Jump to content


Photo

How to create Base bmp files to map designing?

base map editor

  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 Salvadorc17

Salvadorc17

    title available

  • Members
  • 498 posts
  • Location:Colombia
  • Projects:Destination Norway

Posted 28 June 2013 - 09:29 PM

I need some help, becuase i can edit all elements, in Commandos bel, but i no have idea how to create a base file, to start making a new map. By now i can only use base.bmp for the tutorial. I need some tool like photoshop to make it¿?

 

Ill apretiate your help or solution to this.

 

Attached Files

  • Attached File  BASE.BMP   469.8KB   391 downloads

Edited by Salvadorc17, 29 June 2013 - 07:33 PM.


#2 Lexx2k

Lexx2k
  • Members
  • 132 posts
  • Location:Berlin
  • Projects:BTCOD Mission Pack

Posted 30 June 2013 - 07:46 AM

Create your big terrain file, then use ImageSlizer to cut it into parts + create the base file. Keep in mind that your *.bmp file has to be in 256 colors.

#3 herbert3000

herbert3000

    Guilty Until Proven Innocent

  • Division Admins
  • 507 posts
  • Location:Austria
  • Division:Commandos HQ
  • Job:Division Admin

Posted 30 June 2013 - 04:05 PM

I would really recommend using a tool like Photoshop - if you can't afford it and don't want to use a trial or a cracked version, you could give GIMP or Paint.NET a try (they are both freeware).

 

Have a look at this thread: http://forums.revora...-and-extension/

There you can see how Lexx2k creates his amazing maps.



#4 Salvadorc17

Salvadorc17

    title available

  • Members
  • 498 posts
  • Location:Colombia
  • Projects:Destination Norway

Posted 30 June 2013 - 07:37 PM

Thanks for the link very uself, but in the map designing im having problems with making different heighs and making areas like water, now im little confused becuase i dont understand so much about mask and different tiles.



#5 Salvadorc17

Salvadorc17

    title available

  • Members
  • 498 posts
  • Location:Colombia
  • Projects:Destination Norway

Posted 03 July 2013 - 01:18 AM

By now i am getting stucked on map creation:

 

I need to confirm what is going up with two elements, firts, with the tiles like TERRENO, i do not need to add it to the bmp file?

 

And second with the image slicer, the maps are losing color.

 

Check my maps preview

 

uks.png

dtl5.png



#6 herbert3000

herbert3000

    Guilty Until Proven Innocent

  • Division Admins
  • 507 posts
  • Location:Austria
  • Division:Commandos HQ
  • Job:Division Admin

Posted 03 July 2013 - 05:57 PM

ImageSlicer Update - this will fix the problem with the wrong colors:

https://sites.google...redirects=0&d=1

(some programs like the GIMP create bitmaps with a different bmp header, the ImageSlicer couldn't handle that)



#7 Salvadorc17

Salvadorc17

    title available

  • Members
  • 498 posts
  • Location:Colombia
  • Projects:Destination Norway

Posted 03 July 2013 - 09:08 PM

What program you recomend better to it? Photoshop???

 

And how to create water mask? , i need to createa a duplicate of the base.bmp with mask only sprites???

 

Pd. When i use the sprites like water in game it does appaer to work.


Edited by Salvadorc17, 04 July 2013 - 01:05 AM.


#8 herbert3000

herbert3000

    Guilty Until Proven Innocent

  • Division Admins
  • 507 posts
  • Location:Austria
  • Division:Commandos HQ
  • Job:Division Admin

Posted 04 July 2013 - 01:07 AM

Now, it doesnt work for bmps created with gimp, only paint. What program you recomend better to it? Photoshop???

Could you please send me your bmp via PM, I can't find out why the program doesn't work for you.

 

I haven't really worked with Photoshop, so I can't compare it with the Gimp. Many people say PS is superior, some say it's not - I just don't know - and I also don't care :)



#9 Salvadorc17

Salvadorc17

    title available

  • Members
  • 498 posts
  • Location:Colombia
  • Projects:Destination Norway

Posted 04 July 2013 - 01:45 AM

I have fixed it, now im working on learn about mask, can you give me asistance with water maps.

 

PD. Check images above to understand what im trying to doing, converting the map with water coast


Edited by Salvadorc17, 04 July 2013 - 01:49 AM.


#10 herbert3000

herbert3000

    Guilty Until Proven Innocent

  • Division Admins
  • 507 posts
  • Location:Austria
  • Division:Commandos HQ
  • Job:Division Admin

Posted 04 July 2013 - 02:32 AM

Ok, for your map from above you'll basically need a water mask like this:

water_mask.png

black parts = water

gray parts = half transparent water

white = no water



#11 Salvadorc17

Salvadorc17

    title available

  • Members
  • 498 posts
  • Location:Colombia
  • Projects:Destination Norway

Posted 04 July 2013 - 09:05 PM

Check the finished version of the map, not water added and comment.

 

w1ai.jpg



#12 Salvadorc17

Salvadorc17

    title available

  • Members
  • 498 posts
  • Location:Colombia
  • Projects:Destination Norway

Posted 08 July 2013 - 08:49 PM

What the hell is happen with me map, wthat im doing wrong check it?

 

I have followed all the steps and get this.

 

 

Pd. I have added Mar0 in the polys to get new results.

 

yizj.png


Edited by Salvadorc17, 09 July 2013 - 01:25 AM.






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users