Jump to content


Photo

Comments & Suggestions for Beta V!


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
451 replies to this topic

#1 Nazgûl

Nazgûl

    S.E.E. Team Leader

  • Hosted
  • 10,554 posts
  • Location:Sweden
  • Projects:BFME2 - Nazgûl's Special Extended Edition
  •  Veteran

Posted 03 November 2007 - 05:51 AM

This is where I'd like all Comments, Ideas and Suggestions for Beta V...

Accepted Suggestions will go into ToDO List! :thumbsupsmiley:

Edited by Nazgûl, 07 November 2007 - 04:43 AM.

// C}{riZpc_punch.gif
"Do not come between the Nazgûl and his mod!"
SEE_Banner_2008.jpg
SEE-Team_Leader.jpg
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> I S.E.E. YOU! <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


#2 Mercyy

Mercyy
  • Members
  • 183 posts
  • Location:Germany
  • Projects:Edain mod campaign and other mapping
  •  Fan of all Mods, with LotR Feeling

Posted 03 November 2007 - 01:03 PM

one question:
what do you think about the two anti rush ideas I had in the last thread naz?
I just don't want them to get lost :thumbsupsmiley:
Posted Image


92% of teens have moved onto rap. If you are part of the 8% that still listen to real music, copy and paste this into your signature

#3 Nazgûl

Nazgûl

    S.E.E. Team Leader

  • Hosted
  • 10,554 posts
  • Location:Sweden
  • Projects:BFME2 - Nazgûl's Special Extended Edition
  •  Veteran

Posted 03 November 2007 - 02:14 PM

Hehe don't worry... I will spend a lot of time sweeping through old threads too, and adding stuff to the ToDo List. I just haven't gotten around to do that yet. But I will =)

// C}{riZpc_punch.gif
"Do not come between the Nazgûl and his mod!"
SEE_Banner_2008.jpg
SEE-Team_Leader.jpg
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> I S.E.E. YOU! <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


#4 Wundai

Wundai
  • Members
  • 155 posts
  • Location:Son (The Netherlands)

Posted 03 November 2007 - 03:19 PM

Just said this in the Beta 4.5 thread sorry about that, so I'll post it here as well.

Do you remember the "Haka" (the battle chant of the Men of Harad) in Return of the King when moving with their Mumaks towards Minas Tirith.

How about adding this with button and sound as an extra morale power for Men of Harad and Easterlings, just like the battle chant for Evil Powers.
Greatest thing of this addition for me would be the sound of the Horn and then the Haka Battle Chant.

If you didn't know what I meant here is a little video:



go to 2:30 minutes in the video, and you'll know again :)
Posted Image
Posted Image

#5 zachdaddy_3000

zachdaddy_3000

    THERE CAN BE ONLY ONE!

  • Project Team
  • 580 posts
  • Location:Middleburg, FL
  • Projects:Nazgul's BFMEII: Special Extended Edition

Posted 03 November 2007 - 06:43 PM

I saw that you want to change the way CP works. (1:1cp for basic units, etc.) If you do that, then are you still going to change the 1000 cp limit for fortresses? Or should we just suggest the 1X CP limit, instead of 2X for 4.5 now?
Do not come between a Zach and his........Zach?

Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

#6 Rhodin

Rhodin
  • Project Team
  • 246 posts
  • Location:Malmo, Sweden
  • Projects:Special Extended Edition, RJ-ROTWK

Posted 03 November 2007 - 11:00 PM

@ Wundai - That "Haka" will be used in beta V (I've already ripped and eq'd it) probably not as a warchant though, mostly because of the sound of it is dominated by roars of the Mumakil. So it will probably be used for some kind of power for Mumakils or something like that!
"Is there any of this rout with authority to treat with me?"

Posted Image

#7 1Master

1Master
  • Members
  • 29 posts
  • Location:The boring side of town.

Posted 04 November 2007 - 05:55 AM

I really liked how I could see how much damage my heroes did in bfme 1.
Mabie you could add that little feature back in.

#8 Sûlherokhh

Sûlherokhh

    Sagacious Engineer

  • Project Team
  • 3,754 posts
  • Location:Central Germany
  • Projects:S.E.E., Sage A.I., Code Advisor
  •  'Axe'er of the Gordic Knot

Posted 04 November 2007 - 06:16 AM

It's just a number and gives no info, because it doesn't show the damage type and it's effectiveness vs specific armor, nor does it show any damage filters. You just don't know what part or multiple of this number is actually going to be subtracted from health. So it really has no comparative value. For all you know, a value of just ONE (1), could reduce health by 500 (as is the case of fire arrows vs. IsengardMines).

bannerreal01mittelit3.jpg
Axed Head and A.I. Coder for S.E.E. and ... stuff

".. coding is basically boring. What's fun is finding out how things work, take them apart and then put them together in ways that were not intended nor even conceived."


#9 Wundai

Wundai
  • Members
  • 155 posts
  • Location:Son (The Netherlands)

Posted 04 November 2007 - 10:40 AM

@ Wundai - That "Haka" will be used in beta V (I've already ripped and eq'd it) probably not as a warchant though, mostly because of the sound of it is dominated by roars of the Mumakil. So it will probably be used for some kind of power for Mumakils or something like that!

Great, Thank you for sharing that Rhodin :p

One more thing, you've renamed the Goblins to Moria, in my opinion this is great, it gives me more of a feeling like I'm fighting a big faction to be reckoned with :D

So why not do this with the Dwarves and Elves as well?

I would suggest Erebor(Dwarves) and Lorien(Elves).
Now I know not all units within those armies come from those places, ( Spears of Mithlond, Archers from mirkwood Etc.) But Men of Harad don't come from Mordor either if ya know what I mean ;)
Posted Image
Posted Image

#10 Sûlherokhh

Sûlherokhh

    Sagacious Engineer

  • Project Team
  • 3,754 posts
  • Location:Central Germany
  • Projects:S.E.E., Sage A.I., Code Advisor
  •  'Axe'er of the Gordic Knot

Posted 04 November 2007 - 10:59 AM

Look no further: Link

bannerreal01mittelit3.jpg
Axed Head and A.I. Coder for S.E.E. and ... stuff

".. coding is basically boring. What's fun is finding out how things work, take them apart and then put them together in ways that were not intended nor even conceived."


#11 Nazgûl

Nazgûl

    S.E.E. Team Leader

  • Hosted
  • 10,554 posts
  • Location:Sweden
  • Projects:BFME2 - Nazgûl's Special Extended Edition
  •  Veteran

Posted 04 November 2007 - 02:34 PM

I saw that you want to change the way CP works. (1:1cp for basic units, etc.) If you do that, then are you still going to change the 1000 cp limit for fortresses? Or should we just suggest the 1X CP limit, instead of 2X for 4.5 now?

The CP cap of x1000 for Fortress Maps SHOULD be gone in Beta 4.5... If it's not, we'll remove it completely for Beta 4.6... :p

// C}{riZpc_punch.gif
"Do not come between the Nazgûl and his mod!"
SEE_Banner_2008.jpg
SEE-Team_Leader.jpg
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> I S.E.E. YOU! <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


#12 Wundai

Wundai
  • Members
  • 155 posts
  • Location:Son (The Netherlands)

Posted 04 November 2007 - 03:25 PM

;) That thread has names that are way above my knowledge, thnx

Btw I just played a fortress map (Dol Guldur) with the dwarves, they had 1000 CP limit, if it helps you :D

Unfortunatly I destroyed all enemy units and structures but it doesn't say "victory" :( I really checked the whole map 4 times for enemy's now. But anyway thats a matter for the bug thread or support ;) gonna try to destroy the "unattackable" wall segments now :p
Posted Image
Posted Image

#13 njm1983

njm1983

    title available

  • Project Team
  • 2,866 posts
  • Location:Orangevale, California USA

Posted 05 November 2007 - 01:32 AM

I dont know if you guys would be interested but I edited the minas tirith map a little bit, and if you want you can have it. Ill list the changes:

1. Removed the ramp to the second lvl on the right side of city
2. Added a gate to the ramp at the left, and it 100% functional (but when map loads up its closed, could be problem for AI) havent tested yet
3. added a ramp on second lvl to the third with 100 functional gate, see notes above though.
4. added trebuchet turrets to the 3rd lvl walls.
5. added wall trebuchets to the turrets on the second and third lvls, like the elven alliance mod has. they can be destroyed but not rebuilt.
6. removed beacon on left of map, lowered terrain to that of second lvl added buildings cobble stone textures and stuff.
7. moved the citadel to the third lvl right side. pathing issues for the third lvl cant get units to go through the mountain opening to the left, so you get half of the third lvl
8. elevated the terrain behind the second lvl ramp and connected it to the third giving access to the beacon at the right, added buildings and such to fill it out.
9. added a gate in the middle of second lvl in the mountain passage. see above notes

it sound as though the map is butchered but I tried really hard not to mess with things that already worked so I didnt get over ambitious, but the changes Ive made really make the map much more interesting and like the movie, I didnt do any scripting of anything AI or otherwise, its just the basic skirmish map. let me know if you at least want to look at it.

#14 Nazgûl

Nazgûl

    S.E.E. Team Leader

  • Hosted
  • 10,554 posts
  • Location:Sweden
  • Projects:BFME2 - Nazgûl's Special Extended Edition
  •  Veteran

Posted 05 November 2007 - 02:02 AM

That sounds very interesting actually... All fortress maps will be editied further for Beta V, and this could be useful indeed. Not sure when I would have time to check it out though (cause of IRL) but you could send it over via PM? You might also come in handy when we start editing those maps... in case you'd like to help out more =)

The guiding star for all things in SEE, as well as maps, is always "As Close to the Movies as Possible", sorta :party:

// C}{riZpc_punch.gif
"Do not come between the Nazgûl and his mod!"
SEE_Banner_2008.jpg
SEE-Team_Leader.jpg
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> I S.E.E. YOU! <<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<<
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


#15 King_of_Blades

King_of_Blades
  • Members
  • 70 posts

Posted 05 November 2007 - 02:28 AM

Similar to njm1983's suggestion, but directed at fortress maps in general; with the fact that Grond and the Mumakil are now "life-size", wouldn't it be sensible to rezise the (fortress) maps?

I know that it's probably beyond any of the team's skills, but it would fit in nicely for Minas Tirith and Grond.

I mean, Grond, compared to Minas Tirith now, is like a Fellbeast coming down on a hobbit (eh, bad analogy); it seems too puny to stand up to anything. Because in RotK, you could see that the gatehouse (or whatever it is that holds the gate in place) is absolutely huge, and gate is about 1/3 of that.

And also, the massive and breathtaking sight of Minas Tirith is lost in the game (all credit to EA), and even without having to look at it from ground level, it looks short and fat, but in the movie, it looks quite tall and, I suppose, "proud", as it makes its first appearance in the movie.

My, my, I certainly have typed a lot. I'm done now. :party:
Posted Image

92% of today's teens have moved onto rap. If you are part of the 8% that still listens to real music, copy and paste this to your signature.

#16 njm1983

njm1983

    title available

  • Project Team
  • 2,866 posts
  • Location:Orangevale, California USA

Posted 05 November 2007 - 02:50 AM

Wow thats cool of you guys, I didnt expect that, Ill keep it in mind if you need any help Ill see what I can do, but mostly I work on existing maps I couldnt remake or build anything from scratch, Ive resolved the door issues Im using the old BFME 1 castle gates now the all work and they are open like the main gate so the ai shouldnt be hindered. Now that ive worked out the kinks Ill be sure to pm the file to you naz.

The minas tirith map is missing one level the only way I can think of getting it all to work would be to build it from the ground up, the first level would be on the ground the second level would be where the mountain comes to the ground the third would have the first mountain tunnel then the fourth would have the impassable second tunnel then the decorative final 3 levels would go on top. but like I said it would require an entire rebuild, but it would make the city much grander. and functional with 3 and a half levels to work with instead of 2 and a half.

Edited by njm1983, 05 November 2007 - 02:55 AM.


#17 dragontamer

dragontamer
  • Members
  • 36 posts

Posted 05 November 2007 - 05:34 AM

With the "Good" ring hero being removed for V, possible alternatives could be:

Defending the fellowship that spawns after capturing the ring as they cross the map to *destroy the ring. Or perhaps escorting Gollum who will carry the ring, as you take him to destroy the ring

The following idea is probably the most viable though:
Capturing the ring makes one of your heroes invisible as if they wore the ring. Like the "ring" power Frodo had in BFME I.

#18 1Master

1Master
  • Members
  • 29 posts
  • Location:The boring side of town.

Posted 05 November 2007 - 06:15 AM

I remember way back there was a patch in bfme 2, (or was it ROTWK? CANT remember that)
That added the haradrim spearmen as mordor's inn unit, which I thought was AWESOME because they are my favotite unit in bfme 1. But the patch didnt last long and they got rid them. But sence they were there that means you can use the models or whatever right, I dont know much about that but it makes sence to me.

Or wait are you going to add them to the evilmen faction already?

I read in that cool adobe reader description you made, and said that the elven units from bfme 1 were taken out, which reminded me of that patch because they were "revived" aswell, as the elves' inn unit.

Edited by 1Master, 05 November 2007 - 06:18 AM.


#19 Wundai

Wundai
  • Members
  • 155 posts
  • Location:Son (The Netherlands)

Posted 05 November 2007 - 01:32 PM

Another Suggestion,

Have you guys considered making more detailed horse models, for either the hero's or/and mounted units. I really see alot of beautyfully textured human models, sitting on just a bit more blurred horses.

And this goes for wargs as well actually, why is there a beauty of a "Warg Alpha" and then the less detailed normal wargs?
Posted Image
Posted Image

#20 Sûlherokhh

Sûlherokhh

    Sagacious Engineer

  • Project Team
  • 3,754 posts
  • Location:Central Germany
  • Projects:S.E.E., Sage A.I., Code Advisor
  •  'Axe'er of the Gordic Knot

Posted 05 November 2007 - 02:33 PM

That could be your grafix settings. There are low res models for most horses, but not necessarily for the new units sitting on them. That is very pronounced with the Noldor. High to low res skins for the warriors, but only high res skin for the banner carrier. When you have low settings, the banner carrier is still high res (default to fall back to if no low res can be found). Same with riders and horses. Try a higher setting. :lol:

bannerreal01mittelit3.jpg
Axed Head and A.I. Coder for S.E.E. and ... stuff

".. coding is basically boring. What's fun is finding out how things work, take them apart and then put them together in ways that were not intended nor even conceived."





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users