Jump to content


Photo

Isengard - rescaled for S.E.E.


  • Please log in to reply
113 replies to this topic

#21 Nazgûl

Nazgûl

    S.E.E. Team Leader

  • Hosted
  • 10,561 posts
  • Location:Sweden
  • Projects:BFME2 - Nazgûl's Special Extended Edition
  •  Veteran

Posted 03 January 2009 - 01:30 PM

I think there are smoke emitters in WB, so that should be possible. I tried to do the same for Sauron's little mountain :p

// C}{riZpc_punch.gif
"Do not come between the Nazgûl and his mod!"
SEE_Banner_2008.jpg
SEE-Team_Leader.jpg
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> I S.E.E. YOU! <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


#22 njm1983

njm1983

    title available

  • Project Team
  • 2,867 posts
  • Location:Orangevale, California USA

Posted 04 January 2009 - 12:44 AM

Thanks all for comments, Ive been doing a ton of research on the Isengard and from what I can tell EA had some things off. While for mission purposes the damn makes sense inside isengard, but doesnt when you consider that the river isen then flowed through isengard. next when watching scenes in TT the water that floods isengard appears to be flowing north to south, rather than west to east which would support the damn inside isengard. plus most area maps of the valley have the river to the east of Isengard flowing south from the northern part of the mountain. So any way without further delay:

Posted Image

Ill be adding a dried river bed to the eastern side, Im thinking this will be a 4 player map, and the 3 outside will be in the corners, this is a 600 x 600 map now.

#23 karlo

karlo
  • Members
  • 38 posts
  • Location:Split,Croatia™

Posted 04 January 2009 - 01:49 AM

I dont have a word to describe this beauty!
I hope soon we will be able to play this map!

My Total War Center profile:
http://www.twcenter....ber.php?u=39612

Posted Image

If you don't like me than DIE


#24 Prince of the Dark Forest

Prince of the Dark Forest
  • Members
  • 249 posts

Posted 04 January 2009 - 09:08 AM

That new cavern is truly awesome. Is that going to be the new furnace or something?
Ignited into the world in a flash of lightning, it gleams faintly in the heart of its mother, wood. It begins as an ember, a mere wisp of heat and colour. Its chance of survival at this critical moment is minute, yet it fights on, against the unforgiving cold, against the depths of night and against its mortal enemy: rain.

#25 karlo

karlo
  • Members
  • 38 posts
  • Location:Split,Croatia™

Posted 04 January 2009 - 12:03 PM

Good idea.It would be cool furnance for isengard!

My Total War Center profile:
http://www.twcenter....ber.php?u=39612

Posted Image

If you don't like me than DIE


#26 njm1983

njm1983

    title available

  • Project Team
  • 2,867 posts
  • Location:Orangevale, California USA

Posted 04 January 2009 - 05:46 PM

By furnace Im assuming you mean, the resource structure? And that these caverns will be a resource structure? I didnt plan on it, these caverns are more for looks than anything.

#27 Floris

Floris

    title available

  • Members
  • 318 posts
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Projects:My first map: Esteldin, hideout of the Dunedain Rangers.

Posted 04 January 2009 - 06:41 PM

It would be so cool if the caves would give resources or upgrades for the Isengard player.
The race of Men is failing, the blood of Númenor is all but spent – its pride and dignity forgotten… It is because of Men the Ring survives.

#28 njm1983

njm1983

    title available

  • Project Team
  • 2,867 posts
  • Location:Orangevale, California USA

Posted 04 January 2009 - 09:05 PM

Interesting idea although I doubt theres a way to do it. On a side note we are going to implement different special abilities for the citadels of fortress maps specific to the race whom the fortress belongs to. For instance Minas tirith has the vision of the palantir power for Men player only. Caras Galadhon is using the lorien tree house as the citadel and it has elven mists for Elven player only. We may try and have Isengard have a special mount ability for Saruman to get on top the tower, doubtfull though. and there is an obvious power yet to be decided.

Heres another update been working mostly on terrain, ive added the river bed and decide to use static water that passable instead of it being bone dry. My plan is to get the terrain all finished that doesnt need changing between the 2 versions. so mountains general exterior of Isengard and river. That way its just a matter of texture differences.

Posted Image

#29 Nazgûl

Nazgûl

    S.E.E. Team Leader

  • Hosted
  • 10,561 posts
  • Location:Sweden
  • Projects:BFME2 - Nazgûl's Special Extended Edition
  •  Veteran

Posted 04 January 2009 - 09:14 PM

Great plan! Sounds perfect! ;)
The two versions could come in handy for the campaign!

For the Saruman on top thing, I think we can do it, if the tower would have a passenger bone on top... Maybe Ed or someone could "model" it in there? =)

Edited by Nazgûl, 04 January 2009 - 09:14 PM.

// C}{riZpc_punch.gif
"Do not come between the Nazgûl and his mod!"
SEE_Banner_2008.jpg
SEE-Team_Leader.jpg
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> I S.E.E. YOU! <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


#30 njm1983

njm1983

    title available

  • Project Team
  • 2,867 posts
  • Location:Orangevale, California USA

Posted 04 January 2009 - 09:25 PM

My concern now is its height cause its now scaled to 2.0 and I dont think the top will be visible.

#31 mike_

mike_

    Student of Homer.

  • Global Moderators
  • 4,323 posts
  • Location:Gulfport, MS
  • Projects:The Peloponnesian Wars Mod.
  •  There are no heroes, no villains - only decisions.
  • Division:Community
  • Job:Global Moderator

Posted 04 January 2009 - 09:26 PM

Move the camera out a bit? You could script it for when the screen is directly over Orthanc I think.

#32 Ed Of The 3rd Kind

Ed Of The 3rd Kind

    Edward Fitzgerald

  • Hosted
  • 945 posts
  • Location:Cork, Ireland
  • Projects:Star Wars: TOTR/RJ-ROTWK/S.E.E.
  •  Modeller. Animator. Light Coding/Skinning

Posted 04 January 2009 - 09:27 PM

Great plan! Sounds perfect! ;)
The two versions could come in handy for the campaign!

For the Saruman on top thing, I think we can do it, if the tower would have a passenger bone on top... Maybe Ed or someone could "model" it in there? =)



can be done no problem.

for the camera thing all you have to do is create a trigger area and set up a new camera view, then when the script is active the camera will go into the new camera settings when you scroll over that area, I did it before but for the life of me I can't remember

Edited by Ed Of The 3rd Kind, 04 January 2009 - 09:28 PM.

Posted Image


#33 Sûlherokhh

Sûlherokhh

    Sagacious Engineer

  • Project Team
  • 3,754 posts
  • Location:Central Germany
  • Projects:S.E.E., Sage A.I., Code Advisor
  •  'Axe'er of the Gordic Knot

Posted 04 January 2009 - 11:46 PM

There are enough examples to look at among the BfMe1-Campaign-Map scripts, i guess. :p
Moria and Amon Hen come to mind...

bannerreal01mittelit3.jpg
Axed Head and A.I. Coder for S.E.E. and ... stuff

".. coding is basically boring. What's fun is finding out how things work, take them apart and then put them together in ways that were not intended nor even conceived."


#34 njm1983

njm1983

    title available

  • Project Team
  • 2,867 posts
  • Location:Orangevale, California USA

Posted 05 January 2009 - 03:42 PM

I think Ill just ask a veteran scripter to whip me up the script, cause I just dont know how and Im not interested in learning.

Update:
Posted Image

#35 Floris

Floris

    title available

  • Members
  • 318 posts
  • Location:Netherlands
  • Projects:My first map: Esteldin, hideout of the Dunedain Rangers.

Posted 05 January 2009 - 03:56 PM

Great plan! Sounds perfect! :p
The two versions could come in handy for the campaign!

For the Saruman on top thing, I think we can do it, if the tower would have a passenger bone on top... Maybe Ed or someone could "model" it in there? =)



can be done no problem.

for the camera thing all you have to do is create a trigger area and set up a new camera view, then when the script is active the camera will go into the new camera settings when you scroll over that area, I did it before but for the life of me I can't remember


That would be so cool Ed, well the entire map will be so cool! :p
The race of Men is failing, the blood of Númenor is all but spent – its pride and dignity forgotten… It is because of Men the Ring survives.

#36 njm1983

njm1983

    title available

  • Project Team
  • 2,867 posts
  • Location:Orangevale, California USA

Posted 08 January 2009 - 01:29 AM

Finally finished the mountain. the 2 paths lead to signal fires on either side. The paths dont connect. So the map has now been saved twice so i can build 2 versions from this point on.

Posted Image

#37 mike_

mike_

    Student of Homer.

  • Global Moderators
  • 4,323 posts
  • Location:Gulfport, MS
  • Projects:The Peloponnesian Wars Mod.
  •  There are no heroes, no villains - only decisions.
  • Division:Community
  • Job:Global Moderator

Posted 08 January 2009 - 01:53 AM

woot.

#38 Ed Of The 3rd Kind

Ed Of The 3rd Kind

    Edward Fitzgerald

  • Hosted
  • 945 posts
  • Location:Cork, Ireland
  • Projects:Star Wars: TOTR/RJ-ROTWK/S.E.E.
  •  Modeller. Animator. Light Coding/Skinning

Posted 08 January 2009 - 02:49 AM

beginning to shape up nicely, good stuff NJM

Posted Image


#39 {IRS}Athos

{IRS}Athos

    Non Sequitur

  • Members
  • 4,008 posts
  • Location:Classified.
  • Projects:Ex-Advisor
  •  Resident Shakespearean.

Posted 08 January 2009 - 03:30 AM

Quick question: What's up with the Gondor Castle overlays in the corners? :p
BulletsfromaGunbanner_zps974f3ea8.png

Careful. This link is DANGEROUS. Do NOT click it. This one, however, is fine.

I had the meaning of life in my signature, but it exceeded the character limit.

#40 njm1983

njm1983

    title available

  • Project Team
  • 2,867 posts
  • Location:Orangevale, California USA

Posted 08 January 2009 - 03:58 AM

I use them for spacing and reference, this way the players bases outside don't have terrain Interrerring with base layouts. They will be removed at a later point.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users