Jump to content


Photo

Fell beast grabbing animation

fell beast grab grabbing animation specialpower

  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Gourbish

Gourbish
  • Members
  • 149 posts
  • Location:France

Posted 30 August 2012 - 09:27 PM

Hi everybody !

I wanted to give a new power to the fell beasts : the idea is to select a target, and then the fell beast will fly, grab it, and kill it to regain life points.

I have no problem for the power and the weapon to make. But my problem is with the animation.

The original animation used by the fell beast when attacking infantry/cavalry is good : the fell beast fly, grab the enemy and throw it. So it would be nice.

But I don't succeed in understanding how works this sequence of animations.

How can I do to make the power using the good sequence of animation ?

---

At the moment, the power I added is like that :
;---------FELL BEAST EATING------------------------------------------------------------------------
Behavior = UnpauseSpecialPowerUpgrade ModuleTag_FellBeastEatingEnabler
  SpecialPowerTemplate = SpecialAbilityFellBeastEating
  TriggeredBy	 = Upgrade_SharkuManEater
End
Behavior = SpecialPowerModule ModuleTag_FellBeastEatingStarter					 
  SpecialPowerTemplate  = SpecialAbilityFellBeastEating
  UpdateModuleStartsAttack = Yes
  StartsPaused	 = Yes
End
Behavior = WeaponFireSpecialAbilityUpdate ModuleTag_FellBeastEatingUpdate  
  SpecialPowerTemplate = SpecialAbilityFellBeastEating
  UnpackTime	 = 1
  PackTime	  = 3000
  MustFinishAbility   = Yes
  StartAbilityRange   = 40.0
  SpecialWeapon    = FellBeastEating
  WhichSpecialWeapon = 1
  SkipContinue	 = Yes
  CustomAnimAndDuration = AnimState:SPECIAL_WEAPON_ONE AnimTime:3000
End

I tried some stuff using the "CustomAnimAndDuration" but with no success.
Cause I believe that I would have to use animations and scripts to recreate this sequence, isn't it ? But I don't know how to do that ! :-p

I think it could be really simple to do that as the fell beast originally uses this style of attack against infantry and cavalry.

Thank you in advance for your help. Maybe some modders have understood how works the animations of the fell beasts.

If you need more explanation or more code to help me, let me know what you want. Thank's.


Gourbish

#2 Gourbish

Gourbish
  • Members
  • 149 posts
  • Location:France

Posted 08 October 2012 - 10:50 PM

I try to update this topic to see if new guys can help me... ;-)

#3 Ridder Geel

Ridder Geel

    Master Yelloh

  • T3A Staff
  • 10,852 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands (AKA: Holland)
  • Projects:RC Mod + SEE + RTS Engine
  •  The Dangerous T3A Team Chamber Member
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A Staff

Posted 09 October 2012 - 10:02 AM

Well what kind of animation is it? Or are there multiple animations? because the way i see it it looks like you are trying to trigger one animation?
Ridder Geel

#4 Lauri

Lauri

    Old man Lauri

  • Hosted
  • 10,436 posts
  • Location:Norway
  • Projects:The 4th Age
  •  The very worst T3A Team Chamber Member

Posted 09 October 2012 - 11:36 AM

First, remove the CustomAnimAndDuration line. You already have that specified (WhichSpecialWeapon = 1).
What I would try is adding something like this;

  AnimationState	    = UNPACKING SPECIAL_WEAPON_ONE
   Animation = PrepForLand
    AnimationName = CUFellBst_SKL.CUFellBst_DIVA
    AnimationMode = ONCE
    AnimationBlendTime = 4
  End
  AnimationState	    = PREPARING SPECIAL_WEAPON_ONE
	  StateName = GrabbingTarget
	  Animation = GrabbingTarget
	   AnimationName = CUFellBst_SKL.CUFellBst_ATKD
	   AnimationMode = LOOP
	   AnimationBlendTime = 10
	 AnimationSpeedFactorRange = 0.95 1.05
	 End
  End
  AnimationState	    = SPECIAL_WEAPON_ONE
	  Animation = GrabbingTargets
	   AnimationName = CUFellBst_SKL.CUFellBst_ATKD
	   AnimationMode = LOOP
	   AnimationBlendTime = 10
	 AnimationSpeedFactorRange = 0.95 1.05
	 End
  End

I don't know if SPECIAL_WEAPON_ONE works with the Unpacking and prep stuff, but it's worth a shot. Just add it into the anims. If the anims are looking silly, you might want to change them.

T4A_Logo_-_article.png

The 4th Age version 0.8 has been released: Link


#5 Gourbish

Gourbish
  • Members
  • 149 posts
  • Location:France

Posted 09 October 2012 - 07:28 PM

Thanks for your advices, guys.

Lauri, I tried your idea but the result isn't good. It seems that only one animation is played.

Ridder Geel, I don't really know more from the anims because I don't understand how it works for the basic attack which grabs an enemy each time. The most important problem I have to understand is that I don't succeed in playing the anims with W3D View or Gmax/RenX. For each of these programs, when I load an animation of the fellbeast, it does nothing, the anim is played but nothing to see, the skeleton doesn't move.

#6 Lauri

Lauri

    Old man Lauri

  • Hosted
  • 10,436 posts
  • Location:Norway
  • Projects:The 4th Age
  •  The very worst T3A Team Chamber Member

Posted 09 October 2012 - 07:50 PM

Import the skeleton, model and animations all at the same time. If it still doesn't work, I've got no idea.

As for methods, I don't really know..

T4A_Logo_-_article.png

The 4th Age version 0.8 has been released: Link


#7 Ridder Geel

Ridder Geel

    Master Yelloh

  • T3A Staff
  • 10,852 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands (AKA: Holland)
  • Projects:RC Mod + SEE + RTS Engine
  •  The Dangerous T3A Team Chamber Member
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A Staff

Posted 09 October 2012 - 08:12 PM

To play the other animation you would need to add the
UnpackTime = 1

and change it to a higher number :p
At least if you did not already do that, id say try it ;)
Ridder Geel

#8 Gourbish

Gourbish
  • Members
  • 149 posts
  • Location:France

Posted 09 October 2012 - 11:12 PM

Yes, Lauri, I import skeleton, model, and anims too but the anims don't really play. I know that some model of the game works good but others doesn't work. It's strange, but I believed that this problem was the same for other modders... maybe not...

Ridder Geel, you're right I forgot to change the times.... but no more result !
I'll try tomorrow new tests but it needs a piece of chance as I don't really understand what I do ! :-s

#9 Gourbish

Gourbish
  • Members
  • 149 posts
  • Location:France

Posted 13 October 2012 - 01:02 PM

No more success... But what I see is that the grab anim is played in the air. So one of the problems is that the fell beast flies above the target, stops and "aspires" the target. Normally, the fell beast would have to come down to grab the target, but here, it just stops above and the target is "aspired" to it.
It does the same stuff even if I set the "StartAbilityRange" to 0.

So how is it possible to change the altitude of the fell beast to force him being in contact with the target ?

#10 JUS_SAURON

JUS_SAURON

    El Shaddai

  • Members
  • 1,581 posts
  • Location:Trinidad
  • Projects: BFME2 MOD - Power Of The Ring
  •   INI Coder

Posted 15 October 2012 - 12:15 AM

How about trying a different type of behaviour .. that does the same thing
Look at the mountain troll that runs to and picks up an orc to eat for life
.... may be adaptable to a fellbeast

#11 Gourbish

Gourbish
  • Members
  • 149 posts
  • Location:France

Posted 16 October 2012 - 11:14 PM

Yes I tried adding a "SpecialAbilityUpdate" for managing the animations but no more results. In fact, like I said, anim is played but not at the good altitude. The fell beast doesn't go down to grab the target.

I already made a power like this one for a non flying unit and it worked good. But here, I believe that there is a problem with the altitude. And I've the problem that I can't see the anims of the fell beast in W3D view or gmax/renx too. :-s




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users