Jump to content


Photo

TPW - Troubleshooting


  • Please log in to reply
46 replies to this topic

#21 Lauri

Lauri

    Let us remember foREVer

  • Hosted
  • 10,419 posts
  • Location:Norway
  • Projects:'The 4th Age' and 'Shadow and Flame'
  •  The very worst T3A Team Chamber Member

Posted 04 September 2011 - 09:46 PM

Okay, new installer up, download and install again if you didn't get it to work last time! :good:

Shadow and Flame BETA 0.6 RELEASED - Link


#22 Mathijs

Mathijs

    Post-modern Shaman

  • Network Leaders
  • 13,751 posts
  • Projects:Age of the Ring
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Leader

Posted 04 September 2011 - 10:08 PM

Has it been upload to Moddb as well? Because I'll make a news post if it is.

No fuel left for the pilgrims


#23 Lauri

Lauri

    Let us remember foREVer

  • Hosted
  • 10,419 posts
  • Location:Norway
  • Projects:'The 4th Age' and 'Shadow and Flame'
  •  The very worst T3A Team Chamber Member

Posted 04 September 2011 - 10:31 PM

awaiting authorisation


Shadow and Flame BETA 0.6 RELEASED - Link


#24 Lauri

Lauri

    Let us remember foREVer

  • Hosted
  • 10,419 posts
  • Location:Norway
  • Projects:'The 4th Age' and 'Shadow and Flame'
  •  The very worst T3A Team Chamber Member

Posted 05 September 2011 - 10:54 AM

Okay it's up there aswell, you may proceed. I'm terrible at news-posts

Shadow and Flame BETA 0.6 RELEASED - Link


#25 Guest_Gondorian_Tower_Guard_*

Guest_Gondorian_Tower_Guard_*
  • Guests

Posted 19 May 2012 - 03:22 PM

I have a problem when i installed the mod I created a copy of both of the game folders just in case something went wrong and i cannot start the game it just takes me back to the original game itself.
P.S. I run this on Windows 7-32 bit on a laptop

#26 Lauri

Lauri

    Let us remember foREVer

  • Hosted
  • 10,419 posts
  • Location:Norway
  • Projects:'The 4th Age' and 'Shadow and Flame'
  •  The very worst T3A Team Chamber Member

Posted 19 May 2012 - 11:50 PM

Do you use the correct shortcut that comes when you install the mod?

Shadow and Flame BETA 0.6 RELEASED - Link


#27 Guest_Gondorian_Tower_Guard_*

Guest_Gondorian_Tower_Guard_*
  • Guests

Posted 20 May 2012 - 05:41 AM

Do you use the correct shortcut that comes when you install the mod?

i do and it still takes me to the vanilla game....
i also tried matias's way and it still does this
as well as moving the TPW.big file into the main copied folder and it gives me this error

Expected signed integer value, math op, or predefined macro, but found 'SPARTA_BATTLETOWER_BUILDCOST'

Error parsing field 'BuildCost' in block 'Object' in file
'data\ini\object\civilian\greek_tower.ini', line 98

Error parsing INI block ' BuildCost' in file
'data\ini\civilian\greek_tower.ini'.
7 addresses:
(unknown)(0): game.dat+241550 Debug::PostStaticInit+3390
(unknown)(0): gmae.dat+2294796
FXParticleSystem::DefaultModuleKey<0>::operator=+209278
(unknown)(0): game.dat+2325810
GameClientRandomVariable::setRange+15179
(unknown)(0): game.dat+6460555 Xfer::operator==+119787
(unknown)(0): kernal32.dll+322924 BaseThreadInitThunk+18
(unknown)(0): ntdll.dll+407419 RtlInitializeExceptionChain+239
(unknown)(0): ntdll.dll+407374 RtlInitiallizeExceptionChain+ 194

Because of the severity of this error the game will now exit.


if someone could give me instructions on how to fix this i will be quite thankful

#28 Lauri

Lauri

    Let us remember foREVer

  • Hosted
  • 10,419 posts
  • Location:Norway
  • Projects:'The 4th Age' and 'Shadow and Flame'
  •  The very worst T3A Team Chamber Member

Posted 20 May 2012 - 02:10 PM

Do you have any other mods installed directly in the BFME2 installation folder?

At any rate, I would suggest this path;
- Uninstall the mod and the game
- Delete the BFME2 folder
- Install the game
- Patch it to 1.06 (latest)
- Install the mod
- Play it with the shortcut.

Shadow and Flame BETA 0.6 RELEASED - Link


#29 Guest_Gondorian_Tower_Guard_*

Guest_Gondorian_Tower_Guard_*
  • Guests

Posted 20 May 2012 - 02:55 PM

Do you have any other mods installed directly in the BFME2 installation folder?

At any rate, I would suggest this path;
- Uninstall the mod and the game
- Delete the BFME2 folder
- Install the game
- Patch it to 1.06 (latest)
- Install the mod
- Play it with the shortcut.


I didn't install any mods i just played the game is that a problem if there is anyway to wipe the data in my copied folders?

#30 Kwen

Kwen

    Vileartist

  • T3A Staff
  • 4,865 posts
  • Location:Korea I wish
  • Projects:It'sa secreeet
  •  T3A's First N00b
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A Expert
  • Donated

Posted 20 May 2012 - 03:16 PM

Are you using a No-CD crack to play the game? I cannot confirm it, but I've heard that using a modified game.dat can cause compatibility issues with some mods.

                           https://www.twitch.tv/vileartist - Yes shameless self-promotion

          ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

                            "Old modders never die, they just fade away" ~ Hostile


#31 Guest_Gondorian_Tower_Guard_*

Guest_Gondorian_Tower_Guard_*
  • Guests

Posted 20 May 2012 - 03:30 PM

Are you using a No-CD crack to play the game? I cannot confirm it, but I've heard that using a modified game.dat can cause compatibility issues with some mods.


Yea i am using a No-Cd crack because i lost my game disc some time ago

#32 Kwen

Kwen

    Vileartist

  • T3A Staff
  • 4,865 posts
  • Location:Korea I wish
  • Projects:It'sa secreeet
  •  T3A's First N00b
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A Expert
  • Donated

Posted 20 May 2012 - 03:49 PM

It's possible that is what is causing your problem. You could try finding a mini-image instead, and see if it works using the original game.dat and the mini image (still requires a re-install, unless you backed up the original game.dat)

                           https://www.twitch.tv/vileartist - Yes shameless self-promotion

          ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

                            "Old modders never die, they just fade away" ~ Hostile


#33 Mathijs

Mathijs

    Post-modern Shaman

  • Network Leaders
  • 13,751 posts
  • Projects:Age of the Ring
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Leader

Posted 20 May 2012 - 04:45 PM

I'm using a mini-image and it works very well.

No fuel left for the pilgrims


#34 Guest_Gondorian_Tower_Guard_*

Guest_Gondorian_Tower_Guard_*
  • Guests

Posted 21 May 2012 - 07:54 AM

I'm using a mini-image and it works very well.


Where does one find this "mini-image" may i ask

#35 Lauri

Lauri

    Let us remember foREVer

  • Hosted
  • 10,419 posts
  • Location:Norway
  • Projects:'The 4th Age' and 'Shadow and Flame'
  •  The very worst T3A Team Chamber Member

Posted 21 May 2012 - 09:42 AM

google it

Shadow and Flame BETA 0.6 RELEASED - Link


#36 Guest_Gondorian_Tower_Guard_*

Guest_Gondorian_Tower_Guard_*
  • Guests

Posted 21 May 2012 - 10:28 AM

google it


so wait i have to reinstall my entire BFME2!?????

is this really the price one has to pay to play this mod... -.-

#37 MattTheLegoman

MattTheLegoman

    LEGO Knight of Minas Ithil

  • T3A Staff
  • 3,669 posts
  • Location:Tomorrow, when the War began
  • Projects:Mapping this Middle-earth
  •  Mapper
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A Staff

Posted 21 May 2012 - 11:08 AM

Even as a mapper I constantly have to reinstall my game, but from the CD's. I am a retro-junkie when it comes to CDs, must not scratch and they have their own space in my bookshelves.

I wonder how many times a proper modder has to reinstall, or is it just me who stuffs up the game internally all the time?

Remember that all worlds draw to an end and that noble death is a treasure which no one is too poor to buy. - C.S. Lewis

There will come a time when you believe everything is finished. That will be the beginning. - Louis L'Amour

What will matter then will be people. If relationships will matter most then, shouldn't they matter most now? - Max Lucado


#38 Lauri

Lauri

    Let us remember foREVer

  • Hosted
  • 10,419 posts
  • Location:Norway
  • Projects:'The 4th Age' and 'Shadow and Flame'
  •  The very worst T3A Team Chamber Member

Posted 21 May 2012 - 11:24 AM

As I said, I suggest you reinstall BFME2 and then patch it to 1.06, then install the mod. There might be a problem in your files. If you don't want to do that, then I can't really help you. You use the shortcut provided, so I don't see where the error could be.

Well, there is one more thing; Copy your BFME2 shortcut (the normal one), and Right Click, then Properties. Now, in the Target line, add this at the end:
-mod TPW.big

So if should look somewhat like this (this is mine);
"D:\Games\The Battle for Middle-earth ™ II\lotrbfme2.exe" -mod TPW.big

It's important that you place it after the "

If it doesn't work now, well..

Shadow and Flame BETA 0.6 RELEASED - Link


#39 Chocolate Star

Chocolate Star

    Count

  • Project Team
  • 431 posts
  • Projects:BFME II: Passion & From Book 2 Game

Posted 21 May 2012 - 07:35 PM

It's possible that is what is causing your problem. You could try finding a mini-image instead, and see if it works using the original game.dat and the mini image (still requires a re-install, unless you backed up the original game.dat)


I use a cracked game.dat because my disc was lost, works fine for me.

#40 Kwen

Kwen

    Vileartist

  • T3A Staff
  • 4,865 posts
  • Location:Korea I wish
  • Projects:It'sa secreeet
  •  T3A's First N00b
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A Expert
  • Donated

Posted 22 May 2012 - 03:35 AM

I know that is not always the case, but I have a no-cd crack lying around somewhere for when I'm too lazy to put my disk in, and one time I recall it making me unable to play certain mods.

                           https://www.twitch.tv/vileartist - Yes shameless self-promotion

          ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

                            "Old modders never die, they just fade away" ~ Hostile





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users