Jump to content


Photo

Custom map thread.


  • Please log in to reply
333 replies to this topic

#41 StolenTech

StolenTech
  • Members
  • 141 posts

Posted 27 September 2017 - 09:58 AM

The problem is... i can forget about this (im terms of placement of the structures). :D

there is the "show building outline" option in the options tab in the editor, you can use it to see invisible structures, if that is what you meant. (some measurements on it may be incorrect like making a 3x3 cell building looking like a 1x1 cell building)



#42 UNSC THE CHILL OF WAR

UNSC THE CHILL OF WAR
  • Members
  • 208 posts
  • Location:Installation 04
  • Projects:Mental Omega in sketchup
  •  UNSC!

Posted 27 September 2017 - 10:06 AM

Can the mental omega buildings actually be made visable?
I tried this with the mod c&c reloaded (this was before i got MO) and the buildings are invisible.
large_thumbnail.jpg
 

It's never too late to re-evaluate.


#43 John Carver

John Carver
  • Members
  • 198 posts

Posted 27 September 2017 - 10:13 AM

 

The problem is... i can forget about this (im terms of placement of the structures). :D

there is the "show building outline" option in the options tab in the editor, you can use it to see invisible structures, if that is what you meant. (some measurements on it may be incorrect like making a 3x3 cell building looking like a 1x1 cell building)

 

I meant the places where theese should be. For example, "old factory" and coal plants are essential, and not to forget where the must be, i must place a "placeholder". The problem is... i yet dont know how big theese structures are



#44 StolenTech

StolenTech
  • Members
  • 141 posts

Posted 27 September 2017 - 10:33 AM

Can the mental omega buildings actually be made visable?
I tried this with the mod c&c reloaded (this was before i got MO) and the buildings are invisible.

yes they can, but some will still refuse to be visible like epsilon's radar spire or the tech reinforcement pad (at least in my case)

 

I meant the places where theese should be. For example, "old factory" and coal plants are essential, and not to forget where the must be, i must place a "placeholder". The problem is... i yet dont know how big theese structures are

 

there is the "show building outline" option in the options tab in the editor, you can use it to see invisible structures, if that is what you meant. (some measurements on it may be incorrect like making a 3x3 cell building looking like a 1x1 cell building)

 

it's easy, just know how big they are and place a building of the same size 



#45 John Carver

John Carver
  • Members
  • 198 posts

Posted 27 September 2017 - 02:51 PM

So... i continues the map. But slowely. Heres what player spawm looks like yet, "finished: (with placeholder for the medical structure)
Yep... to messy and nooby, but still something. Should i continue?

(nevermind the file name... placeholder too, as i was making a "wall".)

Attached Thumbnails

  • wall.png

Edited by John Carver, 27 September 2017 - 02:52 PM.


#46 StolenTech

StolenTech
  • Members
  • 141 posts

Posted 27 September 2017 - 04:07 PM

not bad!



#47 John Carver

John Carver
  • Members
  • 198 posts

Posted 27 September 2017 - 04:57 PM

not bad!

Thank you)

Ill continue, maybe that will come handy. But i doubt that ill manage to do the scripts xD
Specially without centurions and such stuff. Also i designated where they will come out. Aaaand... thats seems a little bit easy. Or thats just without units xD
Still, maybe some ideas will help. Exept surprises in bushes for start, of course.


Edited by John Carver, 27 September 2017 - 05:01 PM.


#48 UNSC THE CHILL OF WAR

UNSC THE CHILL OF WAR
  • Members
  • 208 posts
  • Location:Installation 04
  • Projects:Mental Omega in sketchup
  •  UNSC!

Posted 27 September 2017 - 08:01 PM

Pretty good. Kinda looks like theres a zombie outbreak (somebody make that a challenge)
large_thumbnail.jpg
 

It's never too late to re-evaluate.


#49 John Carver

John Carver
  • Members
  • 198 posts

Posted 28 September 2017 - 09:11 AM

Pretty good. Kinda looks like theres a zombie outbreak (somebody make that a challenge)

hmmm... later ill maybe make a map for that after the "machanized" one. The player spawn on this lacks the barricades, essential for every outbreak. And, i know how to build that stuff now. So, wouldnt be a problem.

I even had an idea of making "preqel" to Mechanized, but that isnt going for plot. So... that will be separate and most likely be Yuris stuff. As we saw in "intoxicated" co-op some zombies and mass brute.


Edited by John Carver, 28 September 2017 - 09:11 AM.


#50 John Carver

John Carver
  • Members
  • 198 posts

Posted 28 September 2017 - 09:15 AM

So, here`s another part. One of the production lines. Definetly, ill make more of theese coupled with MO buildings (as coal plants, old factory... etc)
And, i made some placeholders for shaft enterance (wich from centurions will spawn, maybe ill make multiple ones in case of destruction of this one) and vents with place for a factory.

EDIT: Well... this mission definetly have an factory fetish indeed.

Attached Thumbnails

  • wall.png

Edited by John Carver, 28 September 2017 - 09:18 AM.


#51 StolenTech

StolenTech
  • Members
  • 141 posts

Posted 28 September 2017 - 09:56 AM

be careful of how many factories you give AI, sometimes they clone the units they make out of them (as in build at the same time)

and that may cause them over spam you with T3 tanks or even Kirovs, and a slight chance that if the AI is China it will clone centurions.



#52 John Carver

John Carver
  • Members
  • 198 posts

Posted 28 September 2017 - 10:07 AM

be careful of how many factories you give AI, sometimes they clone the units they make out of them (as in build at the same time)

and that may cause them over spam you with T3 tanks or even Kirovs, and a slight chance that if the AI is China it will clone centurions.

Mhm... ill concider that. I througt about that. But i think theese - are two-three major factory lines.
But in the other case, i do not plan kirovs, if this is possible to do. Also, since the challenge based on centurions... well, this part isnt bad.

overall, for now,  theres 18 factofies total. Is this good? Also, many industrial plants. Or its crutial too, because they stack the effects of the price lowering (well... AI have an billion credits, so thats no so critical).

Also that gave me idea for the another challenge... where map doesnt have ore (well, only small glimpses), and to gain money, you must destroy the warehouses around the map, because theres a crates. But i need to think why would any faction concider to make a base at this..."no money" zone. :p


Edited by John Carver, 28 September 2017 - 10:09 AM.


#53 StolenTech

StolenTech
  • Members
  • 141 posts

Posted 28 September 2017 - 10:16 AM

Also that gave me idea for the another challenge... where map doesnt have ore (well, only small glimpses), and to gain money, you must destroy the warehouses around the map, because theres a crates. But i need to think why would any faction concider to make a base at this..."no money" zone. :p

Mooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooon :p



#54 John Carver

John Carver
  • Members
  • 198 posts

Posted 28 September 2017 - 10:23 AM

 

Also that gave me idea for the another challenge... where map doesnt have ore (well, only small glimpses), and to gain money, you must destroy the warehouses around the map, because theres a crates. But i need to think why would any faction concider to make a base at this..."no money" zone. :p

Mooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooon :p

 

Lol, good idea :D

(but i dont understand why warehouses are on the moon...)



#55 GuardianGI

GuardianGI
  • Members
  • 185 posts
  • Location:Singapore
  •  Just a warmongering peacekeeper...

Posted 28 September 2017 - 01:25 PM

It still makes more sense than having *trees* on the moon :p


Edited by GuardianGI, 28 September 2017 - 01:25 PM.

Location: Point Hope, Alaska

Spoiler

#56 John Carver

John Carver
  • Members
  • 198 posts

Posted 28 September 2017 - 06:38 PM

So, map is done... by half. As this definetly lacks the needed "industrial" structures, and Kamaz truck as well. If you want me to show you, well... you need to show how to do it.
In structures: Theres in total 10 oil derrecks (4 at player spawn), 4 tech machine shops, 20 pre built war factories (may be allocated to different teams to avoid overspam, or else.), 18-19 industrial plsnts (for now), 12 tesla reactors and 4 nuclear ones, 2 tech hospitals (one in the player spawn). Maybe factories (and maybe industrial plants) are overkill here, but hey - this is one of the gimmicks. :D
Also i designated AI spawn and made 3 "spawn-lifts" for you know what. Theres yet a lot (without hills) of flat land and gaps, because of said lack of buildings. But still, is completly flat ground (as "urban" area) allowed? Because, by the idea, its an large industrial complex.

But still, my first map practically.

Maybe soon ill be making "Zombie Outbreak" themed map, as someone wanted. For the challenge, of course. And after that - "moon" (no money) challenge


Edited by John Carver, 28 September 2017 - 06:39 PM.


#57 John Carver

John Carver
  • Members
  • 198 posts

Posted 29 September 2017 - 07:29 AM

Also, i wonder... could i include the music in the challenge? I mean, non in mod. Unique to challenge. To the "mechanized", this
will play when centurions spawn first time. :twisted:
If this works like "play track in the game when triggered", well... i doubt that Mentalmeinsters will add this.

P.S - I dont know how to make the link properely.


Edited by John Carver, 29 September 2017 - 07:32 AM.


#58 Handepsilon

Handepsilon

    Mapper and Mix Hacker

  • Members
  • 1,302 posts
  • Location:Indonesia
  •  No, I don't main PsiCorps. I suck at it.

Posted 29 September 2017 - 07:34 AM

Unfortunately RA2 engine does not support importing music in map afaik. You can only use the ones already defined ingame

I like gnomes

 

YunruThinkEmoji.png

(Sorry for any double posts, my mobile browser is messed up atm)


#59 John Carver

John Carver
  • Members
  • 198 posts

Posted 29 September 2017 - 07:35 AM

Unfortunately RA2 engine does not support importing music in map afaik. You can only use the ones already defined ingame

Ow... well, okay. But that would fit the theme of challenge, yep?



#60 Handepsilon

Handepsilon

    Mapper and Mix Hacker

  • Members
  • 1,302 posts
  • Location:Indonesia
  •  No, I don't main PsiCorps. I suck at it.

Posted 29 September 2017 - 08:52 AM

Well, the soundtrack does pack a lot of action

I like gnomes

 

YunruThinkEmoji.png

(Sorry for any double posts, my mobile browser is messed up atm)





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users