Jump to content


Photo

General Talk


  • Please log in to reply
265 replies to this topic

#21 Xingdao Fan

Xingdao Fan

    the Mysterious

  • Project Team
  • 573 posts
  • Projects:RJ-RotWK (BETA testing)

Posted 03 July 2007 - 08:50 AM

Entmoot increases the circle where you can build. I could get to build an Armory outside the walls because of the Entmoot.

By the way, I don't think that elven girl needs to be there.

Game froze again when I was playing as Rohan vs 3 Isengards in Helms Deep. Two medium AIs, the other Hard.

EDIT: And I forgot to say, two voices shout when I finish building a Rohan Archery Range.

Edited by Xingdao Fan, 03 July 2007 - 08:51 AM.

Posted Image

#22 Devon

Devon

    Dark Nerd of the Sith

  • Global Moderators
  • 5,886 posts
  • Location:Colbert Nation
  • Projects:RJ RotWK, Twilight of the Republic, HDLH
  •  T3A Chamber Member
  • Division:Community
  • Job:Global Moderator
  • Donated

Posted 03 July 2007 - 04:50 PM

personally, i think that the elven castle is the coolest.
on some of the maps, some of the corner walls are missing.
rj maps need better farm templates, they suck right now.
its really hard to build stuff in some of the plots, usually the middle. we talked about this already :grin:
Heros should cost around 0-10 cp, definatly not 60-80.
southern fiefdom units should either have their own barracks, or be a subfaction like elves are to arnor.
unmounted knights of DA cost 1100 for a battalion, but return 660 each when sent to fortress. easy way to make money when your low ;)
in rj old brown lands, i had dwarves in top middle plot, and they didnt do anything.

Thats about all i can think of off the top of my head :xcahik_:

EDIT: Oh and also, when you combin hordes that switch weapons, such as elven warriors, instead of doing the swords in front archers in back thing they all are the same and can switch swords and bow. It might be cool if u put in another formation in the toggle weapon thing that lets it go back to swords in front and bows in back. It would also be cool if you could switch positions of swords and pikes, and maybe get them to stagger within the rows.

Edited by YodaWarrior, 03 July 2007 - 05:13 PM.

yodasig2.png
My political compass
There's a story that the grass is so green...what did I see? Where have I been?


#23 Dalf32

Dalf32

    The Ever-Willing

  • Project Team
  • 1,923 posts
  • Location:right behind you!
  • Projects:Beta Testing RJ-RotWK

Posted 03 July 2007 - 06:57 PM

btw, we need 2 get that multiplayer gam u wer talkin bout set up. perhaps l8r this week, only bc im gonna b gon most of next week :( id really lik 2 play this online.

"A wizard is never late, nor is he early; he arrives precisely when he means to."

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image


#24 Allathar

Allathar

    これを翻訳する

  • Project Team
  • 2,752 posts
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Projects:RJ-RotWK
  •  Greedy capitalist and cynical bastard.

Posted 03 July 2007 - 07:20 PM

I think Isengard and Evil Men should get walls in the Battle for Middle-earth 1 style maps. The good factions got them, Angmar too, and Goblins and Mordor have free spam-units. Isen & EM got neither of those, making them early-game an easy target.

Perhaps their walls should be weaker than average, but can still only be attacked by siege weapons, like all walls. (so no pikemen breaching a giant wall)

Also, what's exactly the point of 'switch commandset' in the fortress?

Edited by Allathar, 03 July 2007 - 07:21 PM.

It has been reported that some victims of rape, during the act, would retreat into a fantasy world from which they could not WAKE UP. In this catatonic state, the victim lived in a world just like their normal one, except they weren't being raped. The only way that they realized they needed to WAKE UP was a note they found in their fantasy world. It would tell them about their condition, and tell them to WAKE UP. Even then, it would often take months until they were ready to discard their fantasy world and PLEASE WAKE UP

#25 robnkarla

robnkarla

    title available

  • Hosted
  • 1,849 posts
  • Location:California
  • Projects:RJ-RotWK
  •  crazy coder

Posted 03 July 2007 - 08:55 PM

I'm thinking of giving Isengard walls similar to there standard wall. What I'll do - I'll come up with a few options and put it to a poll to have everyone choose. (They will be based off of their BFME2 Wall System). Evil Men will be the same. It seems like everyone wants a little more than the choke points. (Uruks as the best initial unit also will not be enough)

The "switch commandset" is the commandset for Rohan and Gondor Fortresses. It was something I put in for the campaign to test. It allows you to have a menu with 25+ heroes instead of just 17 or so.

#26 robnkarla

robnkarla

    title available

  • Hosted
  • 1,849 posts
  • Location:California
  • Projects:RJ-RotWK
  •  crazy coder

Posted 04 July 2007 - 05:51 AM

YYYYYYYYEEEEEESSSSSSSSS!!!! :p :p

Lol. I think I got a bunch of the oddball bugs out. (My Heroes, Campaign crashing, maybe even the game freezing!!!)

Now I just need to figure out how I'm going to go about solving this. It seems there is a limit to the number of upgrades that are definable. Since the CaH were last, sometimes when some of the upgrades were used in game it would make the game crash!

Well, just thought I'd update this. (Time to go get some asprin and remove some of the upgrades...)

#27 Rob38

Rob38

    Believer of Hope

  • Hosted
  • 3,567 posts
  • Location:USA
  • Projects:Helm's Deep Last Hope
  •  One who is not afraid of new challenges

Posted 04 July 2007 - 06:55 AM

Yea, I believe you can add around 100 or so of your own upgrades before the game starts to crash. Since many of the upgrades are just object ones, I just use the ones already existing and just create the ones that I need to make unique :p

signature_group1.gif

 

16821.png


#28 robnkarla

robnkarla

    title available

  • Hosted
  • 1,849 posts
  • Location:California
  • Projects:RJ-RotWK
  •  crazy coder

Posted 04 July 2007 - 07:11 AM

Yeah, it was in the back of my mind and I did not connect the dots, as it was not exactly obvious. They were such odd game.dat errors and game freezing errors. (I was a good deal over the 100, so it acted really funny in WotR and My Heroes.)

With the additional factions, new inn system, and other areas I needed more than 100 for RotWK. I'm just going through now and removing all of the upgrade_[heroname][heropower] and replacing them with generic. I'll try to free up as many upgrades as possible so I will not have to worry about it in the future. (It's times like these that I almost wish I did this with BFME2, but then I remember the other reasons I went with RotWK.)

#29 Xingdao Fan

Xingdao Fan

    the Mysterious

  • Project Team
  • 573 posts
  • Projects:RJ-RotWK (BETA testing)

Posted 04 July 2007 - 08:05 AM

But BFME II doesn't allow you to have up to 10 factions, so you would have problems either way. I'm glad you found the bug, though.

When's the next BETA out?
Posted Image

#30 robnkarla

robnkarla

    title available

  • Hosted
  • 1,849 posts
  • Location:California
  • Projects:RJ-RotWK
  •  crazy coder

Posted 04 July 2007 - 08:37 AM

I'm aiming for sometime over the weekend, probably closer to sunday/monday this time instead of Friday. Along with some bug fixes I want to overhaul the CP for heroes, units, and so forth. CP for heroes will drastically change.

Before I put send the e-mail out for the 1.05.01 I'll be posting the complete change log. Hopefully there will be no more freezes, crashes, and so forth.

As for BFMEII - the benefit would have been at least a hundred less upgrades. CaH uses way too many upgrades and I would not have hit the limit so soon. But you can have 2 more factions with CaH in RotWK, plus a bunch of new content that I can mess around with. Since it is a mod, the actual game it is based on does not matter too much as pretty much everything has been changed.

#31 Xingdao Fan

Xingdao Fan

    the Mysterious

  • Project Team
  • 573 posts
  • Projects:RJ-RotWK (BETA testing)

Posted 04 July 2007 - 11:04 AM

Aww... only in the weekend? I was hopping to play the campaign sooner ^.^
Posted Image

#32 fehik

fehik
  • Project Team
  • 207 posts

Posted 04 July 2007 - 04:17 PM

This month i will not be so active, cause i will be away from my PC, i'm gonna spend my time home only a week(from 15 july to 23 july), but in august i'm free, and i can sacrifice my freetime, for this wonderful mod.

fehik a.k.a SZ.E.A
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

#33 Devon

Devon

    Dark Nerd of the Sith

  • Global Moderators
  • 5,886 posts
  • Location:Colbert Nation
  • Projects:RJ RotWK, Twilight of the Republic, HDLH
  •  T3A Chamber Member
  • Division:Community
  • Job:Global Moderator
  • Donated

Posted 05 July 2007 - 02:26 AM

great news!

yodasig2.png
My political compass
There's a story that the grass is so green...what did I see? Where have I been?


#34 Nothingness

Nothingness
  • Members
  • 15 posts

Posted 06 July 2007 - 12:58 AM

Thanks for the beta. For some reason though about 7 minutes ingame it just freezes. Normal rotwk on high settings works fine though. cant give much more due to lack of game time. already tried reinstalling. I think its happens when the AI activates something. Not sure. a little help.

ignore my last post. I usually just scan the forum. Msut of overlooked your other post about the glitches.
Posted Image

Posted Image

#35 robnkarla

robnkarla

    title available

  • Hosted
  • 1,849 posts
  • Location:California
  • Projects:RJ-RotWK
  •  crazy coder

Posted 06 July 2007 - 01:54 AM

Thanks for the beta. For some reason though about 7 minutes ingame it just freezes. Normal rotwk on high settings works fine though. cant give much more due to lack of game time. already tried reinstalling. I think its happens when the AI activates something. Not sure. a little help.

ignore my last post. I usually just scan the forum. Msut of overlooked your other post about the glitches.


I believe this is happening when the AI purchases the CaH. It has been fixed in the next release this week-end.

Robert J.

#36 Guest_Guest_*

Guest_Guest_*
  • Guests

Posted 06 July 2007 - 04:11 AM

Hi!

Look I have a sugestion... You could add an option before the install that ask us what things we want to install.. I mean, indivudualy choose the thing to install lol...

Sorry if the idea was already given =)

#37 robnkarla

robnkarla

    title available

  • Hosted
  • 1,849 posts
  • Location:California
  • Projects:RJ-RotWK
  •  crazy coder

Posted 06 July 2007 - 04:17 AM

It would be an interesting idea, but everything is so interwoven I doubt I could seperate them into groups. What areas where you thinking of?

#38 Xingdao Fan

Xingdao Fan

    the Mysterious

  • Project Team
  • 573 posts
  • Projects:RJ-RotWK (BETA testing)

Posted 06 July 2007 - 07:47 AM

I don't think that is needed. Installing separate factions? No need, you use the ones you want. The campaign? Doesn't overwrite anything, so just keep it as it is. Besides, we don't even have an .exe installation file.
Posted Image

#39 Guest_Guest_*

Guest_Guest_*
  • Guests

Posted 06 July 2007 - 12:41 PM

I don't think that is needed. Installing separate factions? No need, you use the ones you want. The campaign? Doesn't overwrite anything, so just keep it as it is. Besides, we don't even have an .exe installation file.


Lol maybe you are right... But I wasn't thinking in install only some factions, I was thinking that you could put an option that we could choose if we want install the factions or campaign or the castels... or all of them but that could ruin the game version and no more multiplayer games lol...

Btw it this mode we can play Multiplayer mode right? lol

#40 Allathar

Allathar

    これを翻訳する

  • Project Team
  • 2,752 posts
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Projects:RJ-RotWK
  •  Greedy capitalist and cynical bastard.

Posted 06 July 2007 - 01:26 PM

In next version we're planning to make a multiplayer battle, right?
It has been reported that some victims of rape, during the act, would retreat into a fantasy world from which they could not WAKE UP. In this catatonic state, the victim lived in a world just like their normal one, except they weren't being raped. The only way that they realized they needed to WAKE UP was a note they found in their fantasy world. It would tell them about their condition, and tell them to WAKE UP. Even then, it would often take months until they were ready to discard their fantasy world and PLEASE WAKE UP




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users