Need help to get started (Copy)

• Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 Berethomb

Berethomb
  • Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 22 November 2011 - 08:53 PM

This is a copy of the text I wrote in the BFME Modding Jobs, Requests and Ideas forum before finding this part. I apologize for not seeing it in the first place.

I am completely new to modding, have never done it myself and know only a little as how to do so. But I want to learn. The problem is - where do I start? All I ask is for guidelines as to what I should learn and which modding tools I should use. Any recommendation is most welcome. Also I only want to mod ROTWK.

By the way, if anyone wonders what I want to start with when it comes to modding, I want to make it so that all ringwraiths can be built in ROTWK as HEROES at the fortress. I know it's been done in other mods, but as for now I only need to have all nine ringwraiths in my team at th same time and I think it's relatively easy to do, meaning it's a good place to start.

When I get better I hope to modify which abilities each ringwraith has. All ringwraiths should be built mounted with the Mount Steed ability and Morgul Blades (which hopefully also can be used on a horse), and at LV 3 they learn their Screech ability. However, at LV 5 they learn their Mount Dragon(?) ability, which makes them even stronger at that time. And if a ringwraith reaches LV 10, it can be "declared" as the Witch King and changes its appearance, meaning that once a ringwraith reaches LV 10 it can "evolve/ be upgraded" to the Witch King, making it een more powerful. Also, only one ringwraith should be able to become the Witch King. This is a lot of work, I know, but it's something I really want to do once I've become better at modding.