Jump to content


Photo

New file format for modding cnc3


  • Please log in to reply
84 replies to this topic

#41 Pixel

Pixel

  • Hosted
  • 2,451 posts
  • Location:London, UK

Posted 12 March 2007 - 11:56 AM

Not to sure about the change to xml... As im quite used to the ini files hopefully they havent changed to much.

#42 Lauri

Lauri

    Let us remember foREVer

  • Hosted
  • 10,419 posts
  • Location:Norway
  • Projects:'The 4th Age' and 'Shadow and Flame'
  •  The very worst T3A Team Chamber Member

Posted 09 April 2007 - 09:15 PM

ini...xml.....

nice try Flame :thumbsupsmiley:
says this with a evil laughing voice:
I'll bet their very very alike.... *cough*

Shadow and Flame BETA 0.6 RELEASED - Link


#43 Banshee

Banshee

    One Vision, One Purpose!

  • Network Admins
  • 8,989 posts
  • Location:Rio De Janeiro, RJ, Brazil.
  • Projects:PPM, PPM: Final Dawn, OS SHP Builder, OS Palette Editor, OS W3D Viewer, VXLSE III, etc...
  •  Retired Network Leader
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Maintenance Admin

Posted 09 April 2007 - 09:18 PM

You can see a sample with some uncompressed maps in one of the links below:

http://files.ea.com/...reOrderMaps.exe
http://files.ea.com/...reOrderMaps.exe
Project Perfect Mod

Command & Conquer Mods, Mods Support, Public Researchs, Map Archives, Tutorials, Tools, A Friendly Community and much more. Check it out now!

Posted Image

#44 Phil

Phil

    Force Majeure

  • Network Leaders
  • 7,969 posts
  • Location:Switzerland
  • Projects:Revora, C&C:Online
  •  Thought Police
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Network Leader
  • Donated
  • Association

Posted 09 April 2007 - 09:26 PM

Thanks for the hint, Banshee :thumbsupsmiley:

revorapresident.jpg
My Political Compass

Sieben Elefanten hatte Herr Dschin
Und da war dann noch der achte.
Sieben waren wild und der achte war zahm
Und der achte war's, der sie bewachte.


#45 {IP}Gil-Galad

{IP}Gil-Galad

    ClickerMonkey

  • Hosted
  • 1,122 posts
  • Location:Pennsylvannia, USA
  • Projects:Too many to name.
  •  T3A Team Chamber Member

Posted 11 April 2007 - 12:06 AM

I just can't wait, i love xml files and from a programmers standpoint xml is a god send for parsing and loading into a game. This will make my life hundreds time easier, CANT WAIT!!!!

#46 Phil

Phil

    Force Majeure

  • Network Leaders
  • 7,969 posts
  • Location:Switzerland
  • Projects:Revora, C&C:Online
  •  Thought Police
  • Division:Revora
  • Job:Network Leader
  • Donated
  • Association

Posted 11 April 2007 - 03:13 PM

The master hath returned! You're more than welcome here, Gil.

Great to see some of the veterans of CNC and BFME modding come here to join us :grin:

revorapresident.jpg
My Political Compass

Sieben Elefanten hatte Herr Dschin
Und da war dann noch der achte.
Sieben waren wild und der achte war zahm
Und der achte war's, der sie bewachte.


#47 Master Windu

Master Windu

    The Master.

  • Advisors
  • 2,150 posts
  • Location:Houston, Texas
  • Projects:Galaxy at War, Rhovanion Alliance
  •  T3A Team Chamber Member

Posted 11 April 2007 - 11:29 PM

Now my CNC3 modding will be much easier! Trust me, just your presence helps people fix modding problems...

Great to see some of the veterans of CNC and BFME modding come here to join us :p

QFT
Posted Image
Posted Image

#48 thudo

thudo

    Wacko AI Guy!

  • Division Leaders
  • 11,101 posts
  • Location:Lemonville North, Canada
  • Projects:DoW AI Scripting Project
  • Division:DoW
  • Job:Division Leader

Posted 12 April 2007 - 05:05 AM

Now if only we could access C&C3's AI xml scripts. Totally hidden. Been searching since release. Grrr..
Advanced Skirmish AI Team Lead for the coolest Warhammer40k PC RTS out there:

Dawn of War Advanced AI Headquarters

Latest DoW Advanced AI Download!

#49 Hogo

Hogo

    Pro Mapper XD

  • C&C Guild Staff
  • 1,295 posts
  • Location:England
  • Projects:Enemy Enhanced, Mapping
  •  Friendly face
  • Division:C&C Guild
  • Job:Division Staff

Posted 12 April 2007 - 03:22 PM

Well theres some INI's Called Default

AIData
; set the values in ini/default/aidata.ini for now.
End

This but then it refers you to something else being AIdata.ini Open this and its all weard it doesnt allow me to paste it into this window either

I also checked there is more than 1 Gamedata.ini * Brain Explodes *

Data\ini\default\aidata.ini

data\ini\aidata.ini

data\ini\default\gamedata.ini

data\ini\gamedata.ini

What the hell did they put 2 of nearly or of everything is just leads you to a replica of the file name pritty much that just has some code in it?

Any ideas guys

EDIT: Second thoughts could some files be hidden and not be able to see with out something i dont know another tool?

Attached Thumbnails

  • Weard.JPG

Edited by hogo, 12 April 2007 - 03:26 PM.


#50 thudo

thudo

    Wacko AI Guy!

  • Division Leaders
  • 11,101 posts
  • Location:Lemonville North, Canada
  • Projects:DoW AI Scripting Project
  • Division:DoW
  • Job:Division Leader

Posted 12 April 2007 - 03:28 PM

Hmmm.. all ini and xml files are NOT encrypted. That screencapture doesn't make sense. Aidata.ini is a regular textfile so no clue why its showing as binary code for you?

Other file extensions like .bin or .cda ARE encrypted.
Advanced Skirmish AI Team Lead for the coolest Warhammer40k PC RTS out there:

Dawn of War Advanced AI Headquarters

Latest DoW Advanced AI Download!

#51 Hogo

Hogo

    Pro Mapper XD

  • C&C Guild Staff
  • 1,295 posts
  • Location:England
  • Projects:Enemy Enhanced, Mapping
  •  Friendly face
  • Division:C&C Guild
  • Job:Division Staff

Posted 12 April 2007 - 03:33 PM

So can you see that AIdata in normal text on your PC then and what are you opening them with?

#52 thudo

thudo

    Wacko AI Guy!

  • Division Leaders
  • 11,101 posts
  • Location:Lemonville North, Canada
  • Projects:DoW AI Scripting Project
  • Division:DoW
  • Job:Division Leader

Posted 12 April 2007 - 03:39 PM

I don't open.. I extract. If I wish to view it within a Big extractor I use the latest FinalBig. Works fine and thats the way I dynamically make edits to Misc.big without having to constantly extract/edit/re-intergrate. Get FinalBig..

http://commandandcon...ig_Editor;38034
Advanced Skirmish AI Team Lead for the coolest Warhammer40k PC RTS out there:

Dawn of War Advanced AI Headquarters

Latest DoW Advanced AI Download!

#53 Hogo

Hogo

    Pro Mapper XD

  • C&C Guild Staff
  • 1,295 posts
  • Location:England
  • Projects:Enemy Enhanced, Mapping
  •  Friendly face
  • Division:C&C Guild
  • Job:Division Staff

Posted 12 April 2007 - 03:41 PM

Yeah thats what i have and thats how i do it i extract to see some extra some times but just edit with final big
But even in final big its all in code

#54 Nighthawk

Nighthawk

    Grumble Grumble.

  • Division Leaders
  • 2,942 posts
  • Location:Edinburgh
  • Projects:The Third War, Ares, misc side projects.
  •  Strategist and Modder
  • Division:C&C Guild
  • Job:Division Leader
  • Association

Posted 12 April 2007 - 05:38 PM

As far as I'm aware, all SAGE games have default and not-default versions of each INI, take a look at Generals or BfME's BIG files and you'll see. I think that the default files are what the game reverts to if the others can't be found, though I'm probably wrong on that.
Posted Image
Posted Image
Job Openings with the Guild: Division Staff, News Posters.
Job Openings with Ares: Documentation Maintainer, Active Testers.

PM if interested.

#55 thudo

thudo

    Wacko AI Guy!

  • Division Leaders
  • 11,101 posts
  • Location:Lemonville North, Canada
  • Projects:DoW AI Scripting Project
  • Division:DoW
  • Job:Division Leader

Posted 13 April 2007 - 03:02 AM

Yeah thats what i have and thats how i do it i extract to see some extra some times but just edit with final big
But even in final big its all in code

Thats right: don't let FinalBig or BigEditor auto-view it. Extract it and you'll see its NOT encrypted. Regrettably, raw AI scripts aren't like this and thus nowhere to be found. :p

@Nighthawk - true but what I don't understand why the game won't use a \DATA folder I create which overrides the ones in the big files? In Dawn of War, if I create the same folder structure as in the .sga files then it uses those folders first instead of the ones in the sga archive. Not so in C&C3 at least.

Guess we wait on the official tools..
Advanced Skirmish AI Team Lead for the coolest Warhammer40k PC RTS out there:

Dawn of War Advanced AI Headquarters

Latest DoW Advanced AI Download!

#56 Hogo

Hogo

    Pro Mapper XD

  • C&C Guild Staff
  • 1,295 posts
  • Location:England
  • Projects:Enemy Enhanced, Mapping
  •  Friendly face
  • Division:C&C Guild
  • Job:Division Staff

Posted 13 April 2007 - 09:35 AM

When i extract it stays in that code that Final big shows but it shows more i just can't read it. :p

#57 Nighthawk

Nighthawk

    Grumble Grumble.

  • Division Leaders
  • 2,942 posts
  • Location:Edinburgh
  • Projects:The Third War, Ares, misc side projects.
  •  Strategist and Modder
  • Division:C&C Guild
  • Job:Division Leader
  • Association

Posted 13 April 2007 - 10:24 AM

@Nighthawk - true but what I don't understand why the game won't use a \DATA folder I create which overrides the ones in the big files? In Dawn of War, if I create the same folder structure as in the .sga files then it uses those folders first instead of the ones in the sga archive. Not so in C&C3 at least.

Where are you creating the DATA folder? Maybe it won't work in the root directory of the game, but maybe in one of the directories in the Core folder, or one of the subfolders in the RetailExe directory.
Posted Image
Posted Image
Job Openings with the Guild: Division Staff, News Posters.
Job Openings with Ares: Documentation Maintainer, Active Testers.

PM if interested.

#58 thudo

thudo

    Wacko AI Guy!

  • Division Leaders
  • 11,101 posts
  • Location:Lemonville North, Canada
  • Projects:DoW AI Scripting Project
  • Division:DoW
  • Job:Division Leader

Posted 13 April 2007 - 02:43 PM

@Hogo - Use the latest BigEditor from this site and drag/drop out files from .big files first then use FinalBig to put them back (make backups first). Once you do that, then FinalBig can do direct edits right inside that .big file to the final you inserted back in.

@Nighthawk - I've placed the \DATA folder everywhere around \C&C3 when I got the game. The ONLY place where a \Data folder exists already is under \RetailExe\1.0 and under every new folder when a patch comes out up to the current RetailExe\1.4 but that never worked. :(
Advanced Skirmish AI Team Lead for the coolest Warhammer40k PC RTS out there:

Dawn of War Advanced AI Headquarters

Latest DoW Advanced AI Download!

#59 Hogo

Hogo

    Pro Mapper XD

  • C&C Guild Staff
  • 1,295 posts
  • Location:England
  • Projects:Enemy Enhanced, Mapping
  •  Friendly face
  • Division:C&C Guild
  • Job:Division Staff

Posted 13 April 2007 - 02:45 PM

i see il give it a go thanks :p

#60 Stealthsnake

Stealthsnake

    Battles of Gondor mod leader

  • Hosted
  • 976 posts
  • Location:United Kingdom
  • Projects:Battles of Gondor
  •  coder, skinner, mapper, graphics

Posted 13 April 2007 - 05:45 PM

hey all, yes, stealth has come............*waits for someone to remember him*....

Well ill be looking into modding C&C3 when somone has cracked the code :p.
Posted Image
Posted Image
a mod for rotwk, includes Harad, Rhun, Rohan and Southern Fiefdoms Factions, beta released, site/forums for the mod is here.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users