Jump to content


Photo

What are you doing?


  • Please log in to reply
122 replies to this topic

#41 herbert3000

herbert3000

    Guilty Until Proven Innocent

  • Division Admins
  • 445 posts
  • Location:Austria
  • Division:Commandos HQ
  • Job:Division Admin

Posted 10 January 2012 - 01:07 PM

Thats's what I'm doing right now...

Hey Andrew, that's fantastic! :thumbsuphappy:

How much of the map have you completed so far?
(BTW, is this CoD:UO?)

Keep the great work up!

#42 AndrewT

AndrewT
  • Members
  • 62 posts
  • Location:Hungary

Posted 10 January 2012 - 03:58 PM

Hey Mate!

Yep, it's CoDUO, around 70% completed. My friends tried to convince me to port the map into some fresher game engine, but I will stick to UO until it's finished, one of the last CoDs that appeals to me :)
Thanks for your kind an encouraging words, I will try to keep posting fresh stuff. Always bothered me that I'm not aware of commandos map editing, but having some experience in CoD map editing, thought I would try to pay my tribute to both games with this :)

Cheers!

#43 AndrewT

AndrewT
  • Members
  • 62 posts
  • Location:Hungary

Posted 04 April 2012 - 03:26 PM

Featuring the wooden bridge

Attached Thumbnails

  • shot0004.jpg


#44 AndrewT

AndrewT
  • Members
  • 62 posts
  • Location:Hungary

Posted 29 April 2012 - 08:51 PM

a small promotional stuff

Attached Thumbnails

  • salvar_al_soldado_ryan_1998_12 copy.jpg


#45 herbert3000

herbert3000

    Guilty Until Proven Innocent

  • Division Admins
  • 445 posts
  • Location:Austria
  • Division:Commandos HQ
  • Job:Division Admin

Posted 10 September 2012 - 06:45 PM

Hi guys!
I just started to recreate the masks for the C3 maps. For the moment I only finished one view of the first tutorial map.


#46 GMC.Phantom

GMC.Phantom
  • Division Leaders
  • 134 posts
  • Location:Italy
  • Division:Commandos HQ
  • Job:Division Leader

Posted 13 September 2012 - 06:58 PM

I don't know how you did it but the job is awesome! how did you do it? what tools did you use? if it is something that I can help with, I'd be glad to! by the way, you can add that to the ToDos list on the C2: DP Team Site!

#47 herbert3000

herbert3000

    Guilty Until Proven Innocent

  • Division Admins
  • 445 posts
  • Location:Austria
  • Division:Commandos HQ
  • Job:Division Admin

Posted 13 September 2012 - 09:11 PM

Step 1:
To obtain the mask of the map I simply set all entries of the Y64 color palette to grey (additionally I changed the SEC file a little bit to avoid blocked sectors). Then I just had to take a couple of in-game screenshots, like this one...
sniper.png
...and assemble it to a single image.
This step would be much easier if it was possible to increase the size of the orange view cone (the length as well as the angle).

Step 2:
I actually created the "Volumenes Escenario" with the BEL map editor and then converted the VOL file to the MA2 format. This method works well for a map with only one view but I have to figure out something else on how we can create the masks for all four views in a more comfortable way. Any suggestions?

PS: And here are the masks of the two tutorial maps (4 views), just in case you're interested:
Attached File  TUT1+TUT2_masks.zip   175.63KB   181 downloads

#48 GMC.Phantom

GMC.Phantom
  • Division Leaders
  • 134 posts
  • Location:Italy
  • Division:Commandos HQ
  • Job:Division Leader

Posted 14 September 2012 - 12:00 PM

If there is a consistent part that I can do without starting the game (I am at work), I can help. Let me know

#49 GMC.Phantom

GMC.Phantom
  • Division Leaders
  • 134 posts
  • Location:Italy
  • Division:Commandos HQ
  • Job:Division Leader

Posted 17 September 2012 - 07:59 AM

Let's try to subdivide this work in detailed steps with some questions from my side:
  • set all entries of the Y64 color palette to grey -> how do you do that? what program do you use? does the color have to be a particular grey or it can be an color as long as it's the same?
  • change the SEC file a little bit to avoid blocked sectors -> is this step necessary? how do you know which sectors you need to exclude? why do you need to exclude them? how do you exclude them? deos it require starting the game?
  • take a couple of in-game screenshots and assemble it to a single image -> how do you assemble? what for? in commandos 2 you can increase the image cone by adding .AMPL_NORMAL 120 inside the .VIGILADOR Group Property of a Commando. Also, can you use the enemies view to capture images? have you tried editing .AMPL_NORMAL in .VIGILADOR parameter for enemies?
  • created the "Volumenes Escenario" with the BEL map editor -> how do you create the "Volumenes Escenario" with the BEL map editor?
  • and then converted the VOL file to the MA2 format -> how do you then convert the VOL file to the MA2 format?
​If you can detail in these steps, I can help everywhere where I can :)

let me know.
Best regards,
GMC.Phantom

#50 herbert3000

herbert3000

    Guilty Until Proven Innocent

  • Division Admins
  • 445 posts
  • Location:Austria
  • Division:Commandos HQ
  • Job:Division Admin

Posted 17 September 2012 - 03:51 PM

1. that's the easist part, the only thing you'll need is a hex editor. I chose the neutral RGB128/128/128 grey but I guess any other color would be fine too.
Y64_PaletteDB_changed.png

2. that's necessary because all the buildings, walls and crates would block the view of the soldiers and therefore it wouldn't be possible to create nice screenshots in the next step. I wrote a program that reads in the the original SEC and changes the height of all sectors to 0 and the terrain to the default type (can walk on & see through the sector). TUT2.SEC caused troubles so I opened the SEC with the CommDevToolkit.SecEditor and found out that the height of most of the sectors was 9 -> so I had to adjust the parameters of my program accordingly.
secs.png SEC_changed.png

3. I already tried to change the values inside the snipers's .VIGILADOR block but it didn't work. I haven't tried to edit the enemies' paramters until I read your post. Now I did it and it actually worked! :) Thanks for the hint, now this step can be done much faster! Btw, I use the GIMP to put all the screenshots together to one image in the size of the whole map.

4+5. I basically create a map for BEL with the sprites from C3. Then I use the progams I created for the BEL->C2 mod to convert the BEL{VOL+WAD+SEC} to C2{MA2+SEC} files.
That's how I create the "VOLumenes Escenario":
mapeditor.png

-----
And there's another thing I'm thinking about: it's the size of the BEL&BCD maps in C2, the maps are much too small in relation to the soldiers. I'm wondering why wyel2000 and I didn't fix this issue back then. It shouldn't be much work scaling the sprites, VOL and SEC up by a factor of about 1.3. (but this would mess up the placement of the units - unless all the positions in the MIS files were adjusted as well)

Screenshot of the origianl map & the scaled map
original_size.jpg scaled_1.3.jpg
Looks much better, doesn't it? :)

#51 herbert3000

herbert3000

    Guilty Until Proven Innocent

  • Division Admins
  • 445 posts
  • Location:Austria
  • Division:Commandos HQ
  • Job:Division Admin

Posted 17 September 2012 - 04:25 PM

And this is how we could subdivide the work:

1. Y64. no work at all, but it's hard to share the updated Y64 - just because of the filesize.
2. SEC: I could provide the updated SEC's for all maps
3.a. Empty MIS: MIS with all objects and units removed, except for one (immortal) Commando an one enemy with a very long view cone. I guess I could provide files too.
3.b. take screenshots: the screenshots of view cones should cover the whole map, C3 interface should be hidden, BMP or PNG (no JPG!)
3.c. merge screenshots: cut the screenshots and create one big mask image, change colors to black&white (save again as BMP or PNG)
3.d. object masks: create a mask for each object and adjust the mask like this:
mask_adjustments.png
I would prefer to create these masks in GIMP and save them as new layers on the mask of the whole map because this way the positions of all the masks would be saved.
4. VOL: with the positions from step 3.d. the masks could be placed at the correct position automatically. The bounding volumes still must be created by hand.
5. VOL->MA2: that's one single command, I can do that :)

I'll take the green steps. If anyone is interested in taking one of the others steps, let me know.

#52 GMC.Phantom

GMC.Phantom
  • Division Leaders
  • 134 posts
  • Location:Italy
  • Division:Commandos HQ
  • Job:Division Leader

Posted 19 September 2012 - 03:15 PM

ok so:
  • to do 3.b. I need the files from 1. to 3.a. you can upload them to the Files section in our team site or in the Google Drive folder (or anywhere else, you choose!)
  • the resolution of the screenshots at 3.b. must be 800x600 or can it be different (to take screenshots faster)?
  • do you have a technique or a preferred way for doing 3.c. ?
  • what exactly is 3.d. and what do you mean when you say "for each object"?
  • I need more details for step 4.


#53 herbert3000

herbert3000

    Guilty Until Proven Innocent

  • Division Admins
  • 445 posts
  • Location:Austria
  • Division:Commandos HQ
  • Job:Division Admin

Posted 21 September 2012 - 02:46 AM

I created a new thread for the C3 mask conversion/creation -> http://forums.revora...es-for-c3-maps/

#54 Lexx2k

Lexx2k
  • Members
  • 127 posts
  • Location:Berlin
  • Projects:BTCOD Mission Pack

Posted 30 March 2013 - 06:12 PM

Hey folks.
 
Just wanted to say I am not dead. :p I've been a little busy and distracted over the past months, but I started working on my material again around three days ago. My next mission should be done rather soonish, but I won't release it right away, because I want to put it into a package with my other released missions (after adding a tweak or two here and there) + at least another new mission. The release will still take a while, but I think it is progressing quite good.
 
And a little teaser at the end:
screen02.png
The scene on the screenshot is still WIP. The barbwire doesn't have shadows yet, etc. but so far I am very happy with everything. Object-wise, the map is 100% done. Needs a few graphic tweaks here and there and then I'll have to place all enemy soldiers. I'll probably do this tomorrow. After that only mission description is still left to do.

PS: I think the Sd.Kfz. without turret is super cool and was worth the time I have spend on it. :>

Edited by Lexx2k, 30 March 2013 - 07:22 PM.


#55 Salvadorc17

Salvadorc17

    title available

  • Members
  • 484 posts
  • Location:Colombia
  • Projects:https://github.com/salvadorc17/CommandosMaker

Posted 01 June 2013 - 07:52 PM

What is the best commandos game to modding becuase i only have experience in c1 modding.

 

Pd. check my mod.

 

Commandos Destination Norway.

 

http://forums.revora...final-download/


Edited by Salvadorc17, 01 June 2013 - 07:55 PM.


#56 wyel2000

wyel2000
  • Members
  • 207 posts

Posted 01 January 2014 - 08:14 AM

happy new year



#57 AndrewT

AndrewT
  • Members
  • 62 posts
  • Location:Hungary

Posted 17 March 2014 - 09:01 AM

I have reached a stage in the reacreation of Saving Private Smith for Call of Duty United Offensive that I thought I would share.

 

Here are some preview pictures:

http://imagerz.com/Q...EtvAwMDVlkfGAVR
http://imagerz.com/Q...EtvAwMDVlkfQAVR
http://imagerz.com/Q...EtvAwMDVlkfQwVR
http://imagerz.com/Q...EtvAwMDVlkfEgVR
http://imagerz.com/Q...EtvAwMDVlkfFQVR
http://imagerz.com/Q...EtvAwMDVlkfFAVR
http://imagerz.com/Q...EtvAwMDVlkfFwVR
http://imagerz.com/Q...EtvAwMDVlkfFgVR
http://imagerz.com/Q...EtvAwMDVlkfGQVR

 

And here is the download link:

http://modsonline.co...-full-5565.html


Edited by AndrewT, 17 March 2014 - 09:09 AM.


#58 herbert3000

herbert3000

    Guilty Until Proven Innocent

  • Division Admins
  • 445 posts
  • Location:Austria
  • Division:Commandos HQ
  • Job:Division Admin

Posted 23 August 2014 - 01:06 PM

desperados_level21.jpg



#59 AndrewT

AndrewT
  • Members
  • 62 posts
  • Location:Hungary

Posted 29 August 2014 - 05:47 PM

@herbert3000: looks like it's masked, isn't it? promising work! how far have you proceeded in this?


Edited by AndrewT, 29 August 2014 - 05:48 PM.


#60 herbert3000

herbert3000

    Guilty Until Proven Innocent

  • Division Admins
  • 445 posts
  • Location:Austria
  • Division:Commandos HQ
  • Job:Division Admin

Posted 31 August 2014 - 02:06 PM

Hi Andrew! Yeah, the map is completely masked - the only thing that needs to be done is the MIS scripting.

And instead of doing that, I ported the empty map to C2:

screenshot.jpg






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users