Jump to content


Photo

I'm asking you


  • Please log in to reply
53 replies to this topic

#41 Kwen

Kwen

    Vileartist

  • T3A Staff
  • 4,837 posts
  • Location:Korea I wish
  • Projects:It'sa secreeet
  •  T3A's First N00b
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A Expert
  • Donated

Posted 16 May 2005 - 07:02 PM

how do you edit the model? and how to you put the skin on the model?

                           https://www.twitch.tv/vileartist - Yes shameless self-promotion

          ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

                            "Old modders never die, they just fade away" ~ Hostile


#42 eRe4s3r

eRe4s3r
  • Project Team
  • 63 posts

Posted 17 May 2005 - 01:31 AM

well there comes the part where its not gonna be easy anymore

adding a completly new skin is HELL

and editing the model would mean to correctly bind the skeleton via the wwskin helper after u are done, both are things that are very complicated.. u really should start with the easier part first (models of buildings ^^)

that aint helping much, but i doubt anyone can help you there except to point to that infantry tutorial and the several uv skinning tutorials .)

#43 Kwen

Kwen

    Vileartist

  • T3A Staff
  • 4,837 posts
  • Location:Korea I wish
  • Projects:It'sa secreeet
  •  T3A's First N00b
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A Expert
  • Donated

Posted 17 May 2005 - 01:52 AM

nope that doesnt help much

                           https://www.twitch.tv/vileartist - Yes shameless self-promotion

          ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

                            "Old modders never die, they just fade away" ~ Hostile


#44 Kwen

Kwen

    Vileartist

  • T3A Staff
  • 4,837 posts
  • Location:Korea I wish
  • Projects:It'sa secreeet
  •  T3A's First N00b
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A Expert
  • Donated

Posted 17 May 2005 - 01:53 AM

i've tried

                           https://www.twitch.tv/vileartist - Yes shameless self-promotion

          ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

                            "Old modders never die, they just fade away" ~ Hostile


#45 Morgoth

Morgoth

    Commander of the Armies of Angband

  • Members
  • 82 posts
  • Location:Tehachapi, CA
  • Projects:Battle in Moria skinner, Battle for the Galaxy skinner

Posted 17 May 2005 - 02:44 AM

well there comes the part where its not gonna be easy anymore

adding a completly new skin is HELL

and editing the model would mean to correctly bind the skeleton via the wwskin helper after u are done, both are things that are very complicated.. u really should start with the easier part first (models of buildings ^^)

that aint helping much, but i doubt anyone can help you there except to point to that infantry tutorial and the several uv skinning tutorials .)

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


I've applied skins to several models and it is not "HELL". Mapping out the skin for a brand new model is a little difficult, but i've done it to two models. The whole WWSkin thing isn't nearly as bad as you would think. The hardest part about it is making sure that the bones are bound to the correct vertices.

#46 eRe4s3r

eRe4s3r
  • Project Team
  • 63 posts

Posted 17 May 2005 - 04:18 AM

i dont know about you, but i failed so far applying an high resolution uv map to a gondor soldier.. and thats completly overwriting everything, aka brand new uvw map (since the textur is 3x higher resolution) basicly.. of course its easy if you have patience.. but i never seem to get the texture applied without any disturbance or distortion, is there a trick for that?

#47 Morgoth

Morgoth

    Commander of the Armies of Angband

  • Members
  • 82 posts
  • Location:Tehachapi, CA
  • Projects:Battle in Moria skinner, Battle for the Galaxy skinner

Posted 17 May 2005 - 03:18 PM

I don't seem to have any problem applying textures. Granted i've never enlarged an existing skin, but it doesn't seem to be that hard. You just enlarge the skin in Photoshop and draw over the areas of the texture with better graphics. This way, the sections of the texture will still be in the same location on the model, but they will be higher resolution.

#48 Kwen

Kwen

    Vileartist

  • T3A Staff
  • 4,837 posts
  • Location:Korea I wish
  • Projects:It'sa secreeet
  •  T3A's First N00b
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A Expert
  • Donated

Posted 17 May 2005 - 09:28 PM

all i care about is editing faramirs/tower guard models to something i want

                           https://www.twitch.tv/vileartist - Yes shameless self-promotion

          ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

                            "Old modders never die, they just fade away" ~ Hostile


#49 Kwen

Kwen

    Vileartist

  • T3A Staff
  • 4,837 posts
  • Location:Korea I wish
  • Projects:It'sa secreeet
  •  T3A's First N00b
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A Expert
  • Donated

Posted 21 May 2005 - 11:38 PM

does anybody intend on helping?

                           https://www.twitch.tv/vileartist - Yes shameless self-promotion

          ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

                            "Old modders never die, they just fade away" ~ Hostile


#50 Celeglin

Celeglin

    Silhouette of a Serenade

  • Hosted
  • 2,468 posts
  • Projects:The Elven Alliance, Rhovanion Alliance
  •  T3A Team Chamber Member

Posted 21 May 2005 - 11:50 PM

What is it you want them to be?

Posted Image
Posted Image


#51 Kwen

Kwen

    Vileartist

  • T3A Staff
  • 4,837 posts
  • Location:Korea I wish
  • Projects:It'sa secreeet
  •  T3A's First N00b
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A Expert
  • Donated

Posted 23 May 2005 - 10:21 PM

i want to change a gondor swordsman to gondor spearman

                           https://www.twitch.tv/vileartist - Yes shameless self-promotion

          ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

                            "Old modders never die, they just fade away" ~ Hostile


#52 ched

ched

    .

  • Undead
  • 4,431 posts
  • Location:Angers (France)
  • Projects:Rhovanion Alliance
  •  T3A Team Chamber Member
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:Previous Division Leader

Posted 23 May 2005 - 10:53 PM

i want to change a gondor swordsman to gondor spearman

<{POST_SNAPBACK}>


that would as well require a change of skeleton so the animations look good (you dont want your pikemen to use their spears as swords, do you ? :) )
Software is like sex; it's better when it's free ~Linus Torvald

#53 Celeglin

Celeglin

    Silhouette of a Serenade

  • Hosted
  • 2,468 posts
  • Projects:The Elven Alliance, Rhovanion Alliance
  •  T3A Team Chamber Member

Posted 23 May 2005 - 10:56 PM

Hmm... Would it be easier to change around the Tower Guard model to make it look more like the Gondorian Swordsman?

Posted Image
Posted Image


#54 Kwen

Kwen

    Vileartist

  • T3A Staff
  • 4,837 posts
  • Location:Korea I wish
  • Projects:It'sa secreeet
  •  T3A's First N00b
  • Division:BFME
  • Job:T3A Expert
  • Donated

Posted 24 May 2005 - 12:48 AM

i figured out how to make it so the mesh looks different but i cant figure out how to add parts

                           https://www.twitch.tv/vileartist - Yes shameless self-promotion

          ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

                            "Old modders never die, they just fade away" ~ Hostile





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users