Jump to content


Photo

TPW - Bug and balance reports


  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 Lauri

Lauri

    Old man Lauri

  • Hosted
  • 10,421 posts
  • Location:Norway
  • Projects:The 4th Age
  •  The very worst T3A Team Chamber Member

Posted 28 July 2011 - 05:54 PM

Here is the place for you to report all the bugs and\or balance issues you might will find in the game!

Also, I'll upload the Changelog here so you can see that we know about some of them!

Known Issues:
-------------

-Helot Repair animation doesn't play when Repairing
-ART: Smithy needs a re-placement of the FX bones

-Any CaH made in vanilla or another mod will show up. They won't work in-game, but they'll show in the CaH room. They have missing strings aswell. Can't be fixed
-Any "Captain of Gondor" CaH made in vanilla\another mod will automatically turn into a Spartan, and thus buildable in-game. Only fix possible is to rename the original Save folder for people.
-Any "Shield Maiden" CaH made in vanilla\another mod will crash the game. No fix possible

-AI doesn't build Ekdromoi

-CaH: Some Spartan animations don't show (Dying for example)

-Ekdromoi "Charge" power doesn't acctually push down enemies
-Ballista has no dying model
-Scout stealth works, but the model doesn't get the transparant effect
-Ekdromoi attack while in Phalanx, but no attack anim is shown
-Peltast leave white arrows on the enemy when they hit
-Units don't cheer when Leonidas use Kings Favour, or Hoplites use Paen.


Edited by Lauri, 28 July 2011 - 08:36 PM.

Scouring of the Shire Beta 0.6.1 released: Link

 

For no good reason at all, just so we're clear.


#2 Elric

Elric

    Designer

  • Hosted
  • 2,857 posts
  • Projects:Middle-Earth Expanded
  •  Coder
  • Donated

Posted 29 July 2011 - 12:13 AM

this is the problem i am having: maybe a bug?

[attachment=28069:Game Crash.jpg]


#3 Lauri

Lauri

    Old man Lauri

  • Hosted
  • 10,421 posts
  • Location:Norway
  • Projects:The 4th Age
  •  The very worst T3A Team Chamber Member

Posted 29 July 2011 - 12:18 AM

Do you have any other mods installed?
Do you have patch 1.06? (That is needed even if you used my temp-fix)

Do you have left-overs from other mods, or from any personal stuff, in the installation folder for BFME2?

Scouring of the Shire Beta 0.6.1 released: Link

 

For no good reason at all, just so we're clear.


#4 Elric

Elric

    Designer

  • Hosted
  • 2,857 posts
  • Projects:Middle-Earth Expanded
  •  Coder
  • Donated

Posted 29 July 2011 - 12:27 AM

i have my mod jus saurons mod and this mod. i organized your mod so its in the files folder but goes like this: files\TWP\TWP.big" so that it is all in one folder. and then i have my other mods in folders in the files folder to. but thats it no other parts of mods. i got the crash before i organized it and after i organized it. maybe you guys forgot a file? because there is no special splash screen or anything like that. before it crashes. oh and i have the right patch and i checked that it had that number in regedit

Edited by Dragon Rider, 29 July 2011 - 12:30 AM.


#5 Lauri

Lauri

    Old man Lauri

  • Hosted
  • 10,421 posts
  • Location:Norway
  • Projects:The 4th Age
  •  The very worst T3A Team Chamber Member

Posted 29 July 2011 - 12:59 AM

I haven't heard about anyone else getting this crash. It works fine for Matias, it works fine for me (we both made clean installs)

But what is that about My BFME2 Files\TPW\TPW.big? Why do you move it there?
Why not simply allow the TPW.big be inside My BFME2 Files? That's how it's suppose to work...
Also, have you used the INI Compiler thingie? The one that 2play made? (now know as Bart) I don't think it has anything to do with it, but just asking.. Since the mod files are read, but it doesn't find the MACROs...

The best thing I can suggest is for you to find the TPW.big, open it and find data\ini\default\water.ini. If the file is there, which it should be, no file is missing, and you might have something that have messed up your BFME2 installation folder. Then I can only suggest a complete reinstall ;)
You can also see if the SPARTA_BATTLETOWER_BUILDCOST is in there, the water.ini, but trust me, it is. It's simply the first MACRO read by the mod, so even if something was amiss and you have to enter it manually, the next thing you'd get is the _BUILDTIME, then _HEALTH, _HEALTH_DAMAGED and so on ;)

Scouring of the Shire Beta 0.6.1 released: Link

 

For no good reason at all, just so we're clear.


#6 Elric

Elric

    Designer

  • Hosted
  • 2,857 posts
  • Projects:Middle-Earth Expanded
  •  Coder
  • Donated

Posted 29 July 2011 - 02:07 AM

i fixed it. i just extracted all the files in to a folder like a regular mod folder. works fine now for some reason. oh and i found a few bugs.

*Custom Hero- After he is dead he stays for 5 seconds standing still and then does normal death. at any level.

*When building a ballista its waypoints are screwed up. so that it spawns and instead of going through opening it goes through fence.

Pic: [attachment=28074:sshot0003.jpg]

*Hoplites when a group is selected a button image disappears even if at same level.

Pic: [attachment=28072:sshot0001.jpg]

Pic 2: [attachment=28073:sshot0002.jpg]

Compare the 2 pics above and you will notice the buttons.


Balance Report: In my opinion i think you should increase heroes health, and armor a little bit, especially custom heroes, the custom need everything improved but heal rate...

Edited by Dragon Rider, 29 July 2011 - 02:15 AM.


#7 Mathijs

Mathijs

    Post-modern Shaman

  • Network Leaders
  • 13,751 posts
  • Projects:Age of the Ring
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Leader

Posted 29 July 2011 - 08:19 PM

Balance

Ballista
- Decrease armor significantly.
- Decrease damage done to buildings.

Peltasts
- Perhaps they can deal a bit more damage to phalanxed hoplites.

No fuel left for the pilgrims


#8 Lauri

Lauri

    Old man Lauri

  • Hosted
  • 10,421 posts
  • Location:Norway
  • Projects:The 4th Age
  •  The very worst T3A Team Chamber Member

Posted 29 July 2011 - 09:50 PM

Glad you got it working :good: And I already know about your 3 bugs, but thanks anyways ;) About the CaH not dying right away, it says so in the Changelog.txt

-CaH: Some Spartan animations don't show (Dying for example)


Scouring of the Shire Beta 0.6.1 released: Link

 

For no good reason at all, just so we're clear.


#9 ArronSwan

ArronSwan
  • Members
  • 168 posts

Posted 30 July 2011 - 05:02 PM

Do you have any other mods installed?


Rc mod but It has it's own file

Do you have patch 1.06? (That is needed even if you used my temp-fix)


Yes

Do you have left-overs from other mods, or from any personal stuff, in the installation folder for BFME2?


I found some extracted files and deleted them.

Edited by ArronSwan, 30 July 2011 - 05:05 PM.


"I'm THE WAY, THE TRUTH and THE LIFE..."
Yeshua HaMashach (Jesus Christ)


#10 Mathijs

Mathijs

    Post-modern Shaman

  • Network Leaders
  • 13,751 posts
  • Projects:Age of the Ring
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Leader

Posted 30 July 2011 - 05:20 PM

I would suggest a full reinstall. Uninstall the game, delete your folders, then install and patch to 1.06, restart your PC, run the script (if you need to) and then the installer.

No fuel left for the pilgrims


#11 Elric

Elric

    Designer

  • Hosted
  • 2,857 posts
  • Projects:Middle-Earth Expanded
  •  Coder
  • Donated

Posted 01 August 2011 - 06:46 PM

Glad you got it working :good: And I already know about your 3 bugs, but thanks anyways ;) About the CaH not dying right away, it says so in the Changelog.txt

-CaH: Some Spartan animations don't show (Dying for example)


Posted Image Didn't see it, sorry! Just a suggestion but you should have an extracted version as well for people who are having trouble... So that they can manually do it..

Oh and Great Mod! cant wait for Athens!

p.s- Is there going to be more heroes for each faction and are there going to be fortress upgrades ex: Fortress fire arrows ect...




#12 JUS_SAURON

JUS_SAURON

    El Shaddai

  • Members
  • 1,567 posts
  • Location:Trinidad
  • Projects: BFME2 MOD - Power Of The Ring
  •   INI Coder

Posted 02 August 2011 - 04:12 AM

Hey great job on the Beta version :thumbsupsmiley:

I see you definitely wanted a TC Mod as not even the Gondorfarms , Marketplace or Healwell is used

I'll be checking this on time to time ... Hope to see some archers and Horseriders soon :shiftee2:

And the Sparta Map is one of the best I've seen as a Player made

The only balance issue is the scout on horseback with his sword should at least kill a wood-cutter with a few blows

And the guys with the curved Shield hold their spear in the wrong hand when idle , then suddenly switch when attacking

And Leonidas walks funny :crazed:

#13 Kwen

Kwen

    Vileartist

  • T3A Staff
  • 4,865 posts
  • Location:Korea I wish
  • Projects:It'sa secreeet
  •  T3A's First N00b
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A Expert
  • Donated

Posted 02 August 2011 - 05:26 AM

Well the scout won't really be able to kill anything, even the lumberjacks. Otherwise players would just send them running into enemy camps to kill off their economy. ;)

And as for archers and horsemen, you MAY see archers for the Athenians, but they would be allies from other Greek city-states if anything. And I don't think were planning on adding any cavalry, I mean.. How effective would they be? Since every unit so far is using some sort of spear, which cavalry are very weak to.

                           https://www.twitch.tv/vileartist - Yes shameless self-promotion

          ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

                            "Old modders never die, they just fade away" ~ Hostile


#14 Elvenlord

Elvenlord

    Polis Ranger

  • Advisors
  • 3,838 posts
  •  T3A Chamber Member

Posted 02 August 2011 - 06:09 AM

Running down peltasts, I'd imagine. Or have a special attack against farms for raiding.

elvenlordbanner.jpg
 


#15 Mathijs

Mathijs

    Post-modern Shaman

  • Network Leaders
  • 13,751 posts
  • Projects:Age of the Ring
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Leader

Posted 02 August 2011 - 07:03 AM

Actually, there is a cavalry unit in the works for Athens.

No fuel left for the pilgrims


#16 JUS_SAURON

JUS_SAURON

    El Shaddai

  • Members
  • 1,567 posts
  • Location:Trinidad
  • Projects: BFME2 MOD - Power Of The Ring
  •   INI Coder

Posted 02 August 2011 - 11:16 AM

Actually, there is a cavalry unit in the works for Athens.

Cool ,

Wrt the Scout . it would seem that at least while I'm busy cutting wood
and a guy with a sword comes and hacks at me 10 times I should fall .This should be the only unit
the scout should be able to kill :wink_new:

this will force players to protect their farms ...

While plain cavalry may be useless , a mounted archer may do some damage ..
at least to the guys without the Huge shields

This is minor balance anyways ... usually done at the end of a modding streak

Keep it coming ... :thumbsupsmiley:

#17 Glaeken

Glaeken

    Almost identical to something very similar

  • Project Team
  • 174 posts
  • Location:Ohio, USA
  • Projects:The Peloponnesian Wars mod - map team
  •  "...wordy little bastard..." - sometimes.

Posted 02 August 2011 - 11:29 AM

:thumbsupsmiley:
Glad you like the first custom map, Jus Sauron, there are several more in the works.
I'm assuming you mean the "Corinth" map, right?

#18 JUS_SAURON

JUS_SAURON

    El Shaddai

  • Members
  • 1,567 posts
  • Location:Trinidad
  • Projects: BFME2 MOD - Power Of The Ring
  •   INI Coder

Posted 02 August 2011 - 11:42 AM

:thumbsupsmiley:
Glad you like the first custom map, Jus Sauron, there are several more in the works.
I'm assuming you mean the "Corinth" map, right?


Possibly .. but I know it was made by you !

It was breathtaking .. the texturing was PERFECT ..
a great map really does up the value of a MOD

#19 The Best Guest

The Best Guest

    Herald of Kane.....

  • Division Admins
  • 2,048 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Projects:Revora, {IP}
  •  Varied
  • Division:C&C Guild
  • Job:PR Admin

Posted 02 August 2011 - 06:34 PM

I'm having the same problem as Dragon rider. I completely uninstalled, reinstalled the game and mod and it still won't work for me. Any ideas?

Thanks,
TBG
mrbar.jpg
SEE-Team_MapEditor.jpg

#20 Mathijs

Mathijs

    Post-modern Shaman

  • Network Leaders
  • 13,751 posts
  • Projects:Age of the Ring
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Leader

Posted 02 August 2011 - 06:46 PM

Did you manually install by downloading the TPW.big I uploaded?

No fuel left for the pilgrims





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users