Jump to content


Photo

Psychocalypse (In development)


  • Please log in to reply
75 replies to this topic

#21 SMxReaver

SMxReaver

    Pro Gamer in Training

  • C&C Guild Staff
  • 399 posts
  • Location:United States, South Carolina
  • Projects:None ATM
  •  StarCraft 2
  • Division:C&C Guild
  • Job:Division Staff

Posted 30 September 2010 - 12:56 AM

Placeholders, good sir. Both Star Strike (the Invaders do NOT use F22 Raptors, and the mod creator has quite improved the mod since the introduction of Ares) and Doom Desire use placeholder structures as they do not want to use public graphics. EVA-251 has always intended to develop the Invader structures himself, and the current Doom Desire released beta was considered "as-is" and not really worked on much.

And, Future Crisis was canceled when Gamemate left the community a few years back. His mod, as well as a few other people depending on his graphical skill, were either canceled or put in development hell.

And don't rush to make it public. Spend time refining everything, make it worth playing when it is released. I've been working on my mod for the last three years, and after four redesigns, multiple loss of interest / re-inspirations, and two mod data losses, I'm finally close to having the Allies finished as I want them.

#22 Allied General

Allied General

    C&C Guild

  • Hosted
  • 6,918 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Projects:AGSA
  •  Modder

Posted 30 September 2010 - 01:33 PM

If more people knew/had time to learn 3DSMax in RA2 community you wouldn't see so many placeholder structures.

http://www.moddb.com/mods/agsa - Shattered Alliance

http://www.ppmsite.c...index.php?f=245 - Star Strike
Posted Image

#23 Beowulf

Beowulf

    Unknown Superstar

  • Advisors
  • 7,216 posts
  • Projects:Red Alert X, YR: TG Redux, AR

Posted 30 September 2010 - 09:22 PM

If more people knew/had time to learn 3DSMax in RA2 community you wouldn't see so many placeholder structures.

You make it sound like it's easy.

NZ.org | BBPCG
Discord: The Astronomer#1314
Steam


#24 OmegaBolt

OmegaBolt

    Lost In The New Real

  • Hosted
  • 6,272 posts
  • Location:London, England
  • Projects:Red-Resurrection
  •  O'Bolt

Posted 01 October 2010 - 10:17 AM

AG, as a long time modder you've had plenty of time yourself to develop graphical skills to use ingame.

People just have to work with what they've got if they're not prepared/able to put the time in themselves instead of relying on the community to help out. Having said that, with a bit of initiative community graphics can be put to great use for even TCs, such as Robot Storm (1.99 and 2.0 with voxels edits and the like).

Just do the best you can with what you've got is the moral of the story and a good one for new modders/community members.

Posted Image

Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image


#25 Allied General

Allied General

    C&C Guild

  • Hosted
  • 6,918 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Projects:AGSA
  •  Modder

Posted 01 October 2010 - 12:18 PM

AG, as a long time modder you've had plenty of time yourself to develop graphical skills to use ingame.


Same to you Omegabolt.

Some people just have talent in certain areas. My PC can't even handle basic 3D games and that side of my hobby doesn't interest me.

Its also quite a complex programme to learn hence my generalisation on the lack of people who know it.

Edited by Allied General, 01 October 2010 - 12:27 PM.

Posted Image

#26 OmegaBolt

OmegaBolt

    Lost In The New Real

  • Hosted
  • 6,272 posts
  • Location:London, England
  • Projects:Red-Resurrection
  •  O'Bolt

Posted 01 October 2010 - 02:13 PM

Well I haven't wanted/tried to get extra graphics that I know I can't get. I do the UI end and simple 2d stuff where needed but otherwise just use what there is to hand. Since this is a hobby we can't rely on other people much.

Posted Image

Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image


#27 MasterHaosis

MasterHaosis
  • Members
  • 48 posts
  • Location:Niš, Serbia
  • Projects:Working on YR Mod

Posted 02 October 2010 - 02:21 PM

hahahaha people nice to see that you have conversation in my thread not matter if it is related to my mod or not. At least thread is alive :p
BEOWULF!!!!! Hoe is Beowulf' rules going, or Red Alert X project?
I miss Speeder here only, rest of people are here Alied General, OmegaBolt, m666,sansko...
Also I miss Nighthawk.
Anyway, until you are talking, I was working.
Here are screenshots for your pleasaure.
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Here is Air Tower on last screenshot. Storm Rider can be build from it, and it never needs to reload. It fires until it destroys target, or until you command it otherwice or until it got destroyed.
Also, I changed Command center as you can see to be more alien style.

#28 Romanul

Romanul

    title available

  • Hosted
  • 2,461 posts
  • Location:Romania,Bucharest

Posted 02 October 2010 - 05:43 PM

My eyes are dieing. Seriously. Grab a Blender, a 3D Studio Max, darn it, go and beg Miggie for how-to-do-SHPs-with-Photoshop, go and check PPM, but what you're doing there sir is just horrid.

Also, that building is done by pd?...Do you have authorization?

#29 OmegaBolt

OmegaBolt

    Lost In The New Real

  • Hosted
  • 6,272 posts
  • Location:London, England
  • Projects:Red-Resurrection
  •  O'Bolt

Posted 02 October 2010 - 07:42 PM

Well definately manually recolour any buildings in Photoshop or similar, please. It will give infinitely better results, even if it takes more work.

Also make sure there are no pink dots on your voxel edits. Pink dots mean you're using colours outside of the RA2 palette range (well, unused colours which are pink in RA2 but various browns in TS).

Posted Image

Posted ImagePosted ImagePosted ImagePosted Image


#30 MasterHaosis

MasterHaosis
  • Members
  • 48 posts
  • Location:Niš, Serbia
  • Projects:Working on YR Mod

Posted 03 October 2010 - 12:10 AM

My eyes are dieing. Seriously. Grab a Blender, a 3D Studio Max, darn it, go and beg Miggie for how-to-do-SHPs-with-Photoshop, go and check PPM, but what you're doing there sir is just horrid.

Also, that building is done by pd?...Do you have authorization?


1. he retired, I do not know if I can find him.
2. ,,Posted: Fri Jul 01, 2005 7:07 pm" Hahahahaha its about five years from now, I doubt that he even remembers that thing, do not talk about using it as personnel shp.
3. Do not think that I forgot about credits. This is only preliminary screenshots, no point of crediting people on each screenshot when I am going to change my factions and usnits all time until I finally made mod and release it to public. Then credits goes to authors for their works.
I am going to give thank to all you who was posting here. Your suggestions are helpful, I am not going to forget OmegaBolt, m666, sansko, Allied General, Nighthawk, Speeder and even you. And more people who come to give me suggestions and ideas and pointing me where I am wrong or good.
But asking for some authorizations guys who posted stuff five years ago, and are retired and do not care about it anymore in case that they still remember it, is just wasting time, mine and theirs if I can get them.
4. Only if he comes and say ,,OMG using my resource! Go make your own!" of similiar, then I will not use.
5. This is just screenshot, like I say preliminary, which doesnot mean that it is final and it will be in game.
Probably I will not use this for another reason.
If I want to use something from you, then I will ask. For example, I am using OmegaBolt's Chrono Eruptor cameo as my Allied Mortar Trooper privately, then I am going to ask him if he allows it me to use, if not, not big deal, I will create my own. OmegaBolt already has helped me with his suggestions lot in PMs and here.

Well definately manually recolour any buildings in Photoshop or similar, please. It will give infinitely better results, even if it takes more work.

Thanks man, but cause its bad idea for you modders (for my freinds not), I have no time to make separated shps by frames or such, there is lot of buildings already. So I decided to merge Aliens and Yuri. Yuri with Alien technology. (until I found all necessery buildings for Aliens)
I just have doubt if it is better to leave black style for their units, or to change scheme into Yuri's.
I would left them because Alien vehicles especially tripod, hexapod, Mothership and such do not have metal which can be easily recolored, its special armor not know if it is organic or mechanical, most likely hybrid, therefore it needs to be black.
Or even I can leave all Yuri's vehicles into black, to have new scheme for vehicles. I will see.

Also make sure there are no pink dots on your voxel edits. Pink dots mean you're using colours outside of the RA2 palette range (well, unused colours which are pink in RA2 but various browns in TS).

Oh yeah, it can be seen on Pd's building, and in Magnetic Disc. But I did not use colors outside of Ra2 pallet, that disc I recolored as any voxel, its weird... Okay I will fix it if I am going to leave black scheme.

#31 Apollo

Apollo

    The bringer of doom

  • Hosted
  • 3,467 posts
  • Location:Core of Nexus
  • Projects:Robot Storm, Project Phantom
  •  1337 Modder

Posted 03 October 2010 - 04:30 AM

Yeah, the direct to greyscale color switcher in shp builder doesn't do proper color conversion to keep saturation equalish so end result from other colors is often dotty bright. Ways to redo better are make own cscheme file or do it manually using color replacer tool shade at a time.

Tried my hand making yuri conyard example...not 100% perfect but quite decent.

Attached Thumbnails

  • yuritogrey.png

Edited by Apollo, 03 October 2010 - 05:42 AM.

Posted Image

EAApoc wrote:
The only written law in a C&C game I ever saw is please Mr.Developer make it fun and give me a lot of **** to explode, o and don't you ever get another soul to play Kane but Joe Kucan. Aside from those two rules, all bets are off =) hehe
-APOC

#32 sansko

sansko
  • Members
  • 10 posts
  • Location:Almere
  • Projects:MO dutch translation

Posted 03 October 2010 - 08:05 AM

meaby u can give the aliens some completeley new buildings instead of yuri's style in a mettal form
that can make the side a little bit more unice
If you don't know what to do, then think about something to do.

#33 MasterHaosis

MasterHaosis
  • Members
  • 48 posts
  • Location:Niš, Serbia
  • Projects:Working on YR Mod

Posted 03 October 2010 - 02:11 PM

Yeah, the direct to greyscale color switcher in shp builder doesn't do proper color conversion to keep saturation equalish so end result from other colors is often dotty bright.


Exactly! I was doing for example: Open shp, Allied Schemize, Allied ---> Grayscale, Yellow---->Grayscale and that was it. Okay fixed additionally something with color replacement if need.

Ways to redo better are make own cscheme file or do it manually using color replacer tool shade at a time.


How can I create my own scheme? I never do that before.

Tried my hand making yuri conyard example...not 100% perfect but quite decent.

And that was amazing job man! You have a talent. As you can see I have basic knowledge about shps, enough for my needs, but not enough for more decant works.

meaby u can give the aliens some completeley new buildings instead of yuri's style in a mettal form
that can make the side a little bit more unice

Well man that is hard caus here is not alien buildings around. Thats why I am forced to switch them back to Yuri, actually to merge them with Yuri. Yuri with Alien units mostly.Until I found what I need to whole new race.

#34 Apollo

Apollo

    The bringer of doom

  • Hosted
  • 3,467 posts
  • Location:Core of Nexus
  • Projects:Robot Storm, Project Phantom
  •  1337 Modder

Posted 03 October 2010 - 02:33 PM

http://www.ppmsite.c...opic.php?t=4414

for how to do cscheme of your own.
Posted Image

EAApoc wrote:
The only written law in a C&C game I ever saw is please Mr.Developer make it fun and give me a lot of **** to explode, o and don't you ever get another soul to play Kane but Joe Kucan. Aside from those two rules, all bets are off =) hehe
-APOC

#35 MasterHaosis

MasterHaosis
  • Members
  • 48 posts
  • Location:Niš, Serbia
  • Projects:Working on YR Mod

Posted 03 October 2010 - 05:14 PM

PEOPLE THAT GUY ROCKS! HE IS EXTRA AWESOME!
he just helped me lot. Thing what he send me will probably save my hours and hours on good damned buildings.


Well, this work what you can see I did myself, never asked anyone for help. But I figured that I cannot do everything myself, I will probably need small helps from others at some points, like in this case.
Well until now, I am stuck at three things, I did them but not as they are supposed to work. So I have three questions for now where I am stuck.
1. About good damned colors. I know it is hardcoded and cannot be done even in Ares, but how can I change current menu color? I know how to edit those 8, but when I edit color it will be only edited in game, but on selection list it is always pink for example. I changed pink into some purple, but on list its still pink, on game it is purple as I made it.

2. Good damned Mothership. I did trick to it. Because it is huge it cannot be build from War Factory (it can but I wont that), therefore I made it to be constructed from Armory tab. I made dummy building which lasts one frame, and gives free unit, that mothership. And it works very well, you only construct mothership. However, it has one lag. Mothership is in ground, darker colored. I need to select it and move and it will be forever in air as it is supposed, but after constructing it is in gorund, and darker. So how can I fix it, but more important, how can I make it to be buildable only one? Because that is problem, if I make BuildLimit=1 it wont work cause dummy building will auto destruct after constructed, so you can again build one. Is they any way to restrict it?
I tried another trick for it, I made building to stay invisible in game, I gave to it extra armor which can be destroyed only by Mothership's death weapon. SO when you destroy Mothership, it will fall to the ground and do death damage only to that dummy building, so you will be able again to create one mothership. And it worked until 10 cell spreads. Cannot work over whole map. I tried airbursts, I tried many things, not working.

3. How can I control delayed weapon without animations? I know there is way to control but with animation, like Tesla or Prism, but I need to make delayed weapon for that Scorpion on screenshot, because of its scorpion's tail. It'sanimation doesnot match to weapon, it is much slower than weapon, so actually it fires laser first, then charges it.

#36 SMxReaver

SMxReaver

    Pro Gamer in Training

  • C&C Guild Staff
  • 399 posts
  • Location:United States, South Carolina
  • Projects:None ATM
  •  StarCraft 2
  • Division:C&C Guild
  • Job:Division Staff

Posted 03 October 2010 - 09:14 PM

1.) Only in NPatch can those actual colors be edited.
2.) BuildLimit=-1 will stop the dummy building from ever appearing again, as it will only allow 1 to be built period.
3.) This would be something you could use turretcharger logic for. Just keep tinkering, as it's dependent on which turret fires the weapon.

#37 MasterHaosis

MasterHaosis
  • Members
  • 48 posts
  • Location:Niš, Serbia
  • Projects:Working on YR Mod

Posted 03 October 2010 - 11:46 PM

Hello m666 nice to see you!

1.) Only in NPatch can those actual colors be edited.

I am 100% sure that it can be done in RockPatch too because I never used Npatch and I edited menu colors and added new ones. We only had to add [MenuColors] section manually then we had to insert eught current colors and their rgb values (what will appear on menu screen) then go to add new colors, I think 16 can be added max. Enough man.
I do not know why they did not put that option in Ares when it is based on Rockpatch.
Anyway I have to change colors because I am enough of those eight.
in TibSun, Firestorm those colors, in RA2 those eight too, in YR those eight too, in Generals those eight too, in Zero Hour those eight too, in C&C3 eight too, in Kane's Wrath too, in RA3 and uprising probably too (I did not play them) and I am enough of same colors over and over again.
I do not understand what costs them to put 15 colors in game, so people can chose which ones they want. FOr exmaple 6 players chose their colors and 7. one is forced to have color which is left, pink usually.
in Generals at least you can easily add them.
Here in my mod i changed pink for another purple. I will replace green for turquoise probably, and cyan for original blue 0,0,255, orange will become red orange probably. Its because i want three sides x 2 colors, reds for Soviets, blues for Allies, and purples for Aliens. Plus two as neutrals as white, grey or black, but black is dead color, it wont work, because you cannot see selected text and your buildings in radar.

2.) BuildLimit=-1 will stop the dummy building from ever appearing again, as it will only allow 1 to be built period.

But if I set -1 then it will be available only one in whole game right?
I want only one per existence, like Hero. But seems impossible.

3.) This would be something you could use turretcharger logic for. Just keep tinkering, as it's dependent on which turret fires the weapon.

But does charge logic works in red alert2/YR? As I know if it disabled from TibSun, it is replaced with deplay logic

,,Charges Can be set to 'yes' or 'no' and specifies whether or not the weapon has 'charge before firing' logic which also instantiated the ability for the weapon to use the IsBigLaser= tag. This is residual from Tiberian Sun and has been replaced by the 'delayed fire' logic in Red Alert 2."

I need for that unit, NOD Scorpion from LKO, as you can see, its firing animation is delayed, so I need to make weapon delayed too.

Attached Files



#38 SMxReaver

SMxReaver

    Pro Gamer in Training

  • C&C Guild Staff
  • 399 posts
  • Location:United States, South Carolina
  • Projects:None ATM
  •  StarCraft 2
  • Division:C&C Guild
  • Job:Division Staff

Posted 04 October 2010 - 02:01 AM

1.) Not every feature from Rock Patch and NPatch is in Ares. A few are planned in for the next version, and some may never come out of lack of interest. Unless you are going to help the Ares development team write C++ code and contribute, then don't make such comments as the first one. It displays you to be quite disrespectful and greedy/unappreciative.

2.) What you want is impossible if you're going to use dummy buildings to summon it.

3.) TurretCharger logic is what the Prism Tank uses, but I had forgotten that the scorpion was a SHP file. You should just use the current RA2 logic then, since they developed an alternative for Charges=.

#39 mevitar

mevitar

    (◉ _ ◉)

  • Hosted
  • 1,964 posts
  • Location:your imagination
  • Projects:Doom Desire
  •  :3

Posted 04 October 2010 - 10:35 AM

Mothership is in ground, darker colored. I need to select it and move and it will be forever in air as it is supposed, but after constructing it is in gorund, and darker.

The mothership is either missing its shadow frames, or it is duplicated on them. Either way, simply add a number of empty frames after the ones with the mothership (for example, if the mothership's shp has 3 frames total, add 3 empty frames on the end), or, if the mothership has 2 frames and both are the same, simply clear the 2nd one.
ded signature

(◉ ᗝ ◉)

#40 MasterHaosis

MasterHaosis
  • Members
  • 48 posts
  • Location:Niš, Serbia
  • Projects:Working on YR Mod

Posted 04 October 2010 - 11:14 AM

1.) Not every feature from Rock Patch and NPatch is in Ares. A few are planned in for the next version, and some may never come out of lack of interest. Unless you are going to help the Ares development team write C++ code and contribute, then don't make such comments as the first one. It displays you to be quite disrespectful and greedy/unappreciative.


Hey hey hey, why disrespectful, I did not mean about Ares developments when I said that I was enough of colors, those 90% of text was meant to EA, like i said all of games who are using same colors.

,,I do not know why they did not put that option in Ares when it is based on Rockpatch."
This is what I meant for Ares developments only. I do not found this as disrespectful.
That whole comment was meant on EA games man, not Ares, read carefully it.
,,I do not understand what costs them to put 15 colors in game, so people can chose which ones they want." this goes to EA not to Ares development, therefore i do not know why it is disrespectful to them.
Like I said what cost them to add more, in Generals for example you can add any color you wish in less than half minute, not a big deal.in C&C3 I do not know but since they created whole game, they could add also, same for other games.

2.) What you want is impossible if you're going to use dummy buildings to summon it.


Just great... So we can see many motherships then. However each costs 5000$

3.) TurretCharger logic is what the Prism Tank uses, but I had forgotten that the scorpion was a SHP file. You should just use the current RA2 logic then, since they developed an alternative for Charges=.

Its delayed fire which works on animations only as I know, that is problem. Because prism and tesla coils have active animations
IsAnimDelayedFire=yes ; SJM: Firing anim (SpecialAnim) delays firing of weapon
DelayedFireDelay=28 ; SJM: Must match playback of anim, and ideally audio too
But that scorpion is shp itself it doesnot have animation. Actually it is related to firing animation, in RA2 case SpecialAnim

Edited by MasterHaosis, 04 October 2010 - 12:18 PM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users