47 replies to this topic

#1 True Lord of Chaos

True Lord of Chaos

I have returned, mostly out of boredom.

• Members
  • 1,654 posts

Posted 12 November 2009 - 11:08 PM

D.C. Sniper Executed

When I was a freshman in high school, a sniper went on a rampage throughout Washington, D.C. For three weeks, the country held its breath waiting for what was to happen. Five people were killed in the first 24-hours of the attack, and at the end 10 were slain. And on Tuesday night, over seven years later, the mastermind of the attack was executed by lethal injection.

John Allen Muhammad has maintained his innocence over the course of his two trials. His accomplice, Lee Boyd Malvo, testified in Muhammad's second trial that Muhammad planned to kill up to six people a day for 30 days. Quick math, that's 180 people. So, in actuality, the tragedy could have been much worse.

It seems so long ago that the United States was gripped with the terror of the D.C. Sniper. But it's almost insulting that Muhammad has not acknowledged his crimes. According to an article on cnn.com before his execution, "If Muhammad enters the death chamber without acknowledging his crimes, he will be known as the leader of one of the most enigmatic mass murder teams in history."

Prosecutors said during the trials that Muhammad had eventually planned to kill his wife, Mildred, to gain custody of their three children. It's difficult for me to understand what would lead someone to think that this is the best way to get his or her kids back.

There are so many other steps that could have been taken, but instead Muhammad resorted to killing 10 innocent victims and wounding three more. According to Malvo's testimony, Muhammad brainwashed Malvo. He was only 17 when the rampage started. Now he's 24, and he is spending the rest of his life in prison.