11 replies to this topic

#1 Morgoth

Morgoth

Commander of the Armies of Angband

• Members
  • 82 posts
  • Projects:Battle in Moria skinner, Battle for the Galaxy skinner

Posted 04 April 2005 - 03:36 AM

I'm creating a new faction, The Valar. Incase you haven't read the books, they are kinda the gods of the world. Does anybody have any suggestions as to what I should include in the faction, such as buildings, spells, units, heros, etc.? I'm trying to stay true to LOTR. I don't want to include anything totally out of the ordinary. Just to keep in mindthough , i'm kinda new at modding, so I can't really do anything fancy.

What I have so far for buildings is:
1. Telperion
2. Laurelin
3. Armory
4. Well
5. Upgrader (This is very similar to the Gondor stoneworker)
6. FarSight (Sort of like a radar building. The vision range would be greatly increased, being that the Valar can see across the world)

Any other suggestions would be greatly appreciated. :p

#2 OrcishHorde

OrcishHorde
  • Members
  • 34 posts
  • Projects:None 'cause I came here to learn!

Posted 05 April 2005 - 03:36 AM

Can you explain some of these biuldings for us poeple who don't know that much in depth of the Lord of the Rings? (Like the Telperion and the Laurelin.)

#3 Morgoth

Morgoth

• Members
  • 82 posts

Posted 05 April 2005 - 02:20 PM

Sorry for not explaining those. Telperion and Laurelin are the two trees of Valinor (The Valar's homeland). I would use these two trees as the farms for the faction. I was thinking that they could both be pretty cheap. When one of them is built, the other's price increases drastically. When the player has enough money to build the other tree, the resource output from the trees would be multilpied by about 75 - 100%. Once both of them are built, you can't build them anymore. That is the reason for the big resource multiplier.

Edited by Morgoth, 05 April 2005 - 02:21 PM.

#4 OrcishHorde

OrcishHorde
  • Members
  • 34 posts

Posted 05 April 2005 - 07:04 PM