Jump to content


Photo

Non cheating AI...


  • Please log in to reply
48 replies to this topic

#41 Akkrand

Akkrand
  • New Members
  • 61 posts
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia

Posted 04 September 2004 - 10:10 AM

I think one of our limitations is that we simply cannot get the AI to use particle cannons properly.  We can probably get it to fire at an enemy structure by using the "team<SkirmishAmerica,probably> use commandbutton ability on nearest enemy object of type '???'" instead of telling the player to fire the special power.


I'm a bit iffy on using this command to fire the PC anyway... Not all object types are represented, not like using the object lists, it makes it difficult to target the things you want.
I do find it useful for some of the other gen abilities though, but I have a completely different purpose for it then.
Back on the original topic, regarding the computer cheating (with money)... How does everyone feel about the AI cheating with things not to do with money. I'm talking about exploiting the AI's intimate knowledge of exactly what you have, and sometimes a rough idea where it is, in situations where a human would have absolutely no idea (and indeed, literally could not possibly know)?

What's everyones take on this form of AI 'cheating'? Ok or not?

Cheers,
Lord Akkrand

Edited by Akkrand, 04 September 2004 - 10:13 AM.


#42 Mithril

Mithril

    496

  • Hosted
  • 1,386 posts
  • Location:UK
  • Projects:Heh! You're not going to ask me that question.

Posted 04 September 2004 - 10:12 AM

Yeah well I suppose its our only way to get things working.. Wait..

What if you gave the PCU a CommandbuttonHuntUpdate and set the generic team (teamSkirmishAmerica I mean by that) to hunt using that commandbutton ability? I wonder what it would do..

BTW I've converted your info about advanced dynamic attack paths into a tutorial here can ya have a quick look if anything needs changing? Logic wise I mean.
Command & Conquer: Red Alert - ReGeneration

"Not the faintest clue =\"

-ComradeJ

#43 Akkrand

Akkrand
  • New Members
  • 61 posts
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia

Posted 04 September 2004 - 10:20 AM

Cool. I read the tute, everything looks in order; I didn't read and evaluate every script 'cos my brain is fuzzy atm. I assume its all copied and pasted anyway, so should be fine :sad:
I've tried to tell teamSkirmishAmerica to hunt using the commandbutton thing, but it didn't work. I didn't alter the PCU to give it the CBU, but IIRC, its the team that is doing the hunting that needs the CBU, not the 'weapon' or command itself. I got some error in the debugger along the line that the teamSkirmishAmerica is not valid for use of commandbuttonhunt or something like that. It was a while ago.

Does anyone know where the information about the wave amplitude of the PCU is? I would still like to try it without that stupid 'S'.

BTW I edited my above post about 20 seconds after I posted it.

Cheers,
Lord Akkrand

#44 Hostile

Hostile

    Benefitting Humanity Simply by Showing Up!

  • Veterans
  • 9,551 posts
  • Location:Washington DC
  •  T3A Founder
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Global Administrator
  • Donated
  • Association

Posted 04 September 2004 - 11:19 AM

I'm curious about the area named SkirmishWorld. What purpose would you designate the entire playable map as that? Is this for scripting AI attacks or what? I've never heard or seen this.

#45 thudo

thudo

    Wacko AI Guy!

  • Division Leaders
  • 12,035 posts
  • Location:Lemonville North, Canada
  • Projects:DoW AI Scripting Project
  • Division:DoW
  • Job:Division Leader

Posted 04 September 2004 - 03:43 PM

I thought they did reveal, like any superweapon AS WELL as the strat center... ah well dont matter pcus still smell!


I thought so too..I thought the FS_SUPERWEAPON made it reveal itself..

*checks*

It does! At least in my ZH it does.


I think one of our limitations is that we simply cannot get the AI to use particle cannons properly. We can probably get it to fire at an enemy structure by using the "team<SkirmishAmerica,probably> use commandbutton ability on nearest enemy object of type '???'" instead of telling the player to fire the special power.

However, this may only be effective in combination with another big weapon, e.g. a group of auroras.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


WHAT THE HOLY F*CK?!? You can't be serious?!?! SuperWeapons for any General SHOULD NOT BE REVEALED once they are created. We all bitched and complained to EA why the heck the USA Strategy Center showed on the map when you changed a BattlePlan (to this day that is utter stupid and dumb why it shows itself to everyone even enemies..).

Anyway, I'll have a Skirmish Game and see what gives. I would be royally pissed if I saw any SuperWeapons show themselves.. It would be like painting a big target inviting a tailor-made Aurora attack. That **BUG** should be removed immediately! Only EA would be such typical a*ses to put that in.

As for the AFG being owned by the v1.03 Inf Genral.. I don't think so now. Look at the changes made to the Inf General. He's NERFED! Thank gawd too. Planes have a better chance now. Inf General's MiniGunners are humbled now! The v1.03 is a good start to balancing ZH!
Advanced Skirmish AI Team Lead for the coolest Warhammer40k PC RTS out there:

Dawn of War Advanced AI Headquarters

Latest DoW Advanced AI Download!

#46 thudo

thudo

    Wacko AI Guy!

  • Division Leaders
  • 12,035 posts
  • Location:Lemonville North, Canada
  • Projects:DoW AI Scripting Project
  • Division:DoW
  • Job:Division Leader

Posted 04 September 2004 - 03:47 PM

I'm curious about the area named SkirmishWorld. What purpose would you designate the entire playable map as that? Is this for scripting AI attacks or what? I've never heard or seen this.

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


The perimeter SKIRMISHWORLD is similar to the perimeter COMBATZONE on a Zero Hour Map but SkirmishWorld compromises the WHOLE MAP whereas CombatZone is usually designated in the center of it surrounded by all the Outerperimeters of each and every start point.

I personally, removed all SkirmishWorld perimeters from all my 150+ 6-8player ZH maps as I found the designation rather useless. Most activity takes place in the CombatZone and there is simply no need to encompass SkirmishWorld inside a StartingPoint due to the fact the AI will defend it accordingly anyway.

Still.. it can easily be added to all maps.. Its just a quick polygon tool that is created over the entire map and then labelled 'SkirmishWorld".
Advanced Skirmish AI Team Lead for the coolest Warhammer40k PC RTS out there:

Dawn of War Advanced AI Headquarters

Latest DoW Advanced AI Download!

#47 Lion

Lion
  • New Members
  • 50 posts

Posted 04 September 2004 - 06:07 PM

I thought superweapons also revealed since RA2 as well???

I think the AI can cheat in the way of knowing where the players things are as even if it did not completely nerf it, it would be almost impossible to make a decent line of sight/exploration engine... A really good player will know where your stuff is very fast (radar scans etc), so why not let the AI as well?

I use skirmishworld for things that combatzone simply wont cut... Ever seen the AI do stupid things like going to capture an oil derrick all the way to hell when there are 2 tech buildings RIGHT by his base? go and give skirmishworld a hug and cry on its shoulder, combatzone made the AI do it...
Ever seen units standing at the center of the map doing nothing at all even if the players base is being pounded or there are units sneaking in? Thanks combatzone! again!
I personally despise the combatzone as in the vast majority of maps they are far from well placed/shaped, and you get oil derricks the AI cannot get to, units that dont protect the center of the map correctly etc.

There is however a use for the combat zone and that is my SWG, it had a cool script where it would guard the CZ and basically wouldn’t let you leave your base, however in maps like twilight flame all you had to do is sneak around carefully!

I really find it weird that you guys like PCUs... do you play a lot on the internet or just against the computer? From my internet experience its the most underused SW and normally people will even upgrade to MOAB instead of building a PCU...

And as for they showing up, well that’s why i like auroras :sad:
Anyways

#48 Akkrand

Akkrand
  • New Members
  • 61 posts
  • Location:Melbourne, Australia

Posted 05 September 2004 - 07:37 AM

Yeah I'm pretty sure that Superweapons get revealed when they are created, and the fog of war does not encompass them (except stealth gen, whose scud hides again)

I don't particularly like the PCU, when compared to the Scud storm and nuke, but it does have a much greater capacity for damage than when used by the AI. I've tried some changes to the swatheofdeathamplitude thing, it makes it a little better shortening the swathe, although I'm going to test lengthening it but increasing the amp... that might make it hit a greater net area but do less damage to individual buildings though, so it might not work well.

I do like SkirmishWorld, I would use it more if I could guarantee that it was in every map, which it is not, so I make do without for the moment.

Cheers,
Lord Akkrand

#49 Vanguard

Vanguard

    Modding Guru

  • Hosted
  • 2,139 posts
  • Location:Texas
  • Projects:Project Raptor
  •  Stand Down Sir!

Posted 04 December 2004 - 11:50 PM

Nice stuff Lion, I need the addaptive AI for my mod. I'll play around with the scripts.
Posted Image
Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image
Posted Image

- Vanguard




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users