Jump to content


Photo

File Format Editor (FFE) v1.05 - 15 July 2017


15 replies to this topic

#1 dark40k

dark40k
  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 14 July 2017 - 04:44 PM

Hi everyone,

 

As relic forum seems dead, I thought it could be a good thing to create a new thread here for the tools I have made.

I wanted to copy the previous summary but I can't find it. If anyone did backup it that would be nice if he could send it to me.

 

File Format Editor (FFE)

Base

  • Low level tool similar to the vanilla File Format with additional features.
  • Tool supports the following file types : sgb, whm, whe, rgd, rsh, events

Detailed features:

  • edit chunk data (ID, Version and Name)
  • cut/copy/paste chunks
  • reorder chunks
  • Hex edit DATA chunks + cut, copy paste, delete, undo and redo buttons.
  • Search chunks (IDs, Names, text content, Hex. content)
  • Replace text content (option is included to update String lengths)

Attached File  FFEv1.00.png   68.61KB   0 downloads

 

Runnable files and sources can be downloaded from:

Download link

 

History:

v1.04 - Added chunk deletion command and key shortcut (CTRL+Del)

v1.05 - Added current user directory persistence


Edited by dark40k, 15 July 2017 - 04:43 PM.


#2 thudo

thudo

    Wacko AI Guy!

  • Division Leaders
  • 12,035 posts
  • Location:Lemonville North, Canada
  • Projects:DoW AI Scripting Project
  • Division:DoW
  • Job:Division Leader

Posted 14 July 2017 - 04:51 PM

Absolutely superb! Thank you Dark40k for adding those additional features!


Advanced Skirmish AI Team Lead for the coolest Warhammer40k PC RTS out there:

Dawn of War Advanced AI Headquarters

Latest DoW Advanced AI Download!

#3 Gambit

Gambit

    title available

  • Members
  • 6,522 posts
  • Location:Athens, Greece

Posted 15 July 2017 - 07:03 AM

Hello brother Dark40k !

Nice addition to the (already excellent) FFE, will definitely put it to good use :thumbsuphappy:

 

 

P.S.: Just to say that we are still QUITE active, so these tools are indispensable for us.


-In search of Papasmurf...

#4 Roderick

Roderick

    3d models loota

  • Members
  • 1,933 posts

Posted 15 July 2017 - 10:42 AM

If permitted a suggestion, let some variable to store the last folder, or a feature to replace the starting folder. I am getting tired of browsing every instance into folders from My documents in C: to reach the whms in another HD



#5 dark40k

dark40k
  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 15 July 2017 - 04:42 PM

Hi Roderick,

 

Thanks for the suggestion.

I have found lately an easy way to handle such thing and I was wondering where I would give it a try. :)

 

v1.05 now includes current user directory persistence.

The directory is updated every-time the user opens or saves a file.

 

I have barely tested it : it seems to work for me.

Any feedback is welcome.

 

Greetings.

Dark40k


Edited by dark40k, 15 July 2017 - 04:44 PM.


#6 Roderick

Roderick

    3d models loota

  • Members
  • 1,933 posts

Posted 15 July 2017 - 06:31 PM

Cool I would give it a try soon! I am very grateful for your job



#7 fuggles

fuggles

    title available

  • Members
  • 4,805 posts

Posted 15 July 2017 - 06:33 PM

Can you copy and paste between two open instances of ffe?

#8 dark40k

dark40k
  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 15 July 2017 - 08:32 PM

No, it seems not. I think it only work inside the instance.

 

However, you can workaround it using import Raw / export Raw.



#9 Gambit

Gambit

    title available

  • Members
  • 6,522 posts
  • Location:Athens, Greece

Posted 15 July 2017 - 11:09 PM

Yeah, so far importing/exporting Raw is the way - but it works OK for me, it is 100% consistent.


-In search of Papasmurf...

#10 jONES1979

jONES1979

    eL-jONESON

  • Members
  • 1,713 posts
  • Location:Еду в Саратов стрелять в пиратов!

Posted 17 July 2017 - 05:31 PM

Finally, Dark40k is here! That's great. I had so much... "notices" about FFE's "not-as-expected-work", long ago, in times of doing this.

Maybe next time  :themenace:



#11 thudo

thudo

    Wacko AI Guy!

  • Division Leaders
  • 12,035 posts
  • Location:Lemonville North, Canada
  • Projects:DoW AI Scripting Project
  • Division:DoW
  • Job:Division Leader

Posted 10 December 2017 - 12:22 AM

@Dark40k.. need your help buddy..

 

Scenario - I am using FFE to change the texture path in a WHM in the MSGR section of a certain mesh. Changing the texture path in the SSHR section works no problems but when I need to change a certain mesh's texture path (as mentioned in the MSGR area under Data) it CTDs the game when I try to load the model after making the change.

 

Can you take a look?

 

Edit: Nevermind.. found the issue... I should have been using the "Auto Text" option in that MSGR section when changing the mesh's texture path. Once it asked me to edit the FULL texture path there I edited it, saved, went in-game, no CTD and it is also correctly using the new texture path!! :good: So never mind little olde me. :tongevil: 


Advanced Skirmish AI Team Lead for the coolest Warhammer40k PC RTS out there:

Dawn of War Advanced AI Headquarters

Latest DoW Advanced AI Download!

#12 dark40k

dark40k
  • Members
  • 13 posts

Posted 10 December 2017 - 08:07 AM

Glad you found. :)

Feel free to ask again if I can help.



#13 thudo

thudo

    Wacko AI Guy!

  • Division Leaders
  • 12,035 posts
  • Location:Lemonville North, Canada
  • Projects:DoW AI Scripting Project
  • Division:DoW
  • Job:Division Leader

Posted 10 December 2017 - 05:52 PM

Your tool has set the entire community aflame for some time now, my dear friend. Everything is now possible which was once a mere pipe dream! :w00t:

 

Just being able to do what I have done the last 24 hrs is utterly huge how well it does it. :thumbsuphappy:


Advanced Skirmish AI Team Lead for the coolest Warhammer40k PC RTS out there:

Dawn of War Advanced AI Headquarters

Latest DoW Advanced AI Download!

#14 Kimberly

Kimberly
  • New Members
  • 3 posts
  • Projects:Great Crusade and Horus Heresy: Talons of the Emperor (DOWSS)

Posted 03 January 2020 - 03:18 AM

Hello! By chance, how does one execute/run this program? :)

Edited by Kimberly, 03 January 2020 - 03:18 AM.


#15 fuggles

fuggles

    title available

  • Members
  • 4,805 posts

Posted 05 January 2020 - 07:32 AM

Unzip it and run the file format editor
.exe. from there you will need to open a file, normally a whe or whm file.

Typically you could copy a section from the model in the whm, say the chaos lord scythe, then open a force commander and paste the scythe section in.

You would delete the FCS chainsword and rename the scythe to the same name as the chainsword bit had.

There used to be tutorials but I think they are all gone. I once made a decent model, but in general it's a poor substitute for learning 3dmax. At best I could weapon and head swap reliably well.

#16 Kimberly

Kimberly
  • New Members
  • 3 posts
  • Projects:Great Crusade and Horus Heresy: Talons of the Emperor (DOWSS)

Posted 09 January 2020 - 07:53 PM

Thank you @fuggles





Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users