Jump to content


Photo

MO3.3 SUPPORT // Game or Client Crashes & Launch Issues Megathread


  • Please log in to reply
492 replies to this topic

#1 Speeder

Speeder

    ZAWADIAKA

  • Hosted
  • 8,306 posts
  • Location:Czech
  • Projects:Mental Omega Almost Perfect Yuri's Revenge Version 3.0
  •  Mental Omega Creator

Posted 16 December 2016 - 09:25 PM

All right, 3.3.0 is out. Report all of your issues with launching the game or the client here and we'll see what can be done. Once a solution is found it'll be added to this post.
 
Do not report gameplay bugs and balance issues here.
 
But before you report them, make sure you did everything as http://mentalomega.com/install said.
 
You need these Red Alert 2 Yuri's Revenge 1.001 files to run.
 
- BINKW32.dll
- BLOWFISH.dll
- gamemd.exe (patched to version 1.001, can't have NPatch or Rock Patch, can't be cracked or 1.000)
- ra2.mix
- ra2md.mix
- language.mix
- langmd.mix
 
Multiplayer version from XWIS won't work anymore as its gamemd.exe is incompatible with Ares.
 
Do not put 3.3 files to where 3.0 is if you still have 3.0. I recommend uninstalling 3.0.
 
If you get 'Unable to set video mode' or 'Failed to initialize' errors, set gamemd.exe & Syringe.exe Compatibility Mode to XP SP3.
 
Also set 'Run as Administrator' for gamemd.exe, Syringe.exe & MentalOmegaClient.exe.
 
If it doesn't start matches, try rebooting your PC after setting all of these and see if it helps. If rebooting helped, let us know.
 
If the game does not start anyway, try to launch it, find syringe.log file created in folder with Mental Omega 3.3 and upload it or send to mental.omega.apyr@gmail.com
 

To make custom maps work, add them to /Maps/Custom subfolder and make sure their extension is *.map

 

Crash when starting a multiplayer game
Happens during loading before the game starts. This can indicate that you are using the modified gamemd.exe from MO 3.0. It has an icon that looks flat, with two colors. If that is the case get an unmodified gamemd.exe version 1.001 (CD version, TFD version or UC from origin).

Indicators: IE at 00683BA7, debug.log ends with
----- Starting scnenario: spawnmap.ini -----
Player Count: x
Exception handler fired!
Exception C0000005 at 00683BA7


Crash when starting a singleplayer game
Crash happens only on some PCs on startup. This is most likely because of a strange hacking technique used by Ares. I've already replaced the code with a version that should work. Will be released once it got tested.

Indicators: Syringe.log stack contains 0x0067D1B4 somewhere at the top.


Launcher reappears without ever starting the game
Gamemd.exe most likely has some compatibility settings enabled: Run as administrator, or Windows XP SP3 compat mode. If the game needs to run as admin (when you get a prompt to confirm on startup), Syringe has to be started with admin rights, too. If the client is run with admin rights, then this will happen automatically. Thus, set the same compat settings on the client.

Indicators: Syringe.log reports success, but running time is very short.
[03:17:27] SyringeDebugger::HandleException: Creating code hooks.
[03:17:31] SyringeDebugger::Run: Done.
[03:17:31] WinMain: SyringeDebugger::Run finished.
[03:17:31] WinMain: Exiting on success.


Original game doesn't launch after just being installed
Try to run the game as administrator once. No need to set the compatibility settings, just use the context menu on ra2md.exe.


mainbanner.jpg
bt_left.pngbt_fb.pngbt_yt.pngbt_tw.pngbt_md.pngbt_right.png
115776.png


#2 CONielsen

CONielsen
  • New Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 16 December 2016 - 11:04 PM

The client installs and runs fine, but when I start any match, be it campaign or skirmish, as soon as I hit "Launch/Launch Game", the client pops away for a brief moment before coming back. In skirmish I am shunted back to the skirmish lobby, with the campaign screen I am shunted back to the main menu.

I've installed the game per instruction and all files should be in order. Both gamemd.exe, Syringe.exe & MentalOmegaClient.exe are run as administrator.

 

Please help. This game is awesome and I can't wait to play it! :D

 

RESOLVED: This user had RockPatch/NPatch installed.



#3 aethiraes

aethiraes
  • Members
  • 105 posts

Posted 16 December 2016 - 11:07 PM

I'm here from the other forum, thank you for the help with dealing with Cncnet and launch issues with Mental Omega 3.3.

 

I'm having a blast!



#4 Speeder

Speeder

    ZAWADIAKA

  • Hosted
  • 8,306 posts
  • Location:Czech
  • Projects:Mental Omega Almost Perfect Yuri's Revenge Version 3.0
  •  Mental Omega Creator

Posted 16 December 2016 - 11:09 PM

CONielsen send me a syringe.log file created in game's directory after you try to launch the game.


mainbanner.jpg
bt_left.pngbt_fb.pngbt_yt.pngbt_tw.pngbt_md.pngbt_right.png
115776.png


#5 Justin Ten Eyck

Justin Ten Eyck
  • New Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 17 December 2016 - 02:18 AM

Do you know where I can get a non-cracked version of gamemd.exe?

Because I suspect that I might have a cracked version.



#6 Handepsilon

Handepsilon

    Oil Derrick Addict

  • Members
  • 804 posts
  • Location:Indonesia
  •  Gnome Death Knight, it's both cute and evil

Posted 17 December 2016 - 03:07 AM

I have a clean patched, but make sure you're not infected with exe modift
ying virus such as W32/Sality or Virut. Those two virus will break your Red Alert 2 game due to modified exe file. At the very least you can't patch the game if you have earlier version

I like gnomes


#7 CSAT_Viper_0239

CSAT_Viper_0239
  • New Members
  • 1 posts
  •  Foehn Revolt Commander

Posted 17 December 2016 - 05:33 AM

Fatal Error encountered after attempt of launching a match. Whether it be Campaign/Skirmish/Multiplayer.

 

Deploying Files-Date-12/16/2016

 

: http://www.mediafire...5b3at/debug.log

: http://www.mediafire...ygis/except.txt

: http://www.mediafire...xtcrashdump.dmp


Edited by CSAT_Viper_0239, 17 December 2016 - 05:34 AM.


#8 Norwayball

Norwayball
  • New Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 17 December 2016 - 05:46 AM

When i try to load up skirmish, i get an error message saying Yuri's Revenge has encountered a fatal error. Following that, it says that there is an internal error in the files and the cause is undetermined. What can i do to fix this?

Attached Thumbnails

  • Error.PNG


#9 Eric

Eric

    Mental Strategist

  • Members
  • 168 posts
  • Location:Republika ng Pilipinas, 14.5995° N, 120.9842° E
  • Projects:MO Wiki on Wikia
  •  I can make gaming strategies. Hire me?

Posted 17 December 2016 - 06:13 AM

Hello, my installation of MO3.3 went successful. When I tried to start a game from the client, there was an error, I did everything that the instruction said.

 

Fatal Error:

gamemd.exe not found

 

Please help! That error came from Syringe.



#10 Handepsilon

Handepsilon

    Oil Derrick Addict

  • Members
  • 804 posts
  • Location:Indonesia
  •  Gnome Death Knight, it's both cute and evil

Posted 17 December 2016 - 06:28 AM

did you copy gamemd.exe in the MO installation as well?

I like gnomes


#11 X1Destroy

X1Destroy

    "Warning, nuclear missile launched!"

  • Members
  • 622 posts
  • Location:Holy Terra
  •  Allied Guardian G.I

Posted 17 December 2016 - 07:03 AM

When using client resolution 1024x600 in window mode, the campaign selection screen stop functioning. You can't launch the campaign missions, nor go back to main menu. Click cancel and the client stop running.

Edit: Samething happen with 800x600. Skirmish works, but can't launch the campaign at all. Switched back to 1024x720, and it works.


Edited by X1Destroy, 17 December 2016 - 07:15 AM.

"Protecting the land of the Free."
efXH1rz.png
 


#12 Damfoos

Damfoos

    FUUUUUUUU

  • Members
  • 501 posts
  • Location:Russia
  • Projects:Translation of various cool C&C mods.
  •  The overly curious guy

Posted 17 December 2016 - 07:59 AM

When using client resolution 1024x600 in window mode, the campaign selection screen stop functioning. You can't launch the campaign missions, nor go back to main menu. Click cancel and the client stop running.


You can launch the missions, but you have to move your cursor over the launch button until you find the spot where the cursor turns the button orange. This is at upper right corner of the button, at the border. From my experience with TI and DTA (which use the same client) and from Rampastring's direct answer: the client requires a higher resolution to work properly. Usually the text in the launcher turns blurry because of small resolution, the letters adjust their size and thus are being downscaled. Perhaps something like that is happening with physical borders of the button too. Keep trying, it semi-works.

#13 Jargalhurts

Jargalhurts

    Mental Face

  • Project Team
  • 328 posts
  • Location:Silent Hill
  • Projects:Nothing worth showing off.
  •  Actually Yngwie of House Malmsteen.

Posted 17 December 2016 - 08:11 AM

The game turns into a permanent black screen if you alt-tab out of it and there is no way to get the game going. The issue is fine with the IE-DDRAW renderer but that renderer makes the game lag extremely bad, so it's a lose-lose situation.


Actually Yngwie of Haus Malmsteen, feefty eenches of pure Svwedish beef.


#14 Eric

Eric

    Mental Strategist

  • Members
  • 168 posts
  • Location:Republika ng Pilipinas, 14.5995° N, 120.9842° E
  • Projects:MO Wiki on Wikia
  •  I can make gaming strategies. Hire me?

Posted 17 December 2016 - 08:36 AM

did you copy gamemd.exe in the MO installation as well?

 

You're right! I thou forgot the step 2.



#15 Solais

Solais

    Conspiracy Theorist

  • Members
  • 1,187 posts
  • Projects:Multiple projects at Croteam

Posted 17 December 2016 - 09:36 AM

The game turns into a permanent black screen if you alt-tab out of it and there is no way to get the game going. The issue is fine with the IE-DDRAW renderer but that renderer makes the game lag extremely bad, so it's a lose-lose situation.

 

There's also the occasional bug that if you press the menu in any other renderer, it freezes up the game. IE-DDRAW is the only solution it seems. It doesn't lag the game for me though, might be that I have a strong enough PC for it.



#16 Thesilver

Thesilver
  • Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 17 December 2016 - 10:15 AM

When i try to start a mission or skirmish it said that it could not load gamemd.exe, up above it was said to run this as administrator but where can i find this file? I didnt find it with the 3.3 download and i cant find it under the ra2 or yuri's revenge files either.



#17 Ali Mohsen

Ali Mohsen
  • Members
  • 16 posts
  • Location:Dubai - UAE
  • Projects:No projects

Posted 17 December 2016 - 10:22 AM

 

The client installs and runs fine, but when I start any match, be it campaign or skirmish, as soon as I hit "Launch/Launch Game", the client pops away for a brief moment before coming back. In skirmish I am shunted back to the skirmish lobby, with the campaign screen I am shunted back to the main menu.
I've installed the game per instruction and all files should be in order. Both gamemd.exe, Syringe.exe & MentalOmegaClient.exe are run as administrator.
 
Please help. This game is awesome and I can't wait to play it! :D
 
RESOLVED: This user had RockPatch/NPatch installed.

&

i got the same issue, uninstall 3.0 and yuri and re install them again, did the compatibility thing of xp sp3 and administration. what should i do?

http://www.mediafire...96q/syringe.log

Edited by Ali Mohsen, 17 December 2016 - 10:30 AM.


#18 X1Destroy

X1Destroy

    "Warning, nuclear missile launched!"

  • Members
  • 622 posts
  • Location:Holy Terra
  •  Allied Guardian G.I

Posted 17 December 2016 - 10:28 AM

 

When using client resolution 1024x600 in window mode, the campaign selection screen stop functioning. You can't launch the campaign missions, nor go back to main menu. Click cancel and the client stop running.
 


You can launch the missions, but you have to move your cursor over the launch button until you find the spot where the cursor turns the button orange. This is at upper right corner of the button, at the border. From my experience with TI and DTA (which use the same client) and from Rampastring's direct answer: the client requires a higher resolution to work properly. Usually the text in the launcher turns blurry because of small resolution, the letters adjust their size and thus are being downscaled. Perhaps something like that is happening with physical borders of the button too. Keep trying, it semi-works.

 

Fair enough. I never bothered to switch resolution with TI cause it fit well with my laptop screen by default so I didn't know. I will stick with bigger screen then.


"Protecting the land of the Free."
efXH1rz.png
 


#19 naspara

naspara
  • New Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 17 December 2016 - 11:10 AM

I have an issue with d3d11.dll. It says it couldnt be loaded and something about HRESULT

This is the screenshot. gamemd,syringe and Client is set to run on Administrator

http://imgur.com/MJZibm1


Edited by naspara, 17 December 2016 - 11:12 AM.


#20 Graion Dilach

Graion Dilach

    Supérior Caliburwielder

  • Project Team
  • 2,182 posts
  • Location:Iszkaszentgyorgy, Hungary
  • Projects:Attacque Superior, OpenRA, Nomad Galaxy, Crystallized Doom, random ORA mod support/voicing
  •  Your favourite proud heretic renegade reaper of the stupid people

Posted 17 December 2016 - 11:15 AM

Sometimes the Skirmish setup screen has loading seizure - the GUI restarts drawing after each added object from what I'd guess (the map list turns into a giant green ellipse with an X in it at start). I haven't tested with DTA and/or TI respective versions, but the plain YR client doesn't have this bug. This is on my Win10.
kuuHd4s.png6pDXsCS.png
n0J1wqE.pngIX8pBXZ.png

AS Discord server: https://discord.gg/7aM7Hm2

ComradeCrimson: AS is the product of Hungarian acid
ComradeCrimson: And magical hussars
Dutchygamer: and Weird Al.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users