Jump to content


Photo

My Old PC Died...


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Beowulf

Beowulf

    Anime Girl

  • Advisors
  • 7,217 posts
  • Projects:Red Alert X, YR: TG Redux, AR

Posted 12 March 2012 - 08:57 PM

... so I just built a new one instead of fixing it. Will have pics of things in a few days. Had a snag with the PSU so I need a new cable, but here's what I got in there right now.

  • Case: Lian Li Lancool PC-K65B
  • Motherboard: ASRock Fatal1ty Performance (LGA 1155)
  • CPU: Intel Core i5 2400 @ 3.10 gHz
  • CPU Cooler: Prolimatech Armageddon with Prolimatech Blue Vortex 140mm fan
  • RAM: 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 (PC3-12800)
  • PSU: SeaSonic X650 Gold @ 650W
  • Video: EVGA geForce GTX460 @ 1GB
  • SSD: Crucial M4 64GB
  • HDD1: Samsung Spinpoint 320GB
  • HDD2: Western Digital Caviar Blue 320GB
  • HDD3: Western Digital RE2 750GB
  • HDD4: Samsung Spinpoint 1TB
  • Optical: LG CD/DVD Burner
  • Sound: Asus Xonar DS
  • Display: LG Flatron IPS236 (23"), ViewSonic VG920 (19")
  • Speakers: Dayton Audio 6 1/2" bookshelf speakers with Lepai LP-2020A+ amp
  • Keyboard: Microsoft Sidewinder X4
  • Mouse: Logitech M500
  • OS: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit

At least you can see what went in it. :p
Posted Image

NZ.org | BBPCG
Discord: The Astronomer#1314
Steam


#2 Pasidon

Pasidon

    Splitting Hares

  • Network Admins
  • 8,899 posts
  • Location:Da Moon
  • Projects:YouTube
  •  Actual Celebrity
  • Division:Community
  • Job:Community Admin

Posted 12 March 2012 - 11:23 PM

What caught me eye was the random mouse hanging from the wall.

YT_Sig.jpgoutput_Fkd6it.gifFB_Sig.jpg


#3 Beowulf

Beowulf

    Anime Girl

  • Advisors
  • 7,217 posts
  • Projects:Red Alert X, YR: TG Redux, AR

Posted 12 March 2012 - 11:39 PM

That's cause that's my PC workbench. :p

NZ.org | BBPCG
Discord: The Astronomer#1314
Steam


#4 Pasidon

Pasidon

    Splitting Hares

  • Network Admins
  • 8,899 posts
  • Location:Da Moon
  • Projects:YouTube
  •  Actual Celebrity
  • Division:Community
  • Job:Community Admin

Posted 13 March 2012 - 12:16 AM

Oh. In that case... classy set-up.

YT_Sig.jpgoutput_Fkd6it.gifFB_Sig.jpg


#5 duke_Qa

duke_Qa

    I've had this avatar since... 2003?

  • Network Staff
  • 3,837 posts
  • Location:Norway
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Artist

Posted 13 March 2012 - 09:45 PM

What caught my eye was that i5 box at a glance looked like a bag of cheeze-doodles. Which probably speaks more of my blood-sugar levels than the quality of the picture.


christ, thats a bit of cash for "A rig to replace the old one that just died", what do you do for a living :trickydick:

"I give you private information on corporations for free and I'm a villain. Mark Zuckerberg gives your private information to corporations for money and he's 'Man of the Year.'" - Assange


#6 Beowulf

Beowulf

    Anime Girl

  • Advisors
  • 7,217 posts
  • Projects:Red Alert X, YR: TG Redux, AR

Posted 14 March 2012 - 10:08 AM

I had a good chunk of the PC already. I recycle parts when possible. No point in buying brand new if I don't need to. Really, the new stuff I bought lately only set me back about $800, which really isn't that bad. Though, over half of that was financed with a loan from a friend. :p

NZ.org | BBPCG
Discord: The Astronomer#1314
Steam


#7 duke_Qa

duke_Qa

    I've had this avatar since... 2003?

  • Network Staff
  • 3,837 posts
  • Location:Norway
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Artist

Posted 14 March 2012 - 01:26 PM

Don't say you built a "new rig" if a good chunk of it already was bought :p.


If i get a good paying assignment within the next few weeks, I'll probably spend some of that cash on creating a new home PC for myself. I've only played bf3 with an average fps of 30, and I want more ssd disks for Os's. But right now the income flow is a bit parched, so I'll live.

"I give you private information on corporations for free and I'm a villain. Mark Zuckerberg gives your private information to corporations for money and he's 'Man of the Year.'" - Assange


#8 Beowulf

Beowulf

    Anime Girl

  • Advisors
  • 7,217 posts
  • Projects:Red Alert X, YR: TG Redux, AR

Posted 14 March 2012 - 08:26 PM

A new PC really is the motherboard, CPU and RAM. And that was what I had to buy. Therefore, new PC. :p

NZ.org | BBPCG
Discord: The Astronomer#1314
Steam


#9 Pasidon

Pasidon

    Splitting Hares

  • Network Admins
  • 8,899 posts
  • Location:Da Moon
  • Projects:YouTube
  •  Actual Celebrity
  • Division:Community
  • Job:Community Admin

Posted 15 March 2012 - 05:40 PM

Will that old monitor actually work with the fancy new stuff? I've read that many new video components are being designed so old displays won't work form them to force people to buy the new, flatter stuff. It sort of sounds like a crummy way to force people to upgrade, but there actually is some good tech advances from it, apparently.

YT_Sig.jpgoutput_Fkd6it.gifFB_Sig.jpg


#10 Beowulf

Beowulf

    Anime Girl

  • Advisors
  • 7,217 posts
  • Projects:Red Alert X, YR: TG Redux, AR

Posted 15 March 2012 - 07:49 PM

The CRTs still work on my GTX460 but I have flat screens already. :p

NZ.org | BBPCG
Discord: The Astronomer#1314
Steam


#11 duke_Qa

duke_Qa

    I've had this avatar since... 2003?

  • Network Staff
  • 3,837 posts
  • Location:Norway
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Artist

Posted 15 March 2012 - 08:10 PM

Also while we are complaining about things, shouldn't you have nailed some wall panels onto that wall? all that glass-fiber isolation out in the open might cause irritation to lungs if inhaled :evilthinkin:

"I give you private information on corporations for free and I'm a villain. Mark Zuckerberg gives your private information to corporations for money and he's 'Man of the Year.'" - Assange


#12 Ganon

Ganon

    What's this?

  • Project Team
  • 967 posts
  • Location:Ohio, United States
  • Projects:My Link Mod
  •  Code Scientist

Posted 16 March 2012 - 09:48 AM

Do you actually need 16 GB of RAM?

I think 8 would've sufficed, seeing as if you were to ever use even 12 you'd probably be running super slow as the mobo and cpu couldn't possibly keep up with an application/applications using that much.

Edited by Ganon, 16 March 2012 - 09:50 AM.


#13 duke_Qa

duke_Qa

    I've had this avatar since... 2003?

  • Network Staff
  • 3,837 posts
  • Location:Norway
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Artist

Posted 16 March 2012 - 11:32 AM

I bought 16 gb last year for my work-pc, never regretted that. Think I even have managed to use most of it at times.

"I give you private information on corporations for free and I'm a villain. Mark Zuckerberg gives your private information to corporations for money and he's 'Man of the Year.'" - Assange


#14 Beowulf

Beowulf

    Anime Girl

  • Advisors
  • 7,217 posts
  • Projects:Red Alert X, YR: TG Redux, AR

Posted 16 March 2012 - 09:22 PM

Do you actually need 16 GB of RAM?

This isn't about need. It's about cost effectiveness. It wasn't that much for it since I got it for under $90 and I tend to use quite a bit. Also Firefox likes to eat RAM like kids eat candy so I'm just well prepared.

She's up and running like a beast.
Posted Image

Aw hell yes. :p
Posted Image

NZ.org | BBPCG
Discord: The Astronomer#1314
Steam





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users