Jump to content


Photo

Game Dat Errors


  • Please log in to reply
44 replies to this topic

#21 Guest_eglang_*

Guest_eglang_*
  • Guests

Posted 03 December 2006 - 05:56 PM

i've patched bfme 1 with patch 1.03 and then i double clicked the icon and it didnt run.
i tryed patching bfme 2 with patch 1.06 iand the same problem happened .DOES ANYBODY KNOW HOW TO FIX THIS

#22 Bart

Bart

  • Network Leaders
  • 8,524 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Network Leader

Posted 04 December 2006 - 11:04 PM

try a reinstall
bartvh | Join me, make your signature small!
Einstein: "We can’t solve problems by using the same kind of thinking we used when we created them."

#23 Fingulfin

Fingulfin

    I Like Pi3. Do you?

  • Hosted
  • 1,752 posts
  • Location:California, USA
  • Projects:Staying Alive.
  •  This place looks familiar. I can't remember why.

Posted 15 December 2006 - 12:06 AM

I got one! When you add more than 8 sciences to "IntrinsicSciencesMP" (in playertemplate.ini) the game will give you a game.dat error on map startup.
Posted Image
--------------------------------------
"You look like a ghost of your former self..."

#24 Guest_Bobby_*

Guest_Bobby_*
  • Guests

Posted 21 December 2006 - 05:28 AM

Great I download The game.dat in The http://gothmogtheorc.the3rdage.net/ Then i Repatch ver,1.02 Its work But why It cannot play?? it say >> please insert correct DVD-ROM, select OK and restar application <<
Why it doesn't work again..?? how To fix the second Problem..?? pls...

#25 Pixel

Pixel

  • Hosted
  • 2,451 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 21 December 2006 - 07:12 AM

You cannot play the game without your disc in the machine.

please insert correct DVD-ROM, select OK and restar application <<


Please insert correct dvd = Please insert the correct disc. Either you have ilegal version with no disc. Or you havent put the right disc (if you have cds instead of the dvd version) into the drive.

#26 zimoo

zimoo

    Ecthelion of the Fountain

  • Project Team
  • 2,009 posts
  • Location:Devon, England
  • Projects:Lurking until the off topic begins...
  •  Guardian of the Books

Posted 22 December 2006 - 11:42 AM

Or your DVD/CD rom is being really annoying, despite the fact you have a legal version of the game.

Try cleaning the CD a bit, and if that doesn't work then reboot.
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

Playing games? Ah, you'll never be a good modder if you get involved in actually playing them!


#27 SquallBK

SquallBK

    Coder

  • Project Team
  • 221 posts
  • Projects:No public projects until I finish a mod, I've learned my lesson
  •  Coder

Posted 29 December 2006 - 04:27 AM

Well i dunno about other factions, but when i edited the skirmishaidata.ini i got an error everytime i went against mordor but didnt discover till later its cuz i couldnt replace the mordorwitchking with the angmar witch king (and yes i had already edited the playertemplate) so id say you cant delete the herosortorder without getting a game.dat error.
92% of teens have moved onto rap. If you are part of the 8% that still listen to real music, copy and paste this into your signature

#28 Stealthsnake

Stealthsnake

    Battles of Gondor mod leader

  • Hosted
  • 976 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Projects:Battles of Gondor
  •  coder, skinner, mapper, graphics

Posted 20 February 2007 - 04:13 PM

found a new one, if you place a "Command_PurchaseSpell" command button in the "SpellStoreCommandSet", the game will game.dat when you open the spell book up.
Posted Image
Posted Image
a mod for rotwk, includes Harad, Rhun, Rohan and Southern Fiefdoms Factions, beta released, site/forums for the mod is here.

#29 Bart

Bart

  • Network Leaders
  • 8,524 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Network Leader

Posted 20 February 2007 - 05:42 PM

huh :huh: isn't that exactly where those buttons are supposed to go?
bartvh | Join me, make your signature small!
Einstein: "We can’t solve problems by using the same kind of thinking we used when we created them."

#30 Lauri

Lauri

    Let us remember foREVer

  • Hosted
  • 10,419 posts
  • Location:Norway
  • Projects:'The 4th Age' and 'Shadow and Flame'
  •  The very worst T3A Team Chamber Member

Posted 20 February 2007 - 05:56 PM

no, it's two different ;) one for the spellbook, and another for the.... left-on-screen thingys :huh:

Shadow and Flame BETA 0.6 RELEASED - Link


#31 Bart

Bart

  • Network Leaders
  • 8,524 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Network Leader

Posted 20 February 2007 - 07:51 PM

yes, but the PurchaseSpell buttons should obviously be in the SpellStore commandset, so i don't get it..
bartvh | Join me, make your signature small!
Einstein: "We can’t solve problems by using the same kind of thinking we used when we created them."

#32 Lauri

Lauri

    Let us remember foREVer

  • Hosted
  • 10,419 posts
  • Location:Norway
  • Projects:'The 4th Age' and 'Shadow and Flame'
  •  The very worst T3A Team Chamber Member

Posted 20 February 2007 - 10:50 PM

maybe it's the other way around... one of you are mistaken though :huh:

Shadow and Flame BETA 0.6 RELEASED - Link


#33 Juissi

Juissi

    AWESOM-O

  • Hosted
  • 1,555 posts
  • Location:Finland
  • Projects:Last Alliance modification, The Hobbit mod
  •  Forger Of (Last) Alliance

Posted 21 February 2007 - 08:00 AM

It is like this: if you put PurchaseSpell to SpellBookCommandSet it crashes

Edit: Its really annoying mistake that I often do :huh:

Edited by Makaveli, 21 February 2007 - 08:01 AM.


#34 Stealthsnake

Stealthsnake

    Battles of Gondor mod leader

  • Hosted
  • 976 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Projects:Battles of Gondor
  •  coder, skinner, mapper, graphics

Posted 21 February 2007 - 11:24 AM

yea, when your coding a hole new spellbook, its easy to make a mistake like that, and is exactly what i did yestaday. it may sound stupid now, but none the less its a game.dat thats been reported so should be on the list.
Posted Image
Posted Image
a mod for rotwk, includes Harad, Rhun, Rohan and Southern Fiefdoms Factions, beta released, site/forums for the mod is here.

#35 ched

ched

    .

  • Undead
  • 4,431 posts
  • Location:Angers (France)
  • Projects:Rhovanion Alliance
  •  T3A Team Chamber Member
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:Previous Division Leader

Posted 21 February 2007 - 11:25 AM

and it has been added already :huh:

do you mind if I use Tom as your name on that list, or would you rather I change ?
Software is like sex; it's better when it's free ~Linus Torvald

#36 Stealthsnake

Stealthsnake

    Battles of Gondor mod leader

  • Hosted
  • 976 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Projects:Battles of Gondor
  •  coder, skinner, mapper, graphics

Posted 21 February 2007 - 03:58 PM

Tom, stealth, snake or Stealthsnake is fine as everyone seems to call me diferent names now a days. But id rather not be known as Tom8778 now, as that name sucked :p

Edited by Stealthsnake, 21 February 2007 - 03:58 PM.

Posted Image
Posted Image
a mod for rotwk, includes Harad, Rhun, Rohan and Southern Fiefdoms Factions, beta released, site/forums for the mod is here.

#37 Lauri

Lauri

    Let us remember foREVer

  • Hosted
  • 10,419 posts
  • Location:Norway
  • Projects:'The 4th Age' and 'Shadow and Flame'
  •  The very worst T3A Team Chamber Member

Posted 21 February 2007 - 04:38 PM

Tom is awesome :p

Shadow and Flame BETA 0.6 RELEASED - Link


#38 Bart

Bart

  • Network Leaders
  • 8,524 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Network Leader

Posted 24 February 2007 - 11:08 PM

added missing shellmap
bartvh | Join me, make your signature small!
Einstein: "We can’t solve problems by using the same kind of thinking we used when we created them."

#39 Lauri

Lauri

    Let us remember foREVer

  • Hosted
  • 10,419 posts
  • Location:Norway
  • Projects:'The 4th Age' and 'Shadow and Flame'
  •  The very worst T3A Team Chamber Member

Posted 24 February 2007 - 11:09 PM

gah, why didn't I mention that... I knew about it :p

Shadow and Flame BETA 0.6 RELEASED - Link


#40 Bart

Bart

  • Network Leaders
  • 8,524 posts
  • Location:The Netherlands
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Network Leader

Posted 24 February 2007 - 11:43 PM

OMG Lauri is a selfish egocentric capitalist!!!!11 hang him!! :p
bartvh | Join me, make your signature small!
Einstein: "We can’t solve problems by using the same kind of thinking we used when we created them."




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users