Jump to content


Photo

Melee Dust, Is it Worth it ?


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 Rider of Rohan

Rider of Rohan

    The Lazy Modder

  • Division Admins
  • 1,548 posts
  • Location:The Caribbean
  • Projects:Age of the Ring and the HD Editions
  •  Mathijs' Bug fix expert
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A:Online Admin

Posted 19 December 2012 - 11:41 PM

Hey Guys, I've been playing around with things again in BFME and came across the Melee Dust feature for fights. For those who do not know of the Melee Dust and/or doesn't know what it does the video below can show you. Note the dust that remained after the units died i have fixed that bug (old vid) also in the pic the soldiers are blue because i selected them :p

So my question is would you guys like to see it in the mod as it is, or should i try some adjustments on it (the thickness for example), or don't use it at all ? Thank You for your opinions :thumbsupcool: .

Edited by Rider of Rohan, 19 December 2012 - 11:42 PM.

99dxc486ltde132zg.jpgh5je9noaofg3o26zg.jpg

No parent should have to bury their child - King Theoden


#2 Mathijs

Mathijs

    You ever heard the story about the scorpion and the frog?

  • Division Leaders
  • 13,421 posts
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:Leader

Posted 20 December 2012 - 12:05 AM

I think it looks great. The thickness could be tweaked, indeed.

“The special quality of hell is to see everything clearly down to the last detail.” ~ Yukio Mishima, The Temple of the Golden Pavilion
 


#3 Lauri

Lauri

    Let us remember foREVer

  • Hosted
  • 10,419 posts
  • Location:Norway
  • Projects:'The 4th Age' and 'Shadow and Flame'
  •  The very worst T3A Team Chamber Member

Posted 20 December 2012 - 12:45 AM

I agree with Mathijs, but how will you handle this in maps where dust isn't really looking good? I can imagne snow maps looking odd, along with really green and bright terrain..

Shadow and Flame BETA 0.6 RELEASED - Link


#4 Dreamwalker

Dreamwalker
  • Members
  • 37 posts
  • Location:Dryden's Grove
  • Projects:None at the Moment
  •  Whoa, it really is blue...

Posted 20 December 2012 - 12:49 AM

Looking pretty nice, but maybe a tad less dust? And what Lauri said.

Life is Fire.


#5 Rider of Rohan

Rider of Rohan

    The Lazy Modder

  • Division Admins
  • 1,548 posts
  • Location:The Caribbean
  • Projects:Age of the Ring and the HD Editions
  •  Mathijs' Bug fix expert
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A:Online Admin

Posted 20 December 2012 - 01:41 AM

Hmmm... First i want to make the dust fainter and a bit brighter and then after that i could try and perhaps via map.ini or str i could change the color of the dust to a suitable color for a certain map i doubt once i make it fainter it would be much of a problem for some snowy places and for places like fangorn perhaps i'll try a bit of leaf rustling in the dust :p (might look cool)

99dxc486ltde132zg.jpgh5je9noaofg3o26zg.jpg

No parent should have to bury their child - King Theoden


#6 Ridder Geel

Ridder Geel

    Master Yelloh

  • T3A Staff
  • 10,754 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands (AKA: Holland)
  • Projects:RC Mod + SEE + School Projects...
  •  The Dangerous T3A Team Chamber Member
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A Staff

Posted 20 December 2012 - 04:38 PM

Map.ini changes will suffice for changing (or removing) the FX indeed :)
I like it, but like the rest say a bit less thick would be better.
Ridder Geel
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Posted Image
Posted Image Posted Image
Posted Image

#7 Irenë Hawnetyne

Irenë Hawnetyne

    -

  • Hosted
  • 3,069 posts

Posted 20 December 2012 - 05:13 PM

Is there really any point in me saying it as well?
Anyway, good idea, though as a suggestion, you could possibly give different maps different colours, not just enable/disable per odd map. Such as, for this, maybe a browner colour, for deserts yellow, you get the idea.

"Everyone's a hero when there's nowhere left to run."

 

Auxiliary Skarn, 2333rd Cohort


#8 Rider of Rohan

Rider of Rohan

    The Lazy Modder

  • Division Admins
  • 1,548 posts
  • Location:The Caribbean
  • Projects:Age of the Ring and the HD Editions
  •  Mathijs' Bug fix expert
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A:Online Admin

Posted 20 December 2012 - 07:35 PM

As I mentioned earlier If needed I'd edit the map ini for certian maps and make the particle match the setting e.g. on Fangorn I hope to make leaves rustle along with a faint greenish dust and likee Minas Tirith i'd make it brighter

99dxc486ltde132zg.jpgh5je9noaofg3o26zg.jpg

No parent should have to bury their child - King Theoden


#9 Rider of Rohan

Rider of Rohan

    The Lazy Modder

  • Division Admins
  • 1,548 posts
  • Location:The Caribbean
  • Projects:Age of the Ring and the HD Editions
  •  Mathijs' Bug fix expert
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A:Online Admin

Posted 20 December 2012 - 09:40 PM

On a lesser note how does the new Gondor Soldier Pic Look in game ?
Everytime i tried to crop and save it kept crashing so i just left it I have alot more Ups in store for you when you play the mod ;)
Posted Image

99dxc486ltde132zg.jpgh5je9noaofg3o26zg.jpg

No parent should have to bury their child - King Theoden


#10 Rider of Rohan

Rider of Rohan

    The Lazy Modder

  • Division Admins
  • 1,548 posts
  • Location:The Caribbean
  • Projects:Age of the Ring and the HD Editions
  •  Mathijs' Bug fix expert
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A:Online Admin

Posted 21 December 2012 - 12:18 AM

If you guys can help me out a bit i kind of don't understand how to adjust the thickness of the Dust so i kinda need some help :) here is the code :
FXParticleSystem MeleeDust
System
Priority = ALWAYS_RENDER
Shader = ALPHA
ParticleName = EXCloud01.tga
Lifetime = 90 90
Size = 15 30
BurstDelay = 0 5
BurstCount = 0 2
End
Color = DefaultColor
Color1 = R:206 G:169 B:149 0
End
Alpha = DefaultAlpha
Alpha2 = 0.2 0.2 20
Alpha3 = 0 0 90
End
Update = DefaultUpdate
SizeRate = 1 1
SizeRateDamping = 0.95 0.99
AngleZ = -0.5 0.5
AngularRateZ = -0.1 0.1
AngularDamping = 0.98 0.98
AngularDampingXY = 1 1
End
Physics = DefaultPhysics
VelocityDamping = 1 1
End
EmissionVelocity = OrthoEmissionVelocity
X = -0.24 0.24
Y = -0.24 0.24
Z = 0.16 0.16
End
EmissionVolume = LineEmissionVolume
IsHollow = Yes
StartPoint = X:0 Y:0 Z:8
EndPoint = X:0 Y:0 Z:10
End
Draw = DefaultDraw
End
End
I tried adjusting the BurstDelay, BurstCount and Alphas but it made the effect disappear :/

Edited by Rider of Rohan, 21 December 2012 - 12:20 AM.

99dxc486ltde132zg.jpgh5je9noaofg3o26zg.jpg

No parent should have to bury their child - King Theoden


#11 Irenë Hawnetyne

Irenë Hawnetyne

    -

  • Hosted
  • 3,069 posts

Posted 21 December 2012 - 07:31 AM

Not sure bout that portrait. To suit EA's, they usually have to have a stronger layer over the parchment, and often have outlines (which can be achieved via Find Edges filter)

"Everyone's a hero when there's nowhere left to run."

 

Auxiliary Skarn, 2333rd Cohort


#12 Ridder Geel

Ridder Geel

    Master Yelloh

  • T3A Staff
  • 10,754 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands (AKA: Holland)
  • Projects:RC Mod + SEE + School Projects...
  •  The Dangerous T3A Team Chamber Member
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A Staff

Posted 21 December 2012 - 11:39 AM

Alpha = DefaultAlpha
Alpha2 = 0.2 0.2 20
Alpha3 = 0 0 90
End

Try changing Alpha2 to 0.1 0.1 20
That should make it less visible :)
Ridder Geel
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Posted Image
Posted Image Posted Image
Posted Image

#13 Bofur

Bofur

    The Bolicious One

  • Hosted
  • 1,765 posts
  • Location:England
  • Projects:The Age of the Firstborn - The Rebirth
  •  The Bolicious T3A Team Chamber Member

Posted 21 December 2012 - 04:13 PM

And BurstCount should have something to do with it, I guess?

left64_by_obsidianlake-d5ruayp.pngAotF.pngright64_by_obsidianlake-d5ruf44.png


#14 Rider of Rohan

Rider of Rohan

    The Lazy Modder

  • Division Admins
  • 1,548 posts
  • Location:The Caribbean
  • Projects:Age of the Ring and the HD Editions
  •  Mathijs' Bug fix expert
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A:Online Admin

Posted 21 December 2012 - 04:57 PM

Thanks for the help guys this was the final product :

99dxc486ltde132zg.jpgh5je9noaofg3o26zg.jpg

No parent should have to bury their child - King Theoden


#15 Ridder Geel

Ridder Geel

    Master Yelloh

  • T3A Staff
  • 10,754 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands (AKA: Holland)
  • Projects:RC Mod + SEE + School Projects...
  •  The Dangerous T3A Team Chamber Member
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A Staff

Posted 21 December 2012 - 07:23 PM

Well burstcount defines the amount of particles that are spawned after each delay, this could be altered but changing the alpha will guarantee the same effect but lighter/more transparent, changing the amount of particles that are spawned might cause the entire FX to not be visible due to the lack of a decent amount of particles. Both could be altered, but in this case the "safer" approach was editing the Alpha :)
A lower burstcount means the chance that 0 are spawned in THIS FX is bigger, so here I don't think that would have been the best solution ;)

@ the movie - Looks good :D
Ridder Geel
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Posted Image
Posted Image Posted Image
Posted Image




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users