Jump to content


Photo

GAHHH! Framework!


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 Pasidon

Pasidon

    Splitting Hares

  • Network Admins
  • 8,915 posts
  • Location:Da Moon
  • Projects:YouTube
  •  Actual Celebrity
  • Division:Community
  • Job:Community Admin

Posted 12 February 2012 - 11:57 PM

I'm posting this everywhere and I DEMAND an solution as fast as possible before I break something.

When I install Windows .net Framework 3.5, it ultimately results with a "Setup Error" after it installs. No window pops up... it just simply states at the top of the setup "Setup error" and acts like everything installed correctly with an 'exit' button appearing after the installation is complete, and all. And no... it doesn't actually install after it is complete as I did check. I tried the Framework cleanup and that didn't seem to work... and I can't seem to find anymore fixes for this.

Oh, and I feel obligated to note that this isn't the first thing that doesn't install correctly for me... hardly anything works and my laptop constantly requires me to perform mundane tasks to force programs to work. I'm assuming this is a result of a string of poor design flaws in my laptop...

I should have done this when I got my laptop, but now it's just hair-rippingly annoying since I can't run Solar 2 and that is U N A C C E P T A B L E for the money I paid... for both the game and my laptop. Console gaming +5,000,000 points for me. Please help as soon as possible... I can't do crap without my Framework.

YT_Sig.jpgoutput_Fkd6it.gifFB_Sig.jpg


#2 Pasidon

Pasidon

    Splitting Hares

  • Network Admins
  • 8,915 posts
  • Location:Da Moon
  • Projects:YouTube
  •  Actual Celebrity
  • Division:Community
  • Job:Community Admin

Posted 13 February 2012 - 07:10 AM

Well thanks to no one across the internet since I got a maximum of 0 replies... but I actually managed to Sherlock the crap out of the problem and fix it myself! I'm psyched that I managed such a thing. Curse you, duplicate files! But Obviously, I ran into YET ANOTHER ISSUE... time for another mundane task for Pasidon that I doubt no one can help with...

YT_Sig.jpgoutput_Fkd6it.gifFB_Sig.jpg


#3 duke_Qa

duke_Qa

    I've had this avatar since... 2003?

  • Network Staff
  • 3,837 posts
  • Location:Norway
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Artist

Posted 13 February 2012 - 04:58 PM

"Run as administrator" is all I can guess at.(right-click action on exe's and the likes)

Besides that, being competent in PC support makes you attractive among the ladies :rolleyes:. Telling them "your ring is 3/4th red, so we must send it in for repairs" makes most people cringe.

"I give you private information on corporations for free and I'm a villain. Mark Zuckerberg gives your private information to corporations for money and he's 'Man of the Year.'" - Assange


#4 Pasidon

Pasidon

    Splitting Hares

  • Network Admins
  • 8,915 posts
  • Location:Da Moon
  • Projects:YouTube
  •  Actual Celebrity
  • Division:Community
  • Job:Community Admin

Posted 13 February 2012 - 05:39 PM

Not even the ring of deathly doom could match my constant fiddling mastery... although my last Red Ring fix resulted in an electrical fire.... but I'm beginning to have a Microsoft grudge... I really am. I always have minor 360 issues that get major and nonstop PC issues. I rarely install something error free. Enough to consider getting a Mac? Har! No... I'd rather deal with my sea of errors than a sea of incompatibility and uselessness.

But running as admin was the first thing I tried. Doesn't seem to be a administrator issue, for once.

Edited by {IP}Pasidon, 13 February 2012 - 05:40 PM.

YT_Sig.jpgoutput_Fkd6it.gifFB_Sig.jpg


#5 duke_Qa

duke_Qa

    I've had this avatar since... 2003?

  • Network Staff
  • 3,837 posts
  • Location:Norway
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Artist

Posted 13 February 2012 - 10:00 PM

My curse in life is crashing drives. Never had much problem with software. I also usually buy my computers for a high price and all at once, so I don't worry about installing new bits and pieces.

"I give you private information on corporations for free and I'm a villain. Mark Zuckerberg gives your private information to corporations for money and he's 'Man of the Year.'" - Assange


#6 Pasidon

Pasidon

    Splitting Hares

  • Network Admins
  • 8,915 posts
  • Location:Da Moon
  • Projects:YouTube
  •  Actual Celebrity
  • Division:Community
  • Job:Community Admin

Posted 13 February 2012 - 10:14 PM

Well still... in an age where George Jetson should exist, we are in fact still having to deal with shotty programming and hardware from the most basic of things. The .Net issue occurred because a multi-billion dollar company forgot to delete a useless folder from the software's original programming.

Update:

No one is answering me... I just need to know how to fix silent crashes...... I'm loosing my mind trying to figure it out alone....... I want a solution or a refund............. HELP... SOMEONE........

Edited by {IP}Pasidon, 14 February 2012 - 02:08 AM.

YT_Sig.jpgoutput_Fkd6it.gifFB_Sig.jpg


#7 duke_Qa

duke_Qa

    I've had this avatar since... 2003?

  • Network Staff
  • 3,837 posts
  • Location:Norway
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Artist

Posted 14 February 2012 - 08:58 AM

Silent crashes doesn't exactly tell me/us much. basic generic answers:

do a burn-in test of the pc to see if something stops there.
Do a memtest with a boot cd for a few hours to see if there's something wrong with your RAM,

"I give you private information on corporations for free and I'm a villain. Mark Zuckerberg gives your private information to corporations for money and he's 'Man of the Year.'" - Assange


#8 Pasidon

Pasidon

    Splitting Hares

  • Network Admins
  • 8,915 posts
  • Location:Da Moon
  • Projects:YouTube
  •  Actual Celebrity
  • Division:Community
  • Job:Community Admin

Posted 14 February 2012 - 10:48 PM

Erm... Dukie... before I start this burn test, can you say it's 100% reliable and won't in fact destroy my laptop? It concerns me when it warns me to back up my data before I start the test..........

YT_Sig.jpgoutput_Fkd6it.gifFB_Sig.jpg


#9 Phil

Phil

    Force Majeure

  • Network Leaders
  • 7,971 posts
  • Location:Switzerland
  • Projects:Revora, C&C:Online
  •  Thought Police
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Network Leader
  • Donated
  • Association

Posted 15 February 2012 - 12:49 AM

Surely you make regular backups of your data... right?!

revorapresident.jpg
My Political Compass

Sieben Elefanten hatte Herr Dschin
Und da war dann noch der achte.
Sieben waren wild und der achte war zahm
Und der achte war's, der sie bewachte.


#10 Pasidon

Pasidon

    Splitting Hares

  • Network Admins
  • 8,915 posts
  • Location:Da Moon
  • Projects:YouTube
  •  Actual Celebrity
  • Division:Community
  • Job:Community Admin

Posted 15 February 2012 - 02:36 AM

Once in awhile, but I'm still slightly concerned on ruining my laptop actually rather than the data loss part.

YT_Sig.jpgoutput_Fkd6it.gifFB_Sig.jpg


#11 duke_Qa

duke_Qa

    I've had this avatar since... 2003?

  • Network Staff
  • 3,837 posts
  • Location:Norway
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Artist

Posted 15 February 2012 - 02:25 PM

I've given up on backups, I just go mirror disks and keep everything custom and personal on that. although I do take backups now and then of documents and stuff, or have a cloud duplicate of it.

Beyond that, burnin-test is a high-pressure test of everything on the pc, it should in theory not be able to break something unless its already cracked. I wouldn't use it every day just for fun, since I guess high-activity pc's die faster than those that idle a lot.

Edited by duke_Qa, 15 February 2012 - 02:26 PM.

"I give you private information on corporations for free and I'm a villain. Mark Zuckerberg gives your private information to corporations for money and he's 'Man of the Year.'" - Assange


#12 Plokite_Wolf

Plokite_Wolf

    File hoarder

  • Members
  • 2,294 posts
  • Location:Split, Croatia
  •  Parce mihi, Domine, quia Dalmata sum.

Posted 15 February 2012 - 03:02 PM

Also, why .NET Framework 3.5 when there's a web installer for 4.0, completely compatible with the oldies? http://www.microsoft...s.aspx?id=17851

Edited by Plokite_Wolf, 15 February 2012 - 03:02 PM.

Administrator of CNCNZ.com and EVA Database, the C&C Wiki

You are also welcome to make use of my archives of official files:

C&C File Archive | BFME File Archive | Dune File Archive


#13 Pasidon

Pasidon

    Splitting Hares

  • Network Admins
  • 8,915 posts
  • Location:Da Moon
  • Projects:YouTube
  •  Actual Celebrity
  • Division:Community
  • Job:Community Admin

Posted 15 February 2012 - 05:16 PM

Oh right... I meant 4.0... derp.

YT_Sig.jpgoutput_Fkd6it.gifFB_Sig.jpg


#14 Gen.Kenobi

Gen.Kenobi

    I'm a doc, not an...

  • Network Admins
  • 1,429 posts
  • Location:Brazil
  • Projects:Survive Med School
  •  Your Doc
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Hosting Admin

Posted 17 February 2012 - 11:52 PM

Also, why .NET Framework 3.5 when there's a web installer for 4.0, completely compatible with the oldies? http://www.microsoft...s.aspx?id=17851


Don't forget tt's Microsoft, so probably its not "completely" compatible :p

Posted Image


kudos to Pasidon for this awesome avvy and siggy!


#15 Pasidon

Pasidon

    Splitting Hares

  • Network Admins
  • 8,915 posts
  • Location:Da Moon
  • Projects:YouTube
  •  Actual Celebrity
  • Division:Community
  • Job:Community Admin

Posted 18 February 2012 - 12:57 AM

Apparently nothing is compatible anymore.

YT_Sig.jpgoutput_Fkd6it.gifFB_Sig.jpg





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users