Help using 3D Studio Max 8

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Arador123

Arador123
  • Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 16 April 2014 - 11:25 AM

I just found 3DS Max 8 after a long time and can finally start modding. But I realized that the controls are seriously strange and vast. Could someone put up a tutorial on how to use 3DS Max 8? I am especially having difficulty creating objects and manipulating them.

#2 Irenë Hawnetyne

Irenë Hawnetyne

-

• Hosted
  • 3,073 posts

Posted 16 April 2014 - 01:21 PM

I'm not an expert on Max since I use it mainly as a .W3D exporting utility, but The3rdAge article section has plenty you can go with.

If I were you, though, I'd just experiment with all the buttons first, get the hang of the layout yourself, and then try tutorials.

"Everyone's a hero when there's nowhere left to run."

Auxiliary Skarn, 2333rd Cohort

#3 The Splat

The Splat
  • Hosted
  • 30 posts
  • Projects:Sail 7 Seas

Posted 16 April 2014 - 02:27 PM

I find tutorials by 3d buzz to be one of the best helps when it comes to computer stuff

http://www.3dbuzz.co...ee0ecba3fb64554

Please note im in no way affiliated with 3d buzz , you will also find some decent guides on vimeo

example http://vimeo.com/album/1514565

, It is much harder to find good tutorials in youtube for 3ds max, you may find as your progression warrants its worth watching some of the foreign language tutorials as some of those are easier to follow steps then most English speaking users.

The help topic within max is seriously useful and could potentially save you time if you follow the tutorials they set within the getting started guides.

Good to see more modders out there.

#4 Mathijs

Mathijs

Post-modern Shaman

• Network Leaders
  • 13,756 posts
  • Projects:Age of the Ring
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Leader

Posted 16 April 2014 - 03:15 PM

What do you want to create?

No fuel left for the pilgrims

#5 Madin

Madin

title available

• Hosted
  • 686 posts