Jump to content


Photo

Housecolor for the mod


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Rider of Rohan

Rider of Rohan

    The Lazy Modder

  • Division Admins
  • 1,548 posts
  • Location:The Caribbean
  • Projects:Age of the Ring and the HD Editions
  •  Mathijs' Bug fix expert
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A:Online Admin

Posted 01 January 2014 - 03:04 AM

So guys as the title says, House color has been implemented for the mod, just for the players that like that kind of thing.

Spoiler

By default however, the housecolor will be disabled. It's up to the user to turn the housecolor on in the BIG file. A small tutorial will be included in the readme on doing this for the non-modders (or non-coders) interested in enabling the option.

Thought some of you might like it like this.
Happy New Year guys !


99dxc486ltde132zg.jpgh5je9noaofg3o26zg.jpg

No parent should have to bury their child - King Theoden


#2 MattTheLegoman

MattTheLegoman

    LEGO Knight of Minas Ithil

  • T3A Staff
  • 3,313 posts
  • Location:Tomorrow, when the War began
  • Projects:Mapping this Middle-earth
  •  Mapper
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A Staff

Posted 01 January 2014 - 03:22 AM

Well, I will be keeping it off. =p But thanks anyway. =D


Remember that all worlds draw to an end and that noble death is a treasure which no one is too poor to buy. - C.S. Lewis

There will come a time when you believe everything is finished. That will be the beginning. - Louis L'Amour

What will matter then will be people. If relationships will matter most then, shouldn't they matter most now? - Max Lucado


#3 Radspakr Wolfbane

Radspakr Wolfbane

    The John Farnham of modding

  • Members
  • 7,722 posts
  • Location:less than 5 meters from my bed
  • Projects:Comeback tour
  •  The Retired Beard

Posted 01 January 2014 - 04:09 AM

A small submod might be an easier way of handling that.

Something they can just drop into the game folder when they want it.


Break dancing into the hearts of millions


#4 MattTheLegoman

MattTheLegoman

    LEGO Knight of Minas Ithil

  • T3A Staff
  • 3,313 posts
  • Location:Tomorrow, when the War began
  • Projects:Mapping this Middle-earth
  •  Mapper
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A Staff

Posted 01 January 2014 - 04:21 AM

But that modifies the program folder!


Remember that all worlds draw to an end and that noble death is a treasure which no one is too poor to buy. - C.S. Lewis

There will come a time when you believe everything is finished. That will be the beginning. - Louis L'Amour

What will matter then will be people. If relationships will matter most then, shouldn't they matter most now? - Max Lucado


#5 Radspakr Wolfbane

Radspakr Wolfbane

    The John Farnham of modding

  • Members
  • 7,722 posts
  • Location:less than 5 meters from my bed
  • Projects:Comeback tour
  •  The Retired Beard

Posted 01 January 2014 - 08:02 AM

A submod only modifies it while it's there when you are done you simply move it.


Break dancing into the hearts of millions


#6 Lauri

Lauri

    Let us remember foREVer

  • Hosted
  • 10,419 posts
  • Location:Norway
  • Projects:'The 4th Age' and 'Shadow and Flame'
  •  The very worst T3A Team Chamber Member

Posted 01 January 2014 - 03:57 PM

I like that kind of thing.

 

If you don't use the Ring Heroes system you could replace it with a Disable Housecolour button, like we did in TPW. But I guess you do use the Ring Heroes system :p


Shadow and Flame BETA 0.6 RELEASED - Link


#7 Rider of Rohan

Rider of Rohan

    The Lazy Modder

  • Division Admins
  • 1,548 posts
  • Location:The Caribbean
  • Projects:Age of the Ring and the HD Editions
  •  Mathijs' Bug fix expert
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A:Online Admin

Posted 01 January 2014 - 04:07 PM

Swapping the ring hero system for a housecolor system sounds good to me, but I wouldn't know how to do it.


99dxc486ltde132zg.jpgh5je9noaofg3o26zg.jpg

No parent should have to bury their child - King Theoden


#8 Mathijs

Mathijs

    You ever heard the story about the scorpion and the frog?

  • Division Leaders
  • 13,425 posts
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:Leader

Posted 01 January 2014 - 10:10 PM

Lauri knows all.

 

The Ring Heroes are silly anyway. I actually had this same idea yesterday :p


“The special quality of hell is to see everything clearly down to the last detail.” ~ Yukio Mishima, The Temple of the Golden Pavilion
 


#9 Kwen

Kwen

    Robert

  • T3A Staff
  • 4,818 posts
  • Location:Auburn, Maine
  • Projects:Too many, too much work.
  •  T3A's First N00b
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A Expert
  • Donated

Posted 05 January 2014 - 03:34 PM

Housecolour is a must for any sort of competitive multiplayer gameplay. Though for personal ascetics it is an incredible eye sore. So I am in favour of sacrificing the Ring Hero button (they can still exist if you want them to) for a housecolour toggle. Since that way it caters towards everyone. Even in multiplayer, the hostee can select housecolours or not.


sigbro_zps4e530586.png 

                      "Old modders never die, they just fade away" ~ Hostile





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users