versatility and precision strikes. They have access to Paratroopers and a number of flavors of Death from Above, but have a weaker Ground game than most other factions. Recommended for Players who like Aircraft (duh), as well as those who enjoy outmaneuvering and outflanking the enemy.

FutureTech Battalion