Jump to content


Photo

v2 Demo bug report thread


54 replies to this topic

#41 evilbobthebob

evilbobthebob

    evilbobthemapper

  • Project Team
  • 2,298 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Projects:Phoenix Rising Maps
  •  Phoenix Rising Mapping Lead

Posted 15 February 2018 - 03:47 PM

Windowed mode shouldn't make a difference either way. Are you sure the game is actually crashing, or is it just appearing to not respond? It can take a very long time to save games in PR especially if you have a normal HDD and not a solid-state drive.


Phoenix Rising, head of mapping. Thanks to everyone who got us to the position below!
Posted Image


#42 skie9173

skie9173

    Rebel (not so) High Command

  • Members
  • 257 posts

Posted 15 February 2018 - 04:07 PM

Not sure if this is a bug/typo/my own ineptitude bit with some heroes I am getting the tool tip stating to move them into orbit to promote them via ground tab, but no upgrade presents itself. Notable are Ackbar - Fleet Admiral, Wedge -Pilot Officer , Porkins- Pilot Officer, Farlander - Pilot Officer. This list is not extensive.

Of Note is that heroes like Liea and Iblis have been upgraded to max and don’t show the tool tip anymore. Am I missing something, a particular building or shipyard level?
There is no emotion, there is peace. There is no ignorance, there is knowledge.
There is no passion, there is serenity. There is no death, there is the Force.

#43 evilbobthebob

evilbobthebob

    evilbobthemapper

  • Project Team
  • 2,298 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Projects:Phoenix Rising Maps
  •  Phoenix Rising Mapping Lead

Posted 15 February 2018 - 04:25 PM

You need at least 1 ground structure for the upgrades to show up as well. Not sure why some of the heroes aren't working, I'll check myself. At max level the upgrade tooltip disappears because, well, they're max level, so they can't upgrade any more.


Phoenix Rising, head of mapping. Thanks to everyone who got us to the position below!
Posted Image


#44 Thrawn88

Thrawn88
  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 15 February 2018 - 09:49 PM

After the last update I had saves work for a few days but now I'm back to crashing upon attempting to load any saves.



#45 evilbobthebob

evilbobthebob

    evilbobthemapper

  • Project Team
  • 2,298 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Projects:Phoenix Rising Maps
  •  Phoenix Rising Mapping Lead

Posted 15 February 2018 - 10:13 PM

Including older saves that previously worked?


Phoenix Rising, head of mapping. Thanks to everyone who got us to the position below!
Posted Image


#46 Thrawn88

Thrawn88
  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 16 February 2018 - 01:11 AM

Yeah, nothing will load at all.  Just immediately crashes with no error message.



#47 evilbobthebob

evilbobthebob

    evilbobthemapper

  • Project Team
  • 2,298 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Projects:Phoenix Rising Maps
  •  Phoenix Rising Mapping Lead

Posted 16 February 2018 - 02:20 AM

That's extremely strange, if older working saves have somehow broken. I don't know what could have happened there unless you either 1) made changes to the mod that broke all saves or 2) your storage device has some problems.


Phoenix Rising, head of mapping. Thanks to everyone who got us to the position below!
Posted Image


#48 Thrawn88

Thrawn88
  • Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 16 February 2018 - 03:54 AM

I did only have one previous save, so it could just be something with that one.  But still, no new saves are working.  I haven't made any changes to the mod at all.



#49 evilbobthebob

evilbobthebob

    evilbobthemapper

  • Project Team
  • 2,298 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Projects:Phoenix Rising Maps
  •  Phoenix Rising Mapping Lead

Posted 16 February 2018 - 05:00 AM

Well if nothing has changed with the mod then it's likely saves will start working again in the same way they stopped: randomly. It's a very strange bug for sure.


Phoenix Rising, head of mapping. Thanks to everyone who got us to the position below!
Posted Image


#50 Hanti

Hanti
  • Members
  • 83 posts

Posted 16 February 2018 - 10:21 PM

Windowed mode shouldn't make a difference either way. Are you sure the game is actually crashing, or is it just appearing to not respond? It can take a very long time to save games in PR especially if you have a normal HDD and not a solid-state drive.

 

It seems my sentence "mod is crashing during saving" needs some explanation.
So this is description what happens:
1. I try to save game. I know it failed because there is info "Failed to save game. Check available disk space". Disk space is OK. Other mods save well. PR 12 version saves well :) but it lags horribly.
2. Saved game has 0 bytes, but mod is still playing and not crashing right now.
3. If save failed that way - it its 100% probability game will not save nor load during this session. It can play some time still, all other tries to save will fail (I can even enter battle and try to save after that battle - result will be failed save).
4. If try to load in that stage - it will crash game to desktop.
5. If try to save a few times more - it will eventually crash game to desktop.
So I call it "crashed" as you can't save it anyway and game will always crash after a few failed tries to save.
HTH

PS: PR 12 saves this Skyhook very well. It lags horribly instead. This demo does not lag for me.



#51 evilbobthebob

evilbobthebob

    evilbobthemapper

  • Project Team
  • 2,298 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Projects:Phoenix Rising Maps
  •  Phoenix Rising Mapping Lead

Posted Yesterday, 07:08 AM

Thanks for the further information. I've personally experienced the 0 byte save bug with older versions of PR so I understand what you mean now. I haven't had the issue with the demo so I'm not sure what's causing it in your case. I haven't had it reported by anybody else either. All the other savegame issues have been after successfully saving then trying to load the saved game, causing an immediate crash.


Phoenix Rising, head of mapping. Thanks to everyone who got us to the position below!
Posted Image


#52 skie9173

skie9173

    Rebel (not so) High Command

  • Members
  • 257 posts

Posted Yesterday, 11:20 AM

I was having that issue with this version on the CD run version of the game. That was before the hot fix you pushed. I also grabbed the steam version on sale, significantly more stable it seems. I just finished a Rebel campaign that I pushed out to around 70+ weeks just to play with upgrades,
There is no emotion, there is peace. There is no ignorance, there is knowledge.
There is no passion, there is serenity. There is no death, there is the Force.

#53 evilbobthebob

evilbobthebob

    evilbobthemapper

  • Project Team
  • 2,298 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Projects:Phoenix Rising Maps
  •  Phoenix Rising Mapping Lead

Posted Yesterday, 03:48 PM

That's good to hear. I am primarily developing on the Steam version since it has actually been updated. I do have access to a disk version though and even testing on there I haven't had many of the same issues as players have reported. It's confusing.


Phoenix Rising, head of mapping. Thanks to everyone who got us to the position below!
Posted Image


#54 Hanti

Hanti
  • Members
  • 83 posts

Posted Today, 10:24 AM

Some more info about my save problems.

 

Game version: GOG.

System version Win XP with 4GB RAM or Win 7 with 8GB RAM (both, different computers).

 

Citation: "The Zero bytes savegame. When this problem happens, your game crash to desktop in the beginning of a battle and if you check it, you see a autosavegame with zero bytes or few kilobytes, at the end, a useless savegame. Other times, it does not happen when you load a battle and it happens when you try save a game and you see a message from the game speaking about if you have not enough space in the hard disk. Do not worry, you have space but the game can not write the savegame, probably because game engine can not write more amount of data.

Solutions? When it happens, you have not chances to fix it, but I know how the problem is because the code from the mod is too big. Based at my estimations, when xml code is bigger of 30mb, you can start to see the problem easily at big galactic conquest."

 

Comparison:

PR 12: config.meg is 39 mb

PR 21 demo: config.meg is 52 mb

 

No problem with save files in PR 12.

50% chance of problems in PR 21 (with precautions, saving only in quiet periods when fps is stable (27-28).

 

39-40+ mb is fairly safe.

More than 50 mb is probably not.

 

I don't know if others have this issue, though. Maybe with better PC (16-32 GB RAM?) and Steam version (aware of more RAM?) it can be avoided.

 

HTH



#55 evilbobthebob

evilbobthebob

    evilbobthemapper

  • Project Team
  • 2,298 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Projects:Phoenix Rising Maps
  •  Phoenix Rising Mapping Lead

Posted Today, 05:03 PM

Thanks for more info. This issue is probably more likely on the 4GB RAM system, but I remember having the same bug in v1.2 (or maybe an earlier one) when I had plenty of HDD space and RAM.


Phoenix Rising, head of mapping. Thanks to everyone who got us to the position below!
Posted Image




Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users